We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay New Southlands Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bay New Southlands Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay New Southlands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 403: English reviews
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2017

having just returned from a mon to fri stay in this hotel I can only say what a lovely place. Food was excellent, staff were polite, and Paul in particular having moved from another hotel he settled in and was very attentive to the guests. Will Definately go again but in the summer next time.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank wenddy48
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind feedback for us following your recent stay. I'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay - the summer is certainly a great time to come the seaside although we can't always guarantee sunshine. Paul has settled in really well and was chuffed to see his name mentioned. We hope to...

E. Yorkshire
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Just returned from a 4 day weekend break with National Holidays, hotel very welcoming, staff very cheerful and friendly. Room was impeccably clean, comfortable, and most important 'warm'. Food was very good, buffet breakfast, evening meal was served, David our waiter was great..Entertainment was very good, just wish it went on longer than 10.30pm, but overall a great weekend. Met...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank motorbike_8
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

What kind comments you have left for us, thank you. I'm glad to see you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope that you will return to stay with again in the future.

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Last year our group of 15 ladies went to Melrose, Scotland and thought this hotel very good but we all agreed that the New Southlands Hotel in Scarborough was excellent. The service at this hotel in all areas was very good. The decor and all rooms we had there was not one complaint. The entertainment was good especially Mark on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Audrey W
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review. We thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us and hope we will see you again soon :)

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Hotel nice enough but too far for evening stroll anywhere. I didn't feel comfortable walking on my own after dusk, surrounded by bedsit land and not another soul in sight. For those wanting to eat, drink and retire to bar for evening entertainment it's brilliant. Personally I like to have a wander and try different places.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janiemac24
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm sorry to see you didn't feel you were able to go out on an evening. We are in an area of town that is a mixture of town houses, hotels, guest houses, and flats (residential and holiday) which is just a short distance from the South Cliff with fantastic...

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Stayed here as coach midweek break with Shearings we had a disabled room with an electric bed which was good the only down side was the shower cubicle as it was rather small for somebody who is disable and hard to get in and out of with mobility problems it would have been better to have a level access shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ngaire E
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

What kind comments you have left for us , thank you. I am very lucky and have a great team here. I hope you do return to stay with us again in the future, and I would be happy to discuss with you the rooms etc that we have that may be more suitable for your needs.

Seaham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2017

great hotel,staff and food.the breakfast is highly recommended and the evening meal waitress service great,nothing is to much trouble.would definitely stay again.this was a three night stay with national holidays,a bargain!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank darrson
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your kind feedback for us. I'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Great hotel staff really friendly couldn't do enough for you nice buffet breakfast &nice meals at night good entertainment over the 4 nights my friend won on the bingo on Fri night day trip to York was fine only thing I would say what was disappointed at was the driver Ian who made everyone uneasy he even upset 1 family...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Alan S
sheffield
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We have just returned from this lovely friendly hotel. We were on a 5 day Winter Break with Shearings and we cannot fault the service from boarding our coach on Monday to our departure on Friday. We never saw our luggage until we got to our room. We were given a free upgrade to a Superior room which was really...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sunseekersheffield
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review for us. It is great to see you enjoyed your stay with and I have passed your kind comments on to my staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

I Can't fault this hotel in any manner, room 106 leaving am, entertainment cleanliness friendliness excellent. Food outstanding service exceptional staff go the extra mile to help. No one is judgemental I'd like to thank the staff in every way possible. I will return with friends & party 🎉 💯! It's a big thumbs up. Restaurant staff couldn't do enough,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debbie S
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

What lovely comments you have left for us, thank you. I'm so pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you both again soon.

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017

pretty average really. The food wasn't overwhelming, but for the price was ok. Why do these old hotels creak so much. The bathroom was very clean and neat, but had no shelf for products and no light over the mirror. We had paid for an upgrade too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback for us. I'm sorry to see there were some aspects of your stay you were unhappy with and I will look into the areas you have mentioned. I do hope they wouldn't put you off staying with us again in the future.

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.4 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,505 reviews
2.2 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
783 reviews
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,282 reviews
0.8 km away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
560 reviews
0.2 km away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The New Southlands Hotel is a handsome, intimate property perfectly situated on Scarborough’s South Cliff. From the hotel, the Esplanade, Italian Rose Gardens and South Bay are easily accessible. Scarborough itself retains much of the character of an elegant Victorian seaside town, with handsome architecture and walkways, as well as boasting more modern entertainments and attractions. Further inland, North Yorkshire is an oft overlooked gem of a County offering beautiful scenery and countless attractions both historic and modern. The hotel possesses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay New Southlands Hotel

Address: 15 West Street, Scarborough YO11 2QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: $136 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay New Southlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Bay New Southlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Southlands Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay New Southlands Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Wigan
1 month ago
Sunderland, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Littleborough, United Kingdom
11 months ago
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Bay New Southlands Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay extra to upgrade”
 of 5 bubbles Iola352, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We can only speak of our room 119, large and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Elizabet2013, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Any, lift available to all floors”
 of 5 bubbles motorbike_8, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Very small lift. It's easier to walk to 2nd floor than wait for the lift”
 of 5 bubbles Janiemac24, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Superior were very nice”
 of 5 bubbles sunseekersheffield, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5