We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Grand Hotel Scarborough

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

5,948 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Showing 5,938: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2015

We had a really great weekend here experiencing a holiday from a bygone age. Positives - staying in what was once I believe the biggest hotel in Europe and still retains those grand features, amazing architecture, grand staircase and theatre etc. Good food in the premier restaurant, varied and piping hot, excellent staff in this restaurant, nothing was too much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juleslizzie
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear juleslizzie Thank you for your review. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found us to be good value for money. We do have a program of works around the hotel to address some of the issues you mentioned, this included refreshing the bedrooms and public areas.

West Yorkshire
Reviewed 3 March 2015

Me and my husband booked into the Grand for 1 night at the end of February, we've read reviews good and bad, we arrived at 12 and was told we couldn't check in till 2, but they let us leave our bags so we headed out and returned at 2, there was a queue, which is my only moan as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen E
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Helen E Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found us to offer everything you required for your stay. Our check in doesn't open to till 2pm, we can where possible arrange for a early check in when we have rooms available. We are currently looking at the...

Bingley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2015

I think I must have stayed at the same time as Melanie Jane. I also did the 2 night stay with Wowcher and we paid a little extra to be upgraded to a sea view room.The hotel was clean and the staff were extremely friendly. What more do you want? Anything else is a bonus. The hotel has been fantasic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie L
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Jackie L Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found us to be good value for money. We really do try to offer all the basics you need from a honey, and whilst keeping it affordable for everyone. We don't have all the bells and whistles of a 5 star...

Reviewed 3 March 2015 via mobile

Don't read too much into the complaints most are very petty. The food was acceptable and plentyful. The free bottle of wine came not as a mystery house red but a half decent Shiraz. Whilst our room was basic it had all we needed for an overnight stay. I do wonder what people who complained were expecting to get for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason F
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Jason F Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found us to be excellent value for money. We do provide all the basics, in a central location and offer some of the best views in Scarborough due to our cliff edge location. Your right about the parking, this is something...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 March 2015

A recent stay at the grand could not have been worse. Thread bare carpets damp walls peeling wallpaper tired bedroom furniture in an upgrade room , on arrival we were offered a room that had a horrid smell and was no more than a storage cupboard, the food was cold tables sticky chairs falling apart, staff unhelpful, the room next...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Carlos D
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Carlos D Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your standards or expectations during your stay with us. We are in the process of replacing the older carpets within the hotel and refreshing the bedrooms in general. As with any old (Victorian) building the hotel does suffer with leaks, that...

Beccles, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2015

My wife and I were on a GROUPON Deal, which included Dinner and breakfast for both nights and a bottle of wine on the first night. I had a sense of foreboding on reading previous reviews of this and other Britannia Hotels, but persevered.I had additional concerns when on entering I saw adverts for eat all you like breakfasts and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank alan h
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear alan h Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that we never met with your expectations or standards during your visit to us. All of our food is cooked fresh in house each day and our menus are designed for the many people we cater for tastes. We do have full menus and tags above each...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2015

Excellent food lots of choice fabulous staff, comfortable room have booked again. Only problem bathroom a little cold as window loose but the hotel is old. However, the room was very clean, warm and had a seating area, flat screen tv and hospitality tray. Plenty of towels, spare blankets and pillows plus iron and board.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alisonharri
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear alsisonharri Thank you for your review. We are always pleased to welcome back our regular customers, and we are thrilled that you have noticed some of the changes we are making to our bedrooms. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 2 March 2015 via mobile

Stayed at the Grand Hotel, for two nights in late February, it is easy to see how opulent it must have been in its day, but it is a bit tired and in need of some refurbishment. But we got a deal for two nights dinner bed and breakfast. The hotel is well located in the town with great views...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert T
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Robert T Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Since Britannia Hotels purchased the hotel, we have spent millions on restoring some of the original features within the building that you note within your email. We are continuing our works on refreshing our bedrooms.

Harwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2015

Myself and 8 other friends stayed here whilst attending a sports tournament in Scarborough. As university students we needed somewhere cheap to stay after a hard day running around. This was just fine and certainly met our needs. We booked 5 rooms in total, they were all very clean (after reading reviews I was absolutely dreading it but was pleasantly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy O
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Amy O Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found us to offer everything you required for your stay. During peak times queues can occur, our pull out all the stops to ensure every customer is seen to in a timely manner. Looking forward to welcoming you back...

Reviewed 2 March 2015 via mobile

Having had many wonderful holidays here in the past I was extremely disappointed with the overall standard of The Grand. All time low! The beautiful building in wonderful surroundings is not supported by the general upkeep by the current owners. Looks shabby, dirty in places and needs freshening up. Staff were not interested or simply rude, food served in Harbour...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Erika M
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Erica M Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations during your recent stay with us. Since buying the hotel, Britannia have invested millions on restoring many of the original features. This is something that continues today, and we are in the middle of a program of works which...

2,059 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1931)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (386)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (368)
Viewed
View from Room (96)
Viewed
Bathroom (99)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (889)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (78)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Beach (2)
Viewed
Double Room with Sea View (29)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,246 reviews
0.4 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,388 reviews
1.2 km away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.1 km away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
1.5 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: $47 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Hotel Scarborough staff and other travellers.
116 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (116)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Hotel Scarborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want to have windows do not book the cheapest room.”
 of 5 bubbles 466attilah, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“wear a mask”
 of 5 bubbles Lucylou1987, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors, amazing views”
 of 5 bubbles 628emilyw, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Lower floors with sea views - quiet and comfortable although small.”
 of 5 bubbles shirleyh497, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Possibly ask for sea view”
 of 5 bubbles Danax4, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5