We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Old Black Lion

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Old Black Lion
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

257 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 254: English reviews
Start your review of Old Black Lion
 Click to rate
Hokitika, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We were staying across the road at a B&B and booked in for dinner. The tables are well set out not to close together and the staff are very friendly. We ordered the duck and lamb and cherizo stew and both were delicious. Only slight comment the veg and chips came out about 10 minutes after the main meal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pburgess2016
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely historic inn in Hay on Wye - if old beams, creaking floors and bags of character are your thing, you'll love it. If you are on the tall side you'll have to mind your head (my husband could just about stand up in our room as long as he avoided the light fitting!) but it all adds to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baconlover84
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked an overnight stay via Travelzoo. Excellent room with lots of character - oak beams etc. but modern facilities including excellent bathroom. Friendly staff, efficient service and excellent food at dinner in the cozy bar/restaurant. Breakfast was also very good - full table service of fruit juice, cereals etc. in addition to freshly prepared hot food. Good quality wines at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rogerw323
Dolan L, Manager at Old Black Lion, responded to this review

We are all really glad your stay was successful. Hope to welcome you back one day, maybe when the weather is nicer!

Stoke on Trent
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned from a two night break at this lovely old but very well appointed pub. Our first impressions were doubtful on arrival as it was a cold damp day and there wasn't any room to park on the pub car park. However a space did become available after a short time. On entering the pub to book...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dollymixture47
Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Configurable, quiet, and warm in the winter weather, the Old Black Lion backs on to sheep paddocks and views of the hills. The loudest thing in the evening was the sheep in the fields! It's a short walk to the book stores and other pubs and restaurants too. The staff were friendly and most concerned to ensure that I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely old creaky venue, authentic decorated rooms, lovely modern en suite, food fresh, innovative and lush, temperature a bit too warm however, bedroom temperature we were able to control ourselves. Just had our first breakfast. Quality produce, well cooked, nothing seemed to be any trouble.....extra toast and coffee available. All in all a good travel zoo deal, but one we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hubbard78
Builth Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Can't wait to visit this warm, friendly, clean and understated pub with rooms again soon. I personally am not normally a fan of pubs but this is such an exception. Called in for lunch, we ordered fish and chips - absolutely delicious. The ambience was superb. If you're hesitating, don't. You won't be disappointed. I want to go and try...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ann-Marie P
Dolan L, Owner at Old Black Lion, responded to this review

Thank you so much - and yes Friday Jazz is a blast!!

Pontypool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2017

Food was good and excellent value with Travelzoo Voucher which included a glass of wine. You must try the old. Black Beer brewed by wye valley.......that alone is worth a visit to this lovely little pub. The staff are friendly and attentive but not in an intrusive way. Overall an excellent visit.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shiralee3
Dolan L, Owner at Old Black Lion, responded to this review

Thank you so much. It is great to get feedback.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Arrived earlier than stated, but no trouble checked into our lovely room, comfortable bed, bathroom great shower, room was furnished with antiques loved it, ate in the restaurant both nights, great vegetarian option on both nights.. The food was well cooked and absolutely delicious, would highly recommend eating here, try the triple cooked chips.... The pannacotta was amazing.. Well done...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lesley137
Dolan L, Owner at Old Black Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. Much appreciated.

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Good reviews but for us we were disappointed. The service was very poor, and they seemed more interested in chatting out back than being front of house welcoming and attending to our table. The starter was ok, as was the desert. We all swopped the potato part of the meal for the triple cooked chips which were very good, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shirleyec
Dolan L, Owner at Old Black Lion, responded to this review

Dear Shirley, So sorry that you were disappointed with your cheap deal. Our a la carte menu is the same for all our customers and we are not trying to "claw back" money as you have stated.

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hay-on-Wye
0.4 km away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
402 reviews
11.4 km away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
567 reviews
7.4 km away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
130 reviews
24.6 km away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
29.0 km away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled within the market town of Hay-on-Wye, this colourful 17th Century Inn exudes historical charm and atmosphere offering quality home-cooked food, luxury accommodation and free Wi-Fi and parking. With parts of the original building dating as far back as the 1300’s, the Hotel subtly blends the elegance and whimsy of the past with the comfort and convenience of the present. Indeed, it is even reputed that Oliver Cromwell once stayed at the inn whilst the Roundheads besieged Hay Castle, which was then a loyalist stronghold. Sympathetically refurbished, exposed timber beams and roaring log fires help to cultivate a homely environment and a famously warm welcome.The Inn features 10 high quality en-suite bedrooms, all of which are individually and tastefully decorated in a style reminiscent of the buildings historic past. All rooms include free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, hairdryer, direct dial telephone and tea & coffee making facilities. They offer a choice of Single, Double, Twin and Superior room options.The Old Black Lion is renowned for the quality of its food and has received a host of rewards and accolades including a coveted AA Rosette. The menus, which are changed frequently, use only the best of British produce wherever possible including locally reared meat, fresh seafood from Cornwall and seasonal vegetables. The oak timbered bar with its scrubbed pine tables and comfy arm chairs is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the fantastic selection of local ales (including their own namesake ‘The Old Black Lion’).The Hotel is located in the heart of the Welsh market town of Hay-on-Wye just a short drive from the A438, it also offers free on-site parking for guests. The city of Hereford is roughly 35 minutes away and offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. For those flying in, Cardiff International Airport is about a 95 minute journey from the Hotel.The Old Black Lion is situated just a three minute walk from the centre of Hay-on-Wye. Renowned internationally as a Mecca for bibliophiles the town offers over 30 bookshops, many selling specialist and second-hand books. It is also home to the annual Hay Festival, Europe’s premier literature and arts festival. The town lies on the east bank of the River Wye and is within the Brecon Beacons National Park, just north of the Black Mountains. Offering some of the most breathtaking scenery in Wales, the surrounding area is a haven for outdoor enthusiasts with both the Offas Dyke Path and Wye Valley Walk passing through the town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Black Lion

Address: 26 Lion Street, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5AD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Price Range: $154 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Black Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Old Black Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Black Lion Hotel Hay-On-Wye
Old Black Lion Hay-On-Wye, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Black Lion staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Old Black Lion staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For accessibility choose a ground floor room in the coach house.”
 of 5 bubbles Dollymixture47, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“A special deal made it excellent value.”
 of 5 bubbles Peony42, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were in the annexe the room was terrific.”
 of 5 bubbles 643MALCOLMG, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“This is in a quieter area of Hay but is only a very short walk to centre”
 of 5 bubbles burtonrosie, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Cromwell suite”
 of 5 bubbles Cornakey, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5