We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Duke of Wellington

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Duke of Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

459 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Duke of Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Showing 457: English reviews
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Stayed here in a family room with my wife and two young children as it was great value for a weekend visit to Butlins. The rooms are very large with a king size bed but only a smaller twin bed for the children. It would be a lot more better if the room had two singles or bunks as with... More 

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
1 Thank MrMarkie
Duke of W, Night Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear MrMarkie, Thank you for your review, Glad you found us to be of great value, some of the issues you raise are being dealt with. Our Lloyds No1 Sports bar is open every day from 12 midday and does open late on a Friday and Saturday night. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Alcester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Came to Minehead on the train, raining when we arrived, so straight to Wetherspoons for cider and Perry festival and a snack lunch. 4 real ciders and a Perry to choose from, ample snack to share. Good service as always. Large pub that flows round a central bar. Mix of seating, tables and chairs and a comfy sofa area. Also... More 

Helpful?
Thank GrannySpice
Duke of W, Night Shift Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear GrannySpice, Thank you for your review, we are glad that you found our cider festival to your liking and that you found the service to be good. We look forward to your next visit. More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Lovely big place . Lots of staff . Really friendly place . Just called in for a drink . Food looked and smell great great . Had to have some . It was curry night . In the price there was a drink Curry was great . The other food look good as well . Price was really good as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Audrey E
Duke of W, Night Shift Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Audrey E, Thank you for your review, So glad you enjoyed one of our curries and found us to be a friendly place, please do come back and maybe try one of our other clubs. More 

Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
276 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

What a charming little hotel with all one would expect at the price , nice clean rooms with all the usual facilities and the hotel is centrally located so is within walking distance of most places including a few interesting local hostelries . Another good point is the staff who are most helpful and have a good knowledge of local... More 

Helpful?
Thank sirpike
Duke of W, Night Shift Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear sirpike, Thank you for your review we are glad that you found the staff most helpful and you found us to be charming and at the right price. we look forward to your return. More 

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Stayed here for one night only in a single room. I was very pleased with it in all respects. The room itself was much larger than I was expecting and all was as it should be. The staff were all very good and I would have no problem recommending . I used it as a base to walk a couple... More 

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank Neil O
Duke of W, Night Shift Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Neil O, Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff to be good. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

Lovely building and outside seating. Staff helpful and attentive. Cooked breakfast was plentiful and cooked perfect. The building it self is enormous Overall one of the best weatherspoon I've frequented.

Helpful?
Thank Lkweston
Duke of W, Night Shift Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Lkweston, Thank you for your review, we are glad that you found the staff to be helpful and attentive and that your breakfast was cooked perfect. We look forward to your next visit Stephen More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2016

The room had everything necessary for our one night stay. The sofa bed was a bit hard for the children but the surrounding area was quiet so all had a good nights sleep. The price is excellent value and this is the 2nd time we have used this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank 386stephen12
Duke of W, Night Shift Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear 386stephen12, Thank you for your review, We are glad that you found that your room had everything you needed for your short stay with us and found us to be excellent value. We look forward to your 3rd visit Regards Stephen More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Unfortunately it is more of a local drinking hole/ nightclub than a proper hotel....wish it was a little quieter. Spent allot of money on a double room which was like staying in the roadhouse...a couple had a domestic outside..not good

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank 1975lb
Duke of W, Duty Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we apologise your stay was not as good as you expected. We do however have a nightclub on the property which is stated on all of our literature and unfortunately we cannot always keep the general public from making some noise outside of our premises. Kind regards. More 

Travellers are raving about these Minehead hotels

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Excellent organisation of booking by carol. Rooms generally good or very good apart from one which was very small. We stayed one night for dinner which was poor-7 of menu not on including curry dishes and fish.scampi/chips so some of us went out elsewhere. Breakfasts were good in variety and taste but along wait to order-three quarters of an hour... More 

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank norman2125
Duke of W, Duty Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry that some of the menu items were not available to you on that night but hope this doesn't deter you from visiting us again. Kind Regards. More 

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Went to Minehead for the day by coach and visited The Duke of Wellington Pub. A very large pub with lots of seating, out door space and also a hotel. The only downside was the walk from the coach car park as the pub was a long way up the High Street, but apart from that the food and drinks... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
Duke of W, Night Shift Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Sandra L, Thank you for your review were so glad you decided to walk up the high street to find us and found the food and drinks to be of good value. We do hope that you will come and see us again soon. Stephen More 

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
38.2 km away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
725 reviews
0.7 km away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
217 reviews
0.6 km away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#2 of 14 in Minehead
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 37 in Minehead
229 reviews
0.5 km away
Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
0.5 km away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 37 in Minehead
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All 29 rooms in our hotel are en-suite and boast free wi-fi as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Towels, hair dryers, ironing board & iron and spare pillows are supplied in all rooms. Flat screen televisions in all rooms. Our 24 hour reception allows check in from 14:00. Meals start from 07:00 and run until 23:00 daily. Breakfast finishes at midday. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Duke of Wellington

Address: Wellington Square, Minehead TA24 5NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Price Range: $81 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Duke of Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Duke Of Wellington Minehead, Somerset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Duke of Wellington staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Duke of Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't get a room at the front !”
 of 5 bubbles MattJames69, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you are disabled the pub is a walking distance nearly at the end of The High Street”
 of 5 bubbles sandral398, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“we were in room 206 & it was so quiet around the room”
 of 5 bubbles Deefan54, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Request a room on opposite side of hotel to night club if staying on Friday or Staurday night.”
 of 5 bubbles wrigleysteve, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“check the website”
 of 5 bubbles joanneh110, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay