We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Jug and Glass Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Jug and Glass Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Jug and Glass Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 174: English reviews
wigan
Reviewed 7 July 2015

Just had a great weekend here. Small, cosy and relaxing. Great food and comfortable rooms. Very friendly staff who make you very welcome. If you just want to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and a relaxing break, then this is the place for you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank constantworrier
Reviewed 25 May 2015 via mobile

Ordered coke and diet coke, these weren't Pepsi cola or coke a cola, just a cheap brand, not very nice. Anyway ordered food I ordered tuna melt and my husband ordered steak and Stilton pie. Husband enjoyed his food and it looked nicely presented. Mine on the other hand was disgusting! The side salad was ok but the actual tuna...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Vikki J
Janette F, Owner at The Jug and Glass Inn, responded to this review

I sincerely apologise that you were not happy with your meal and that you felt the service offered by my staff was not of the standard that I expect from them. I will be looking into this matter as I do not allow sub-standard food to be prepared in my kitchen and certainly not then being served to my customers....

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2015

Called after a long walk, fairly typical pub menu but the quality was excellent and not bad value . Food matters most when you're hungry but there would be scope to smarten up both outside and inside. The layout is a bit awkward, not much passing room between tables. Would recommend anyway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mick T
Janette F, Owner at The Jug and Glass Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for stopping here and leaving such a positive review. With regards to the exterior of the building, which I agree, is in need of smartening up, this is scheduled to be carried out next month as, hopefully, the weather will be better for external painting. Inside, the rear restaurant is almost complete in its new refurbishment and the...

Reviewed 18 April 2015

I've always loved making a stop here and take any excuse to do so. So it was an easy choice when I was passing with my girlfriend and her mum. The staff are friendly and it's great and proper home made food every time. The sort of comfort food that you have missed from the majority of other pubs that...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank David P
Coton in the Elms, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2015

Had a wonderful Sunday Lunch here whilst visiting Hartington and surrounding district on Easter Sunday. Excellent value, good portions and reasonable prices, lovely Olde worlde surroundings. Friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 145betts
burton
Reviewed 8 April 2015

We called in for lunch on Easter Monday, after seeing a sign offering Seniors lunch menus. i asked for a menu and also asked what the meals were for seniors & was told-all of them on the main menu i was reading.After paying with my card i thought the price seemed a bit steep and asked if it was correct....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wacky60
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2015

Arriived Friday late afternoon for a two night stay at Easter-Janette showed us to a clean and comfy room overlooking amazing countryside! I was concerned that we might hear the busy room, but as our room was in the newer part of the pub overlooking the car park, we had a quiet night on a comfortable bed! The food is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane M
sheffield
Reviewed 1 April 2015

We called here for our tea before going to a show at the Buxton Opera House last saturday evening. We use to use this pub very often 4years ago when the previous owners ran it. What a difference no cosy open log fire or any radiators on , the place was very cold and not at all cosy. The weather...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sunseekersheffield
Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night on a walking trip away. Felt room was overpriced for what was offered. Room overlooked car park, part of double glazing had gone. Room could have been cleaner, cobwebs, dirty valance on bed. Cracked sink in bathroom and mould on grout. Bath had plenty of hot water ! Breakfast was extra, no fruit on offer but cooked...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Figh01
Janette F, Owner at The Jug and Glass Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, unlike the AA representative who stayed recently and awarded us with a 3* Gold Standard certificate. It is unfortunate that you did not see the view beyond the 18' of rear car park outside your room as it is truly spectacular. We do not charge extra for breakfast unless,...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2015

stopped in for apint on a saturady evening .... no fire or central heating on ..coldest weekend...big open fire ready to light but not lit and radiators cold ...so cold kept coats on - drank one pint and left... decor nice - staff friendly - sadly wont return until the summer despite being local as early feb in derbyshire with...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank matilda m

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
2.3 km away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,215 reviews
2.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
2.1 km away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#2 of 9 in Buxton
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
22.3 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
15.1 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traditional service since the 17th century this small quintessential English Coaching Inn in the parish of Hartington atop the White Peak area of the National Park with views across the Derbyshire Dales. Stay in one of our nine modern comfortable centrally heated en suite rooms and dine in the old pub. Sleep, eat, drink and be merry with candlelight, wine and good food to refresh the mind and cheer your soul. Sit by a roasting fire on snowy winter days or walk in panoramic glory in every season. Perfectly central to the Park giving visitors a great overnight stay or a memorable holiday experience. Our partnership with local farmers, food producers and suppliers who share our values helps to sustain the social, environmental and economic fabric of the National Park for future generations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Jug and Glass Inn

Address: Ashbourne Road | Hartington, Buxton SK17 0BA, England (Formerly The Jug and Glass Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Price Range: $122 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Jug and Glass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Jug and Glass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jug And Glass Hotel Buxton
The Jug And Glass Inn Buxton, Derbyshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Jug and Glass Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Jug and Glass Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was in room 7 which had a lovely view out of the window and is at the back of the property.”
 of 5 bubbles sac153ek, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I would ask for an upstairs room for privacy”
 of 5 bubbles Warksleics, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room no 9 if you are looking for a pleasant view.”
 of 5 bubbles Karooblossom, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are highly furnished all with great views of the countryside”
 of 5 bubbles 200kirstyb, 30 Dec 2015 | Read review
“All at ground level.”
 of 5 bubbles Woody838, 16 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay