We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Crown Spa Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Crown Spa Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,371 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Crown Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 4,365: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We have stayed at Crown Spa numerous times and will continue to return to the hotel. The hotel offers a fantastic location and gives you some nice options to get to the front, you can walk down along the beach or take a tram and then open top bus to wherever you want to go to! The hotel is excellent...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y1090OYjamesb
crownspahotel, Assistant Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review

May I first thank you for leaving us a wonderful review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you encountered welcoming staff. I hope you are able to book directly when you stay with us to receive our best prices. We all look forward to seeing you again soon! Kindest regards, Hayley Cook, Assistant...

Dronfield,Derbyshire
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Good location, fantastic sea view, tasty food pleasant competent staff . Used the Cliff lift nearby which made the trips to the Spa Theatre easily accessible with a wheel chair. The bar and restaurant areas had a relaxing and comfortable ambiance too!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay W
crownspahotel, Assistant Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review

May I thank you for leaving us a lovely review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you experienced a relaxing and comfortable ambiance. I certainly hope you would return to stay again in the future and may I suggest booking direct with the hotel. We all look forward to seeing you again! Kind regards, Hayley...

Reviewed 8 August 2016

Afternoon tea awful, dry scones, not served on cake stands 4 little quarters of sandwiches, one scone, micro mini coconut bun, and a very small chocolate brownie. Customer service appalling,didn't bother to come and as if everything was alright with everything

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sylvene B
crownspahotel, General Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review

May I first of all say thank you for taking the time to leave a review. My sincere apologies that you were not happy with the afternoon tea and do wish that you had brought your concerns to our attention during your visit giving us the opportunity to resolve them. Once again thank you for your valued feedback, we do...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Stayed here for a couple of nights at short notice in August. Room was a sea view and although a little small was excellently appointed. All furnishings were modern and seemed reasonably new. Bathroom was a good size and all of the fittings looked brand new. Wasn't to excited about the size of the bath though, or the multi colored...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Foodie666444
crownspahotel, Assistant Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review

May I thank you for leaving us a mainly positive review. I am very pleased that you encountered helpful and friendly staff during your visit. I certainly hope you would return to stay in the future and may I suggest booking direct with the hotel to receive our best prices. We all look forward to seeing you again! Kind regards,...

Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Lighting in our room was very dim. Lightshades were black,which didn't help. I know it's a seaside resort and you get seagulls squawking,which you can close the window to cut the noise out. But we were given a free upgrade to an executive king room or so we were told. Every night I believe it was seagulls running around the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy S
crownspahotel, General Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review

May I first of all say thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am always disappointed when a customer isn’t happy with any part of the service received at the Crown. As a seaside resort we do unfortunately have issues in the summer with seagulls and can assure you had you requested a room move we...

Grantham,Lincolnshire
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Beers and food a little on the pricey side but comes with the teritory I guess would have eaten in the hotel had it been a little cheaper but mega stay overall really grand place defo book a trip amazing view too

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank horsemans
crownspahotel, Assistant Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review

May I first thank you for leaving us a review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay and I certainly hope you would return to stay in the future. May I suggest booking direct with the hotel to receive our best prices. We all look forward to seeing you again! Kind regards, Hayley Cook, Assistant Manager.

barnsley
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Excellent short stay. The hotel is in a great location with beautiful views. The room was spotlessly clean. I paid an extra £6 to have the room early from 1pm and when we arrived at just after 1pm the check in was easy and straight to a very spacious room. I requested a parking space and also that was avaliable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank josmithbarnsley
crownspahotel, Assistant Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review

May I first thank you for leaving us a wonderful review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you received excellent service. I certainly hope you would return in the future and may I suggest booking direct with the hotel for this. We all look forward to seeing you again! Kind regards, Hayley Cook, Assistant...

Wakefield,West Yorkshire
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Pay for wifi in this day & age is poor, food was rubbish & some parts (nan bread) inedible. I would expect much more from minimum £150 per riom. Some of the staff were really happy and pleasant. Great location but I would expect more

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 744richm
crownspahotel, General Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review

May I first of all say thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am always disappointed when a customer isn’t happy with any part of the service received at the Crown. I do hope that you brought your issues with the food to the attention of the restaurant manager who I know would have done all...

Retford
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Very friendly staff ,good service, & food very good! Comfortable rooms the bathrooms are good and roomy all iin a very relaxed atmosphere.would recommend it to anyone. Lifts to all floors and the bed's massive and very comfortable

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 603grahami
crownspahotel, Assistant Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review

May I first thank you for leaving us a lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you received good service. I certainly hope you would return to stay in the future and may I suggest booking direct with the hotel for this. We all look forward to seeing you again! Kind regards, Hayley...

Nottinghamshire
Reviewed 6 August 2016

It's not worth the cost no different to a Premier Inn. Parking has to be pre booked Food expensive For cost of room breakfast should be included Rooms nothing special Refreshments are basic not even a biscuit

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank T7029PAsarahw
crownspahotel, General Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review

May I first of all say thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am always disappointed when a customer isn’t happy with any part of the service received at the Crown. I would always recommend booking direct for best prices which include breakfast and offer our advantages packages. Once again thank you for your valued feedback,...

594 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (584)
Viewed
View from Room (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (117)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (256)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.8 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
765 reviews
5.0 km away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,770 reviews
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
590 reviews
0.5 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,238 reviews
0.4 km away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: $105 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crown Spa Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Crown Spa Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea front worth the extra, but no a/c means leaving the window open opposite a busy set of steps down to the seafront.”
 of 5 bubbles mikemP4561OK, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Away from aircon machines or vents/lifts”
 of 5 bubbles janmC2547DU, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“we had a superb room on floor 5 overlooking the sea,fantastic views”
 of 5 bubbles Q2359THjohnw, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sea view rooms are best they are on quiet road”
 of 5 bubbles 188andya, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for sea view”
 of 5 bubbles KelsieB_13, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5