We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Grand Hotel Scarborough

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

5,858 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 5,848: English reviews
Manchester
Reviewed today NEWvia mobile

The hotel wasn't to badly priced but the service was second to none, from Kieran on reception when we first arrived, very polite and helped us sort our booking and car parking without so much as a mumble, great guy thank you, made the Start of the stay very pleasurable. We didn't eat there in the evening but did go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hockeymonkey14
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

my daughter and I have just spent 3 nights at this hotel the location and the food were perfect, The problem was the room, we requested a room on a low level floor we were put in a room on the top floor. I use the term room tongue in cheek, it was so small that where the bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 782echo
Halifax,West Yorkshire
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed for two nights on National Holidays deal. Food very good, restaurant staff very efficient and friendly. Fifth floor room smelled damp and was draughty and cold however was clean. Don't agree with dogs being allowed in and entertainment started too late. However location is second to none and well with a visit!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smort56
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed for 2 days. Great time.bedroom clean.would have preferred a shower. We were on fifth floor. Corridor smelled of mucky mops. Other than that great value. Will return.lovely views from dining room. Not sure about allowing dogs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lis962
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Nothing grand about the hotel. Very very run down so needs redoing. No money is spent on it. Carpets are stained the rooms are very run down. The list goes on. The hotel could be amazing if millions was spent on it. I'm sure in its day it was but sorry to say not any more. Would not recommend at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pet Shop Boys T
Shepshed, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Same family as the Royal Hotel, still as bad as the Royal Hotel - same chain. thought we'd give scarborough the benefit of the doubt but unfortunately no more visits to scarborough for us Stay away. ffod cold, hotel cold rooms not too bad could be better, bathrooms for disabled non exsistent

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bev J
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Bev J Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations for your stay with us and certainly hope you spoke with a member of the team at the time to resolve all of your concerns. We would like to reassure you that all of our food items are cooked...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Room was very dark due to being built up at the sides of the room hardly any light had to have lights on all the time ,very drafty had to keep heating on full to keep warm.Bedding and towels were clean room cleaned to good standard daily ,we found the food to be very poor in quality and presentation was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen P
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Karen P Thank you for your review. We are pleased in most you enjoyed our offering. We would like to reassure you that all of our food is prepared and cooked inline with with our robust HACCP standards, that do follow national guidelines. As part of this process food core temperatures are taken, we are sorry that if you...

Desborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Definitely needs a lick of paint but for £69 we got a spacious family room for four with two windows. Staff were courteous and professional, and subsequently located my lost property and returned it by post with a minimum of fuss and no extra charge betond the postage. My only real criticism is that the room was underlit, making it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Jo P Thank you for your review, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We do try to help all of our guests during their stay with us.

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We've stayed here a few times now always get the special offers although I prefer to upgrade to a premier room with a veiw and breakfast and evening meal was great value for money rooms are comfortable did once stay in a room without a window although room itself was spotless felt like we were closed in and were in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 5denise1961
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, we always welcome feedback from our regulars. We are pleased that you find out good value for money, however, our bar prices are in line with the local hotel bar prices and we do offer some great deals through out happy hour.

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I bought a short notice groupon deal as I was visiting York for a spot of shopping and I live quite far away so thought it would be nice to treat our self's to a hotel with our little boy of 3months and there was an offer on groupon. The hotel itself of arrival was ok very large and a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jasmine H
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations for your recent visit to us. We would like to however, reassure you that all of our food is prepared and cook in accordance with our very robust HACCP standards. Our menus are designed to offer something for everyone and...

1,979 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1851)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (356)
Viewed
Room/Suite (383)
Viewed
View from Room (91)
Viewed
Bathroom (99)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (835)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (78)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Beach (2)
Viewed
Double Room with Sea View (29)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,198 reviews
0.4 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#7 of 28 in Scarborough
4,270 reviews
1.2 km away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
1.5 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
754 reviews
0.1 km away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: $47 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Hotel Scarborough staff and other travellers.
107 questions
Ask a question
kingston upon hull
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
over a year ago
3 months ago

See all questions (107)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Hotel Scarborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No good rooms to be had”
 of 5 bubbles BevJ_12, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles karenpO9136NA, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If booking on line ask in advance for a room with a sea veiw or city”
 of 5 bubbles 5denise1961, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't know”
 of 5 bubbles jshieldsy46, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get sea view”
 of 5 bubbles martintyke, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay