We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Hotels.comUSD 84*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 117*
USD 84*
USD 117*
USD 84*
USD 117*
USD 84*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

854 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 831: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2015

Stayed here with my husband as we had a wedding to attend ... Lovely hotel, lovely staff who had a room ready for us early which was very helpful as wedding was at 1pm. I would like to add though, we think our room was haunted. we stayed in the old part which is beautiful but we did struggle to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rebecca G
WhatleyHall, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other TripAdvisor readers. I am very happy to read that you were satisfied with the hotel and I am really pleased to read your kind words about our helpful and friendly staff. Indeed our 17th century main hotel retains many original features with character and history, nevertheless according the...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed here because the hotel looks beautiful from the outside. A cotswold stone historic building in a prominent position in the town centre. Upon entering the reception area is spacious, nicely furnished and decorated and you feel as though you have made a good choice. However, the delusion finishes here! Our room was in the 'new' part of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kgrob
WhatleyHall, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your detailed feedback it was good to read that you have been so much satisfied with the location and the outside of the hotel. With regards the second part of your review, we have to know about our weakness if we have. Please note that we are working on refurbishment plans and I understand your...

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2015

We stay here when visiting family in the area and normally have an executive room in the old part of the hotel ,This time we were offered room 52 the haunted room .Room was large with a seperate area with sofa and tv .And was comfortable as we have come to expect staying here.The only spirits noticed were the ones...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank colin l
WhatleyHall, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you ever so much for your positive feedback. I was really happy to read that you enjoyed the facilities of room 52 and you were satisfied with our friendly team. Indeed this is one of our most popular Executive room even though it is sometimes called haunted. Just to let you know that according the history of...

Barton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2015

We were so looking forward to our first stay at this fine looking hotel. Oh dear what a let down. The good points: Incredible smart polite helpful receptionist. She even carried one of our cases upstairs for us. Other reception staff during our stay were equally helpful and polite. The bad points: The parking was difficult and we had to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Patian2014
WhatleyHall, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Banbury Whately Hall. I was really pleased to read your comments on our helpful Reception staff, I will be certain to pass your kind words to the team. I was very disappointed to read your detailed feedback about our breakfast service and bathroom...

Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2015 via mobile

I went here for my 30th birthday it was a surprise a a good one at that. We had a conference room for the day and was able to make full use of the facilities. The 3 course meal was amazing and very much worth every penny. Great food great service.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Varneyboy85
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you ever so much for your really great review following your birthday celebration here at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall. I am naturally very pleased to read how much you enjoyed the meal and were able to make use of the hotel facilities. Once again thank you very much and I do hope that we will be able...

Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2015

My partner received a £200 gift card for 25 years service in the NHS and chose to use it on 2 nights at this hotel for us to celebrate my 60th birthday. I was delighted when he told me it was a 17th century hotel so little did we realise we'd be staying in a very plain, featureless room in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank valerie s
WhatleyHall, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to...

Reviewed 2 July 2015

One of the attractions of the UK is the exposure to all the history. This hotel has that in spades! Quaint hotel, great staff and breakfast plus they have their ghost! Well located and easy walking distance to the railroad station. For the Harry Potter fans out there, this is a cross between Diagonal Alley and the "typical" English village

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ken h
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much indeed for your 5 out of 5 review following your stay with us. I am so happy to read that you enjoyed the character of our 17th century hotel and am especially pleased to read how great you think our team are, I will be certain to pass on you very kind comments to...

Majano, Italy
Reviewed 2 July 2015 via mobile

I understand the atmosphere is nice but this hotel is very old and very dirty! The fitted carpet is complete full of stains and is very ruined. The room have no air con and in summer is to warm inside, impossible to sleep and the girl at the reception can't open the windows for the safety of the people!!! In...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alessia M
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am so sorry to read how disappointed you were following your stay with us. I will certainly address your comments with our housekeeper regarding stains on the carpet in your room as it is quite a new carpet. I completely understand your comments regarding the heat, as you state we do not have air conditioning and it...

Cerritos, California
Reviewed 1 July 2015

We recently spent a night here. We had arrived earlier in the day at Heathrow and were on our way to the Lake District. The hotel has a great deal of charm - we had actually stayed here with our kids many years ago. The room was quiet and dark - good for sleeping when you are dealing with jet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara F
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Mercure Whately Hall. I am happy to read that you found the room ideal for recovering from your long journey. I am really sorry to read that it appears you were not offered assistance with your luggage. I will certainly address...

Costa Adeje
Reviewed 30 June 2015

We arrived at the hotel and went to the reception,the young lady on reception spoke that quiet that you had a job to hear her we were allocated our room, it was at the front of the hotel, as we went to find the room one of the housekeepers showed us the way and was very helpful, outside our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here with us. I am truly sorry that on this occasion your experience did not match our normal high levels of service. I will certainly address the issues you raise with our Front Office Team and our Food and Beverage Manager regarding the collection of trays this...

143 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (117)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
3.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
2.0 km away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
0.1 km away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
8.9 km away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
488 reviews
5.3 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
3 star hotel offering 69 ensuite rooms in an idyllic 17th Century setting where Jonathan Swift wrote Gulliver's Travels in 1723. Ideal as a base for exploring the Cotswolds region, Stratford Upon Avon, Oxford, Woodstcock & Warwick. 10 minutes from Banbury railway and coach stations, 30 miles (50 km)from Birmingham Airport and easily accessible via Junction 11 of the M40. Features 7 meeting rooms accommodating up to 120 delegates, Swifts & Berkeley Restaurants and Hornton Bar. 24hrs room service and free car parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Address: Banbury Cross 17-19 Horse Fair, Banbury OX16 0AN, England (Formerly Mercure Whately Hall Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Price Range: $106 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Whately Hall Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rooms facing the main road - regrettably that means some of these in the hall”
Dwatkinsuk, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for a quieter room at the back overlooking their lovely garden.”
sheppard-andy, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“second Floor New building”
rocketron, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the new block have a lot of corridors and fire doors to be negotiated to get back to the front of the hotel.”
F1072JBdavida, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room was in the newer part of the building and was very quiet”
Shirbaz, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 84* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUSD 84
Hotwire.comUSD 84
HotelQuicklyUSD 117
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates