We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

470 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Showing 468: English reviews
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights was really nice break ,fantastic hosts which always makes a difference .could not fault anything from room to breakfast and location.If your going to Scarborough you can't go wrong here.will 100% return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taxi4paul
Trev_Allison, Owner at Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thanks very much Paul for your lovely review. Don't leave it too long before you return.

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel was a very happy place to stay. Very clean. Plenty of options for breakfast. A really pleasent couple that run the place. I was hoping that we did not get the attic room. But we did. And it turned out to be a very nice spacious room. We enjoyed the whole experience of this little hotel and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynnleemoor
Trev_Allison, Owner at Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. Hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 5 July 2016

We stayed here for one night after visiting the cricket. The location is just up a flight of stairs off the main road that leads you down to the seafront, perfect really. Close to the shops, bars and restaurants too. A very warm and personal welcome from the owners who escorted us up to a nice clean room with all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steven G
Trev_Allison, Owner at Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you Steven for your lovely review. See you again next year.

Egham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2016

For the two nights we were in Scarborough the Palace Hill Hotel was a very nice place to stay – this charming, period property is up a short flight of steps from street level, ideally located minutes away from the seafront, the main shopping high street in the opposite direction, and free (permit) parking nearby. The rooms were cosy, contemporary...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JamesA06569
Trev_Allison, Owner at Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. Hope to see you again soon.

Hull, East Yorkshire
Reviewed 1 July 2016

This B&B is run by a welcoming and friendly ccouple. The attic room was quite adequate and very clean with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was also spotlessly clean. We enjoyed our breakfast - well cooked and tasty. I found the outside steps a bit difficult but all in all an enjoyable .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anotherone11
Trev_Allison, Owner at Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. Sorry that you had a problem with the steps but there is a passage at the end of our terrace that leads to the street behind the hotel with no steps at all. I wish I'd have known that you were struggling. Hope to see you again soon.

Keighley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2016

Stayed overnight as we didn't want a long drive home after seeing Guy Garvey at Dalby Forest, so it was really only a place to sleep. We couldn't have been made more welcome by Trevor. The room was clean, comfortable and well presented. We felt we had very good value for money. We didn't have an appetite for breakfast but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank inichol
Trev_Allison, Owner at Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us and giving us the lovely comments.

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night very pleasant stay. Good breakfast, helpful owners. As it says on the tin the accommodation is on a hill but it's in Scarborough so it's the norm. Our room was a twin No 7 although we were given at a discount, it's was small with low ceilings, but comfy and clean. Parking is not the best in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CrocketUk
Trev_Allison, Owner at Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thanks for all the nice comments. We have 2 rooms on the second floor with partially sloping ceilings and are priced accordingly {pictures on our website}. Regarding the parking we buy parking permits and give them to our guests to save them £6 per day in car park charges. There are 42 streets that you can park on and the...

Royston
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and from the minute we arrived we were made t feel welcome, we stayed in room 9 which was a family room on the top floor it had a double and a single bed and was nicely decorated with nice little touches like shower gel and soap and ear plugs ( which you Will Need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
Trev_Allison, Owner at Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. Hope to see you again soon. Ps I hope you mean 40 meters from the sea front and not 40 minutes Ha.

Nottingham
Reviewed 18 June 2016

We chose Palace Hill Hotel for its location - nearest to the sea front. We were not disappointed, except it is up poorly maintained steps. The welcome was first class - even though we were early the room was ready. A small back room over the kitchen - a bit hot and lacking natural light. A room really well decorated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RogInNottm
Trev_Allison, Owner at Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Hard to make a response. Excellent comments but just over half marks even though you had everything that you wanted and told us that everything was superb. The steps outside belong to the council .Ps every time we have had fresh tomatoes our guests haven't eaten them. We are ranking at number 8 out of 190 b&bs because of previous...

Bingley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2016

As soon as we arrived, we were greeted by the owner who was very pleasant and showed us to our room. He explained all the information we would need throughout our stay. Great family friendly atmosphere and feels like home from home. Breakfast was great in the morning and check out simple and easy. We will be back again and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sambairstow27
Trev_Allison, Owner at Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. Hope to see you again soon.

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.8 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,644 reviews
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.6 km away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
606 reviews
0.7 km away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 182 in Scarborough
377 reviews
1.3 km away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#16 of 182 in Scarborough
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Only 2 minutes from the beach and 5 minutes from the town centre. All en-suite, tea tray, freeview TV. Close to all amenities i.e., shops, fishing cafes, bars, futurist theatre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough

Address: Eastborough, Scarborough YO11 1NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: $97 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to avoid Room 1 (as soon as you walk in on the right hand side)”
MissArtist0001, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Any room is great! As this is a guest house built out of a old building the top floor rooms are small with the roof”
brendanh583, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good”
_lorrainebraddock, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had the front room, ground floor, never heard a thing and slept like a log!”
benicat, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 5 overlooks the street; there was very little noise but could be a problem if you are a light sleeper (however ear plugs are supplied)”
L6656OBandrewd, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5