We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mermaid Hotel

Hotels.comUSD 65*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Mermaid Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 88: English reviews
Start your review of Mermaid Hotel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The building is a bit old and creaky but the sheets were clean and they brought plenty of fresh clean towels. The room had a good radiater so I was not cold at all. There was a TV and coffee and tea in the room and the shower had good pressure a nice warm water. The hotel is above a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank landrymissrainl
Prescot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is slap in the centre of Yeovil,a great position,a nice historic building in a lovely part of the south west. It really needs some real investment as it's interior is on the shabby side,clean,but shabby.It advertises breakfast,but if you want anything other than cereal there's a £2.50 surcharge.It also advertises parking,but you have to park on the street...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline K
Surrey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Hotel is open to non residents and serves a carvery lunch for £6.95 daily. Plenty of meat and plenty of vegetables, delicious gravy too. Friendly staff. You must try the meal for yourself. Desserts are cheap too £3.50p so wont break the bank!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oldbiddySurrey
Bridgwater, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Old basic rooms, creaky floors, inclusive breakfast (cornflakes, no milk and stale bread), £2.50 extra if you want more and that includes tea or coffee, took us a few minutes to find someone to get breakfast from then got the cook 'What? Breakfast is there (pointing to the cornflakes) cooked costs extra,' the moths in the OJ are free though...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Drew M
ahappychappie, Owner at Mermaid Hotel, responded to this review

This is an absolute load of rubbish. Why do people insist on embellishing a complaint, ok if you find something you don't like then complain about it, there's no need to make up things that are so obviously untrue.

Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2017

The company I work for is on an economy drive, business is not what it was so they are cutting back on hotels..... I think this one was 25 quid for the room and an extra 5 for breakfast. It's above a dump of a pub, I walked in with my bag and the place went silent and everyone stared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LM-sixhundred
ahappychappie, Owner at Mermaid Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, I do recall you where the gentleman who's card declined. Lord or major or something. Maybe everyone looked at you because you are super handsome, or perhaps your paranoid. I can assure you none of our rooms, which are painted in magnolia are dark or damp. I've lived above the so called dump...

Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

Charged double what it should of been ! No appology from the thing in charge ,did refund though . female maybe . Just guessing ! Hairs everywhere in the room counted 46 of them .bed . Sink .bath .behind toilet .hope i dont catch anything . Parking not the best. Otherwise for 35 quid cant complain . Just being honest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Snookydee
ahappychappie, Owner at Mermaid Hotel, responded to this review

I think this is disgraceful, calling a member of staff a THING is appalling sexual discrimination, I have a good mind to report this abuse to the police. The young lady on reception apologised for her error when she accidentally charged twice. The manager also apologised and refunded the money immediately As for hairs everywhere, that is an absolute lie.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2017

this is a great place for a good pint ,the staff are very helpful and friendly the locals are very friendly and the drinks are very reasonable , well worth a visit when in Yeovil, its right on the high street . cheers dave a must in Yeovil

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hodgkins5
dagenham
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Turned up sat evening to be greeted by romany who was effecient helpful and had a fantastic knack of changing a light bulb . Room was very clean and for the price was great value. Went down for a couple of beers and locals were great had a fantastic band on called jimmy and the judges and had a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ipswichDagenham
Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2016

lovely laid back friendly town center pub and a delicious carvery gammon or turkey the day we where there lovely fresh veg selection including leeks in white sauce a bargain you had better be hungry !!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank angelchain
edinburgh
Reviewed 7 September 2016

welcomed by the barman and sorted out check in (after a 450 mile drive) in a few minutes. Room 11 is a twin with a shared bathroom and toilet. Self closer on door was broken ( very important fire precaution). Room was very tired but bed was clean and comfortable . All the staff were pleasant , had a good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alisameday

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
0.2 km away
Globe & Crown
Globe & Crown
#13 of 13 in Yeovil
282 reviews
1.2 km away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#8 of 13 in Yeovil
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
539 reviews
0.6 km away
Terrace Lodge Hotel Yeovil
7.4 km away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of Yeovil offers old world charm combined with every modern facility. Originally a fifteenth century coaching inn, The Mermaid Hotel retains its character, especially in the spacious bars and split level restaurant. 14 comfortable bedrooms all centrally heated, with colour television and refreshment facilities. Our attractive licensed restaurant in Yeovil offers A la carte menus with an excellent selection of hot or cold snacks and meals, readily available in our open plan bar is situated in the heart of Somerset, ideal for holidays in Somerset area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mermaid Hotel

Address: 3 High Street, Yeovil BA20 1RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Price Range: $61 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mermaid Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mermaid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mermaid Hotel Yeovil, Somerset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mermaid Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“you get what you pay for, it's not a fancy hotel but I have to say I slept very well.”
landrymissrainl, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“Get a room near the Fire Escape!”
alisameday, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“pot luck and good luck”
anthonySWales, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“higher floors have less noise”
341glenysr, 10 Dec 2014 | Read review
“If you are there over the weekend you may want to be away from the main bar area and smoking area.”
robj308, 9 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 65* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 65
Orbitz.comUSD 65
TravelocityUSD 65
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates