We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Hotel Scarborough

PricelineUSD 75*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 143*
USD 75*
Great Deal
USD 76*
USD 76*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Hotel Scarborough
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,332 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,327: English reviews
yorkshire
Reviewed 26 July 2015

After reading reviews almost cancelled but so pleased I didn't. We enjoyed our stay, good size, clean rooms, comfy beds, friendly staff, extra towels, sea view and good position. The swimming pool is really good , children loved it. Yes, it will always need money spending on the place, it's an old building and has seen better days but work...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank natalieYorkshire
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2015

I stayed overnight with friends and we had a very enjoyable stay. The staff were friendly and helpful, our room was good with very comfortable beds. We just ate breakfast in the hotel which was very good; there is an extensive choice of good food to suit all. The cooked breakfast was delicious and even the plates were piping hot....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Marilyn P
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon Powell

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2015

Our party booked 4 rooms all had been refurbed and were very nice . Spacious and all you need ! Hot water took a time to run through and shower was weak ! Great breakfast buffet ! excellent choice and quality. They needed at least to extra staff as very busy and uncleared tables were stacking up most mornings. The...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Steve L
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2015

really enjoyed our stay here for the weekend, lovely room with sea view, comfy beds, plenty of extra bedding, and as i was a little chilly one night the staff brought me a heater. the entertainment in the hotel at night was very good, the staff lovely, the only thing that let it down was the food.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Carol R
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Far too expensive for its run down and tatty grandure. Excellent location, but no parking. Grand Victorian entrance and stairway, and function rooms. But serious money needs to be spent on the buildings fabric and decoration. Our room had its sea view, but a bed which sloped in the wrong direction. Loose floor boards under the carpet. A third single...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Richard S
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for your time in posting your comments, we welcome both positive and constructive feedback to help us improve and monitor our standards. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

On arrival hotel seemed perfectly fine in the entrance.. However Walking through corridors with carpets not properly fitted so they are easy to trip over, In the room there were cracks in ceiling and whole room was on a slant (so much so that the wardrobe had to have pieces of wood under the front legs which were unstable) light...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Sophie K
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2015

This hotel offers a contrast between Regency style (see the stair case and Atrium) and contemporary design. Staff work hard and are pleasant and thoughtful. Our room was the best we have had in Scarborough without paying five star prices. Thoroughly enjoyed our weekend and do not hesitate to recommend this hotel

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank BobC786
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2015

my husband booked 3 nights away we had half a sea view half a scaffolding view.The windows are old and with it being a listed building we were told cannot have double glazing.We were kept awake until 3 am with nighclub few yards up the street,teenagers shouting n smashing bottles outside,never heard pigeons screech like it before! it was as...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Karen B
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights for a romantic getaway, for me the Customer Service was just not on point at all. Unfortunately It was like getting blood from a stone from one girl on the reception, not very receptive, gave the bare minimum. The Hotel itself is lovely, in a fantastic location although I cannot stress enough how disappointing the service...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jack M
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Renfrew, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2015

This hotel was centrally located But parking was a nightmare On arrival I was met with a couldnt care less attitude from reception Not at all helpful Checked in and given a key We had upgraded to a sea view room which was very nice spotlessly clean comfy big beds and everything you needed Bathroom large and spacious and again...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 521frances
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer. Kind regards, Simon Powell

894 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (883)
Viewed
View from Room (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (188)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (143)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
1:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (420)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.5 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,757 reviews
1.1 km away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
1.4 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
1.1 km away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,186 reviews
0.1 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: $95 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Hotel Scarborough staff and other travellers.
59 questions
Ask a question
Carlisle, United Kingdom
9 days ago

See all questions (59)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Hotel Scarborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get another hotel is the best advice i can give.”
Gerry631, 28 May 2017 | Read review
“some nice rooms on the 1st floor up the ornate staircase -penthouse suites 501 and 502”
patriciahR9951SW, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“If you do stay, try and insist on a room with window. There are too many without!”
LeeT319, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Window rooms”
charles165, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Near the lift if you dont like walking to far to your room”
Sylviabrooks, 19 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
USD 75* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 76
Hotwire.comUSD 76
AMOMAUSD 143
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates