We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cromwell Lodge

Hotels.comUSD 78*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 78*
USD 78*
USD 78*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Cromwell Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

531 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cromwell Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 528: English reviews
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Have stayed here a couple of times and always good. Lovely hotel in great location. Very nice rooms. Great breakfast and reasonable evening meals in very nice restaurant area leading to nice relaxed bar. Staff friendly. Very close to town with some nice pubs and restaurants nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annette T
Beata S, General Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

What lovely comments, thank you for taking the time to write this. I'm sure we will see you here again soon!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Good location in the middle of Banbury. We stayed in a superior room which was spacious but decor was dowdy and tired. Bathroom was not really up to standard, old. Shower was good though. Was kept awake at night with fans / generator working outside the room (room 3). Room was warm but we couldn't open the window because of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WLT83
Beata S, General Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I apologise that you felt the bathroom was not up to standard, we are currently looking at updating so we will take your comments on board.

Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

Fantastic Sunday lunch had by us both and we were lucky to get a special offer of £5 off each meal! I had a delicious lamb shank and my partner had a duo of meat. Service was fast and friendly! I couldn't resist the banoffee pie for dessert is was the best I've tasted in a long time. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam W
Beata S, General Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback! We do often run good offers on meals, as you said these are always posted on our Facebook. I'm sure we will see you here soon.

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2017

We stayed for a couple of nights on a special deal. As we had had a disappointing stay at another Old English Inn, we decided to upgrade to a superior room prior to arriving. We were pleased we had as our room was characterful and large. The bathroom was huge and despite a few small issues with the room that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JCtimes2
Beata S, General Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

I am glad you had a lovely stay. Thank you for your kind comments. We hope to see you here again soon!

Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2017

We had our wedding at the Cromwell Lodge Hotel and what a wonderful experience it was. The staff are friendly, helpful, very organised and hard working. The manager Biata proved to be exceptionally skilled at planning the event down to the smallest detail and made suggestions and helped us think of things that had not even crossed our minds. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
Beata S, General Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you felt our team was helpful throughout the planning of your wedding. We were happy to be a part of your day & hope to see you here again soon!

Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Very impressed with having my wedding at Cromwell lodge and staying there for two nights. The staff couldn't do anything more to help especially beata and Sam. Very helpful, very pleasant and got really involved with what was asked of them. Super staff and a lovely place. Well done to all the staff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samantha T
Beata S, General Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. The team are glad we made your day run smoothly. We hope to see you again in the future!

derby
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Hotel (pub really) is in a good central location and is on the whole ok.The staff were very friendly and helpful and the bar area nice and cosy. Our bedroom was quite large but tired and had a very smelly bathroom. The breakfast was average.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tyreeh
Beata S, General Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Apologies for the smell in the bathroom, the rooms are thoroughly cleaned every day so i will investigate this. I am glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay.

Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

My family and I stayed here inbetween xmas and new year. The restaurant and bar area is really nice with very attentive, knowledgable and friendly staff handling 10 of us dining effortlessly-food was excellent. The suite rooms are great for families with plenty of room. Great service, excellent staff and child friendly atmosphere. The staff accomodated all our needs perfectly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank becks762
Beata S, General Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, it's good to hear you had such a lovely time. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We booked to stay here with old English inns on a two night new years package with another 3 couples . My partner and I opted to stay an extra night. We ate In the restaurant the first night and the food was beautiful. The staff were very attentive and kept checking everything was ok for us/ offered us drinks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann J
Beata S, General Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. I am glad you had a good stay. Hopefully we will see you here again soon.

Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

We went with some friends a group of 11 of us.The food was good and was reasonable priced but the service was really slow, not just how long it took for the food to come out and to be what was ordered but even the drinks order took long to arrive. Would go back for the food but would go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank malv83
Beata S, General Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Glad you enjoyed your food here, I do apologise for the slow service .. this is not our usual standards. I do hope to see you here again soon.

145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (119)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.1 km away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
0.6 km away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
3.8 km away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
5.4 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
422 reviews
9.0 km away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Cromwell Lodge

Address: 9-11 North Bar Street, Banbury OX16 0TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Price Range: $101 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromwell Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cromwell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Hotel Banbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cromwell Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Marlow, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Cromwell Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Find a different place to stay!”
  • Noisy outside but also inside - creaking floors and banging doors
  • The Great Rift Valley
  • Really shabby everywhere
  • A good indication of the general standards
Hunny_Munster, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“We upgraded to a superior room as it was our anniversary and had room 3, it was very spacious”
558helenb, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“go somewhere else”
margaretandmikes, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Only saw our room!”
del316, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 3 - noise from generators/fans”
WLT83, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 78* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUSD 78
Booking.comUSD 78
Expedia.comUSD 78
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates