We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Ainsley

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
The Ainsley
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Ainsley
See the most recent reviews
Showing 34: English reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

When I first saw it with the peach front (some bits flaking) I wasn't sure. I've stayed in 12 different B&Bs on this strip (North marine rd side) but after staying at Miricia and not enjoying it this time I swapped to next door the Ainsley. It's absolutely perfect. The view from the sea view rooms are EXCEPTIONAL. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank shaunz18
Ainsley01, Owner at The Ainsley, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We'll be happy to accommodate you again on your next visit to Scarborough! We agree that at the moment the paintwork is looking a little past its best - unfortunately we here on the Yorkshire Coast haven't avoided any of the terrible weather that's hit the country...

east anglia
Reviewed 28 July 2015

Lovely 2 night stay at clean,friendly family run b & b .Splendid views overNorth beach from front room.Economically priced and within easy walking distance of North and South beaches.Would definitely stay again

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank robroyEastAnglia
Ainsley01, Owner at The Ainsley, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review - we're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hopefully we'll see you again when you next visit Scarborough.

Chester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2015

Once again we had a lovely stay at the Ainsley. Lynne as usual was warm and friendly, and made us feel very welcome right through our stay. Lynne is a very attentive lady, never rushes you and is always ready to answer any questions, whether it is about your stay at the b&b or about Scarborough itself. The breakfast has...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lesley J
Ainsley01, Owner at The Ainsley, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you both again when you next visit Scarborough.

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2014

We stayed in a front double en-suit with sea views only £56. The room was very clean, plenty of tea/coffee biscuits. The bed comfortable and shower worked well. Lots of thoughtful extras. The breakfast was more than ample with plenty to choose from in cereals, yogurt and full English. A friendly and warm welcome, will certainly go back again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank XantheMSM
Ainsley01, Owner at The Ainsley, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Hope we can provide you with accommodation when you next visit Scarborough.

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here,this time we stayed in one of the sea view rooms with superb views of the north bay,the rooms have everything you need,clean and comfortable.The owners are friendly and helpful,good hearty breakfast.It is in a good location taking about ten minutes in to the centre of town and handy for the lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank david n
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I have just re-visited The Ainsley. Glad to say that again we really enjoyed the hospitality, food and of course that sea view. The room as usual was lovely, clean and well stocked with beverages and biscuits. Will definately be going back again

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Lesley J
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel is awfull they put us in a box room with a tiny window, when we asked to move they said they where fulling the gentleman was unbalievebly rude and we heard him talking about us downstairs swearing, even tho the door s to the other rooms wher still open all night :-/ so just think they didn't want...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Thelady1989
Ainsley01, Owner at The Ainsley, responded to this review

We’re sorry that you didn’t enjoy your recent stay at The Ainsley, but we would like to take this opportunity to respond to your criticisms. The top floor bedrooms that you booked are described as small, ensuite double rooms; they are not by any stretch of the imagination ‘box rooms’ with tiny windows. The guest house is regularly inspected by...

Derby
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Came here 10 years ago and got engaged so holds great memories for us. We always stay in room 8 on the second floor because of amazing sea views. The rooms are spotless and have all the facilities you need including a great shower. The view of the North Bay is panoramic and the castle is a 2 minute walk....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank liberty81
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My husband and I have stayed here quite a few times and will continue to do so. There is always a warm welcome whenever we arrive, which is usually on speck. The building (as with all the buildings here) is very old but lovely. The views from the bay windows of the front/sea facing rooms are absolutely beautiful. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Lesley J
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I've stayed in many b&bs throughout the north of England and The Ainsley is definitely the best. We were made to feel very welcome and the breakfasts were superb (excellent choice and served in a lovely, cosy dining room). My little boy and I shared an en-suite family room which was spotless and comfortable. I also must mention the tea...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Adele C

6 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.6 km away
Ainsley Court Guest House
Ainsley Court Guest House
#81 of 183 in Scarborough
57 reviews
0.0 km away
Miricia
Miricia
#40 of 183 in Scarborough
211 reviews
0.1 km away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#7 of 183 in Scarborough
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Selomar Hotel
Selomar Hotel
#29 of 183 in Scarborough
449 reviews
0.2 km away
Rockside Hotel
Rockside Hotel
#16 of 183 in Scarborough
381 reviews
0.0 km away
Derwent House Hotel
Derwent House Hotel
#43 of 183 in Scarborough
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ainsley is a small, family run guest house with superb views over Scarborough's North Bay and only a short walk from all local amenities. Recently awarded a three star rating by Quality in Tourism for Visit Britain. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Ainsley

Address: Queens Parade | Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: $77 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ainsley 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ainsley staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Ainsley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“recommend a sea view room waking up to north bay is fantastic”
dnero577, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“dont go,so you dont have to choose a room.”
tomtucker, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 4 had really good sea views”
MungoPNewcastle, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
“At peak times you probably need to book early to get a sea view room. Because it is an old building there is no lift.”
LesleyJ199, 24 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Sea view rooms are worth the few pounds upgrade”
XantheMSM, 12 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5