We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

YHA Wye Valley

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
YHA Wye Valley
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 48: English reviews
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We stayed there for a night. The road leading to the hotel is bumpy and narrow. We stayed in Maple which was a 8-bed room. It was nice and clean. The pillows and blankets were good too. We had full breakfast in the hostel. We also did a trek to the nearby river. The hostel is in lovely location and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ranjan-MyTravelogue
Stuart C, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this review

Dear Ranjan, Thank you for your review of YHA Wye Valley. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. There is lots to explore around the hostel and in the wider area. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind Regards YHA Wye Valley Team

Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Clean, comfortable and great value. Long bumpy drive down to the hostel, and we were greeted by the cheery reception staff. Large communal areas for groups. Good location for local activities. We had the breakfast at the hotel, which was basic, but again good value. Small plate of cooked breakfast, plus unlimited toast, yogurts, cereals, croissants etc

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luke H
Stuart C, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this review

Hi Luke, Thank you for your review of YHA Wye Valley. We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay. We agree the driveway is a little uneven in places but the views once your here are well worth the trip. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind aregards YHA Wye Valley Team

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Clean and very welcoming. Excellent self catering kitchen facilities which we used for our evening meal and a great YHA breakfast served by a fantastically cheerful and helpful young woman- sorry didn't get her name but she deserves a special mention.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pvgard
Stuart C, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review of YHA Wye Valley. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the facilities. I'll be sure to pass on your thanks to the team. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind Regards YHA Wye Valley Team

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Nice building, lovely setting on the Wye Valley Walk. It was really easy to get nice food and beers at short notice and the member of staff on duty couldn't do enough to help. Good facilities for drying dirty and wet gear.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank henrymclaughlin2000
Stuart C, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this review

Dear Henry, Thank you for your review of YHA Wye Valley. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind Regards YHA Wye Valley Team

Reviewed 26 September 2016

We stayed for 2 nights, after canoeing down the canal. Lovely little hostel, apart from the road leading down to it is tiny and horrible. All the staff were really nice and very happy to help us with anything. Didn't have any food from the hostel so can't comment. Did use the self catering kitchen and (although you had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph O
Stuart C, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this review

Hi Joseph, Thank you for your review of YHA Wye Valley. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, arriving by canoe is a great way to see the scenery and travel to us. I am glad the facilities were to your satisfaction, we've had a lot of work done over the summer to Improve the kitchen, dining room and other...

Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Another great trip to the Wye Valley YHA. The children had a great time with so much to do around the area. Stayed on a B & B basis with a good breakfast setting us all up for the day. The staff were friendly and helpful as always. The accommodation was ideal for our needs and the breakout areas very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
Stuart C, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this review

Hi Philip, Thank you for your review of YHA Wye Valley. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back next year. Kind Regards YHA Wye Valley Team

-
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Nice location in the countryside, but poor room facilities: Broken sink (therefore no water in the room) and a odd smell in the room (not really nice). WIFI access did work but many tries were needed to get it running

 Report
Helpful?
Thank my_name_norbert_k
Stuart C, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this review

Hi Norbert, Thank you for your review of YHA Wye Valley. I apologise again for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay for the broken sink in your room. As we explained at check in it had only just happened over the bank holiday weekend and we were in the process of getting it replaced which we now have....

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Sadly we had a really bad experience here, mainly due to the assistant manager (Suzanne?) being so rude and moody. Also had a lot of issues with bad food provided by the YHA. Day 1, I asked what time the barbecue was being served that night. I was tutted at and shown the sign next to reception, "it says 6.30...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank The_Rand0m_Traveller
Stuart C, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this review

I am dismayed to read your review of your experience at YHA Wye Valley. We Pride ourselves on our excellent customer service but on this occasion we have not lived up to our usual high standards and I will be addressing the points you raise with my team to ensure this is never repeated again. Our usual practice for our...

Reviewed 7 September 2016

We were a group of about 35, mostly campers, staying for the weekend. Camping is basic but acceptable - apart from the overused portaloos - and with access to the kitchen and communal areas in the hostel we were fine. The price was extremely reasonable and since some of our group were students this was important. The location is wonderful;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
Stuart C, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this review

Hi Peter, We are pleased to hear you all enjoyed your stay with us. As well as the porta loos we do also have campers toilets, washrooms and showers available within the hostel to help ease the pressure during busy periods. We hope to be able to welcome you all back in the future. Kind Regards YHA Wye Valley Team

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Really cute and peaceful a really great stop when travelling down the river. We were camping so can't review accommodation, however there is a communal kitchen for cooking dinner/breakfast and good toilet facilities. Staff are friendly and helpful and people of all ages including families, bike groups and other river users all camping/staying in the hostel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin P
Stuart C, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this review

Hi Ben, Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at YHA Wye Valley. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind Regards YHA Wye Valley Team

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ross-on-Wye
7.6 km away
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
540 reviews
6.5 km away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
336 reviews
6.2 km away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#10 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
739 reviews
1.6 km away
The Inn On The Wye
The Inn On The Wye
#21 of 40 in Ross-on-Wye
339 reviews
0.0 km away
YHA Eastbourne
YHA Eastbourne
#4 of 9 in Eastbourne
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about YHA Wye Valley

Address: | Goodrich village, Ross-on-Wye, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: $48 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — YHA Wye Valley 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your YHA Wye Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Wye Valley Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from YHA Wye Valley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Family rooms are cheaper than the others, same room.”
 of 5 bubbles 868josepho, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The bell tents are specious, well furnished and great value”
 of 5 bubbles carah961, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“BYO tent, teepee's on site, There are dorms.”
 of 5 bubbles rickyryan99, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“My room was on ground floor and was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Daphila, 10 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Ground floor of the annexe in the 8-bed was very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles Wyche, 18 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay