We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Clarence Gardens Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Clarence Gardens Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

517 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Clarence Gardens Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 515: English reviews
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

Very surprised at the hotel . Parking is possible outside (chargeable between 9-7)there is also a small hotel car park. The receptionist was friendly and helpful and the hotel looked as if it had just been decorated.The room had a good sea view and was a decent size and nicely decorated. I did not eat here as the food had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 186459And123
Clare H, Manager at Clarence Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

186459And123, Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope your next stay is just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with. Kind Regards Andrea :)

Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

I booked Clarence gardens for a 1 night stay with my husband and 2 young children on Saturday 28th Jan. I hadn't realised they allowed dogs and probably wouldn't have booked if I had known that (it does tell you in the website) as my husband has allergies. Turns out it wasn't a problem, the room was very clean...no trace...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lauren P
Clare H, Manager at Clarence Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Lauren P, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. I am very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. We really appreciate the time taken to post this review and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Andrea:)

Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on a groupon deal. Good value for money at £79 for 2 nights b&b. We were supposed to have a welcome drink in the offer and didn't receive this but had a nice stay anyway. Comfy bed and clean room. Would recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ginabee84
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Well what can I say stayed here a few year ago and loved it but it's been took over by not so friendly people the room was absolutely disgusting stains on carpets masking tape round the bunk beds definitely never returning here

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
Matthew O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarence Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Although we appreciate feedback from all our guests we cannot accept your comments posted here. Not only were you asked to leave for damaging one of our rooms you also acted abusively to a member of staff who refused to serve you any more alcohol, as he rightly refused service you for being overly intoxicated. Our rooms are...

Pattaya, Chon Buri, Thailand
Reviewed 25 January 2017

The room was compact but practical and clean and very comfortable. Fantastic view over the bay and the seafront. Great staff, friendly and helpful. Great breakfast included in the price. very pleasant short stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emmalc1966
Clare H, Manager at Clarence Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Emmalc1966, Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other visitors. I’m know our entire staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully see you soon. Kind Regards Andrea:)

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2017

We have just returned from a weekend in Scarborough with family members to celebrate our granddaughter's fifth birthday. We were particularly impressed with the friendliness of the staff, who were very welcoming and particularly good with the children. The rooms were clean and the breakfast provided was of a high standard. The view from our sea facing rooms was absolutely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue I
Clare H, Manager at Clarence Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Sue I, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. I am very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. We really appreciate the time taken to post this review and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Andrea :)

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2017

This was a Groupon voucher purchased as a Xmas gift for one night stay with breakfast and welcome drink. When we arrived at the room there was no door handle and the door was not shut properly, we were told it would be mended the next day. There was no welcome drink and a minimum amount of tea and coffee....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hpjdjj
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Just been for a night away for my mums 70th birthday. On arrival the manager Andrea was there to welcome us and look after us throughout our stay. She was so friendly, opened the bar as we were early and sat and chatted away to our party, letting the dogs roam around until they were settled, even feeding them snacks....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James Blender A
Clare H, Manager at Clarence Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

James Blender A, Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other visitors. I’m know our entire staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully see you soon. Kind Regards Andrea:)

Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights & was pleased with my accommodation... you get what you pay for , only paid £40 so wasn't expecting much but the room was clean & warm ... a descent place to rest your head after a hard days work .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank safc6inarow
Clare H, Manager at Clarence Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

safc6inarow, Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I’m happy that you enjoyed your visit and we are looking forward to having you again as a guest. Kind Regards Andrea :)

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Upon arrival, I discovered my booking had been changed to a different day without any notification, there was then no 'Double Room with a sea view' available which I had paid for, despite being told I had to pay extra for a sea view room. I was then given a family room which was tiny, having to squeeze sideways to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annoymous930

136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (130)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.2 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,517 reviews
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
1.7 km away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
1.4 km away
Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge
0.3 km away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 184 in Scarborough
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly refurbished in January 2016 with a £100,000 makeover, The Clarence Gardens Hotels boasts breathtaking sea views over Scarborough's famous and historic North Bay, you are only a short walk to all the major sights and sounds. The town centre is also on your doorstep with the South Bay beach only 5 minutes away. With facilities including a fully stocked licensed bar with panoramaic views of the North Bay, a large function room - perfect for all occasions and events, a games room with Nintendo Wii and flat screen television, the Clarence Gardens provides fantastic affordable accommodation in a superb location. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clarence Gardens Hotel

Address: 4-5 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: $56 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarence Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Clarence Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clarence Gardens Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Clarence Gardens Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 28 nice but very small”
 of 5 bubbles michelej53, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“first two floors where theres a lift if cases are a problem advised”
 of 5 bubbles debh33, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The lift goes to the 2nd floor then there are stairs to the attic rooms. These are nice rooms modern and clean. The beds are comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles TINATBEAN, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 11 you can hear every noise.”
 of 5 bubbles katielangham, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea View is best with nice views of the bay”
 of 5 bubbles Angelgracediana, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5