We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

828 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 805: English reviews
Oxford
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I was with a family wedding party and stayed one night. The wedding ceremony at the hotel was very good, the welcome and reception were also very good. The staff were polite and helpful. The only disappointment came at the bar at the reception, my sister in law was charged £ 9.50 for two colas, small colas not pints. These...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comments and how much you enjoyed the wedding and how nice the staff were. I note your comments about the bar prices and am sorry for any disappointment. I am not sure which particular wine was ordered but we do have some very nice wines starting at £19.95 abottle as well. Once...

Huddersfield
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Roving Brit
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked a two night stay. The location is excellent. We were very pleased with the breakfasts (the kippers were great!); the dinner menu was slightly limited but everything we tried was really good. We had a minor problem with our room on the first night and were immediately moved to a room in the newer part of the hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bryn_the_Great
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thank you very much for posting your comments and despite some issues with your accommodation I am pleased to read that the staff were able to resolve the situaion for you and organised an upgrade. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our breakfast chef about how much you enjoyed his kippers!! Once again thank...

Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Had the most fantastic room, huge bed, great bathroom. even had a separate sitting room! Restaurant and bar were a bit uninviting, although food choices looked good, so opted to go out to eat at nearby restaurants or bring food back from M&S (hurrah for very central location offering lots of choice). Very happy and planning to stay again on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KFC911
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am really pleased to read your lovely comments regarding your stay with us and how much you liked your accommodation. I am sorry that you were not tempted to eat with us but pleased that our central location ensured you had good meals and I hope that should you stay with us again in the future you...

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We Stayed at Whately hall Hotel recently and found the whole experience really good, from the Very obliging staff who helped us with a suitable room for a elderly relative to the jolly barman Who was a tonic after a long days driving, we picked the hotel because of the location, right in The middle of everything, the cinema was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevemac134
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you very much for you great review following your stay with us here at Mercure Whately Hall Hotel. I am so happy to read how much you enjoyed all apsects of your stay from the team we have to the accommodation and facilities. I am really pleased that you would choose to stay with us again when...

Erskine, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Glyn M
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We travel to Banbury for the Cropredy Music Festival each year and for the last couple of years have stayed at Wheatley Hall. The staff are very helpful especially Olivia who has given us advice on the rooms and also been on hand during our visit. A very jolly barman in the Horton Bar who offered to bring our food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bev S
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for once again choosing to stay with us. I am very happy to read that the staff were so helpful and especially Olivia and I know who the barman was so I will be certain to pass on your comments to them. Once again many thanks for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming...

Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We have just got back from an overnight stay here. We had a suite (room 52) which has a lot of history attached to it and is allegedly haunted - we had a good night's sleep though. Staff were extremely helpful and gave us a bit of history to the hotel and they even took hubby down to view the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle T
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you ever so much for your really lovely comments following your stay with us here at Mercure Banbury Whatley Hall. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the comforts of your room and in particular very pleased to read how helpful the staff were, its always great to read and I will be sure to pass on...

Liverpool
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We didn't really have a chance to test out the hotel facilities as we had a couple of late nights with early starts but we slept very well! Booked direct with hotel so requested the firm bed we like and were allocated a convenient room with garden view, nice king bed and good plumbing so perfect for our needs. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank optmaxLiverpool
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your kind comments following your stay here with us at Merucre Banbury Whately Hall. I am really pleased to read that you enjoyed you stay with us so much and though it was good value. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future. Kind Regards...

Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at Whately Hall last Saturday night. The building is very attractive - old red brick facade and lovely wood panelling in the reception and lounge areas of the original building. Most of the rooms are in a purpose built block at the rear, and these are comfortable and well equipped. So why three stars - In the early...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LeeStJohn
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review and I my apologies for the poor commuincation from the Reception team regarding the evening meal arrangements. I am pleased to read that your room was comfortable but I echo the apologies of the Reception regarding the hot water, we have investiagted this and it was a supply and demand issue...

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
3.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
2.0 km away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
512 reviews
5.3 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
407 reviews
8.9 km away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
3 star hotel offering 69 ensuite rooms in an idyllic 17th Century setting where Jonathan Swift wrote Gulliver's Travels in 1723. Ideal as a base for exploring the Cotswolds region, Stratford Upon Avon, Oxford, Woodstcock & Warwick. 10 minutes from Banbury railway and coach stations, 30 miles (50 km)from Birmingham Airport and easily accessible via Junction 11 of the M40. Features 7 meeting rooms accommodating up to 120 delegates, Swifts & Berkeley Restaurants and Hornton Bar. 24hrs room service and free car parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Address: Banbury Cross 17-19 Horse Fair, Banbury OX16 0AN, England (Formerly Mercure Whately Hall Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Price Range: $103 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Whately Hall Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you boo a Christmas Party here - check the room layout before you sign up”
 of 5 bubbles franksP2886VG, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If its hot, look for a fan ASAP!”
 of 5 bubbles domenequed, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room overlooking garden”
 of 5 bubbles poppyblue771, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“pay a little more for a suite”
 of 5 bubbles theblueboyy, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't go into what they call the new wing corridors and rooms very cold”
 of 5 bubbles 659MichaelB659, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5