We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Hotels.comUSD 84*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

854 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 831: English reviews
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2015

We stay here regularly when visiting family, we prefer to be in the old world character area of the hotel and have found all bedrooms we've been in of an acceptable standard. If you are even slightly disabled,make sure your only on 1st floor, the twisting stair flight to the upper floor is non-negotiable . Staff are very helpful and...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank husbandandwife44
WhatleyHall, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank your for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay and I highly appreciate your loyalty towards our hotel. I am really happy to read your kind comments about the team I will certainly pass your kind words to them. Once again thank you for your booking and look forward to welcoming you at your...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2015

We had an overnight stay which was very convenient being only 10 mins from the motorway but right in the middle of town. The hotel has lots of historic charm and character which is also reflected in the quirky layout of the establishment. The hotel was very clean and the staff on reception and in the breakfast room were extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ray G
WhatleyHall, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your detailed feedback after your stay at the Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel. I was happy to read your comments about our helpful and welcoming Receptionist and thank you for pointing out our central location and. I am sorry for maintenance problems in your bedroom please rest assured that the necessary actions are already in...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2015

Arrive three hours early, parked the car and told reception we had parked the car. The receptionist offered us a room immediately despite arriving three hours early. The hotel has lots of charm and original features. The room was very nice, clean and pleasantly large. Only issue we had was getting the room warm as there was a draught coming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank butts1201
WhatleyHall, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback following your stay here. I was pleased to read your comments about our helpful and welcoming Receptionist please rest assured that I will pass your comments to the team here. I am really happy that you were satisfied with the bedroom cleanliness and enjoyed the character of our hotel. I...

Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2015 via mobile

A beautiful looking hotel with lovely grounds close to the centre of Banbury. However, being old it's not particularly modern inside and some of the decor is a bit tatty. The room was fine and clean but again not particularly modern. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and the breakfast room was clean and the staff were friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much indded for your review of our hotel. I am very pleased to read your kind words regarding the team here and how much you enjoyed breakfast. I note your comments regarding the decor of the hotel and we have just finished decorating the bedrooms and will be moving though the hotel improving all areas...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2015 via mobile

Inside this historic hotel in the centre of Banbury is a very average hotel. I was pleased with the cleanliness and the decor of the room but the bathroom decor was reminiscent of the 1980s and the corridors even more out dated. Room service had not collected plates etc left outside of rooms and staff were ambivalent. The breakfast at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ClaireBee02
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for posting your comments following your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to read that you were happy with the bedroom decor and cleanliness. We have just finished a decoration programme for all of our bedrooms and will be continuing the work into the coridoors and hopefully the bathrooms. I am so...

Dawlish, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2015

Checked in tonight and found duvet to be stained and dirty. This was visible through the cover and covered a large part of the duvet. Complained and reception came up and took the duvet away to replace, I originally booked an executive room but this was one of the split lounge/bedroom suites overlooking the front of the hotel and therefore...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jan D
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am truly disappointed to read your comments regarding your stay here with us last night. I am sorry you did not like the location and layout of the executive room allocated for you, unfortuantly there were no more executive rooms available after you checked in which is why when you asked to move a classic room was...

London
Reviewed 11 February 2015

Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst visiting family locally. Thought we'd spend a bit extra over the usual Travelodge/Premier Inn offerings for a place with more character. Also paid extra for an 'Executive Room'. Room was... roomy... but otherwise unremarkable. Tired fittings, old fashioned bathroom, TV took ages to switch on and mini bar was an inoperative box....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Teutonic67
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your comments following your stay here this weekend. Naturally I am very sorry to read how disappointed you were with your stay here and I fully understand how frustrating it must have been not to get a good nights sleep. I apologise for my for the fact that the Receptionist failed to rectify...

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2015

hotel is in a great location with regard to Banbury town centre.. parking is easy though if you have a "large" car, the entrance to the car park is going to be a little dicey.. However, plenty of free parking.. staff polite and welcoming...(though bit short staffed in bar, had to wait 10 mins with noone at the bar at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martin B
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for posting your comments follwoing your recent stay here with us. I am very happy to read your kidn words regarding the team we have here, but am very sorry to read about the wait you had at the bar. We do offer bed and breakfast rates which include a discounted price for breakfast...

Reviewed 5 February 2015

Loved this creaking floorboard, old, full of character hotel! In the heart of banbury for site seeing and restaurants. I couldn't get into the purple place and so pleased I couldn't! Ask about the ghost :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank City-girl555
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you ever so much for your 5 out of 5 review follwoing your stay with us. I am so happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and all of the charachter that the hotel has to offer. I do hope that we will have the pleausure of being able to welcome you again...

Warminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2015

The hotel was great and full of old world character. Staff were helpful and friendly, rooms were a good size and well appointed, breakfast was plentiful with "hot" cooked food and the hotel was ideally locaTed for our visit to Banbury. The only downside was that the public areas of the building are looking a little rough round the edges...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grahamandsuef
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your lovely review following your stay here with us. I am especially pleased to read how helpful you found the team here and of course your accommodation and breakfast. I understand your comments about some of the public areas and can assure you that this is being addressed as part of our ongoing...

143 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (117)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
3.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
2.0 km away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
0.1 km away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
8.9 km away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
488 reviews
5.3 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
3 star hotel offering 69 ensuite rooms in an idyllic 17th Century setting where Jonathan Swift wrote Gulliver's Travels in 1723. Ideal as a base for exploring the Cotswolds region, Stratford Upon Avon, Oxford, Woodstcock & Warwick. 10 minutes from Banbury railway and coach stations, 30 miles (50 km)from Birmingham Airport and easily accessible via Junction 11 of the M40. Features 7 meeting rooms accommodating up to 120 delegates, Swifts & Berkeley Restaurants and Hornton Bar. 24hrs room service and free car parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Address: Banbury Cross 17-19 Horse Fair, Banbury OX16 0AN, England (Formerly Mercure Whately Hall Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Price Range: $105 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Whately Hall Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rooms facing the main road - regrettably that means some of these in the hall”
Dwatkinsuk, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for a quieter room at the back overlooking their lovely garden.”
sheppard-andy, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“second Floor New building”
rocketron, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the new block have a lot of corridors and fire doors to be negotiated to get back to the front of the hotel.”
F1072JBdavida, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room was in the newer part of the building and was very quiet”
Shirbaz, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 84* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 84
HotelQuicklyUSD 116
TravelocityUSD 84
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates