We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Ivy House Scarborough

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Ivy House Scarborough
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 103: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked into the Ivy House for our 1st wedding anniversary. It was a bitterly cold day and the room a feature room (No5) was lovely, warm, cosy and well equipped. We found the staff very helpfull and friendly and we were greeted with smiles the following morning at breakfast. There was plenty of choice on the menu and we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda D
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2016

This place needs both some tlc, one of my bedroom window had panes covered in plastic that had clearly been there for some time, but the staff need some customer care training. The bedrooms are upstairs above a public restaurant and separated by a locked door at night, no problem there is easy access to a back stair. However when... More 

Helpful?
Thank MaryMoo_ofWakefield
Gary S, Owner at The Ivy House Scarborough, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, I am sorry that you found your stay unwelcoming. I was there at 8.30 everyday to make sure your breakfast was going to be ready on time, however in light of your feedback i will ensure that all staff start their morning shift at 8.30 as well to make sure that everything is ready for guests coming down.... More 

westmidlansds
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Drop in here for lunch sat outside and had the days special beef and ouion bap with real chips priced at £7.00 bit pricey but was really good and service was good and the sun was shinning we sat for a bit after we finished watching the world go by

Helpful?
Thank 3Westmidlansds
Gary S, Owner at The Ivy House Scarborough, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, So why only 4 if it was really good? There was always the option NOT to buy it? surely you can't knock us on price when you were prepared to pay it AND it was really good??? Thanks for your feedback. Kind Regards Gary Stamper More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Very last minute decision to stay over in Beautiful sunny Scarborough.. Stayed at Ivy house very accommodating staff let out a room just as they were ready to close for the day . Lovely quaint little place with unspoilt beautiful views of the sea & harbour, room was nice but unfortunately TV , bedside lamp not working ..nice basic breakfast.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deborah Jane B
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

We booked for an anniversary treat and thought it looked very charming. Great location with beautiful harbour views. Room an excellent size...but I'm so sorry to say it's dirty! The beautiful free standing bath was covered in short and curlies, the toilet stained, basin tap faces the wrong direction, bed linen dubious! Staff were all very kind girls run off... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank rachelp1979
GazzyStampede, Owner at The Ivy House Scarborough, responded to this review

Hi there, we have taken over this run down hotel within the last month. We are sorry that you have found it not to your liking. But we are doing everything we can to turn this unloved business around. We are surprised that you found breakfast "rank" as we have had such positive reviews since we took over and use... More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2016

I would recommend this hotel its on the front , staff are wonderful its clean ! comfortable , prices are good , breakfast is beautiful I have visited this hotel twice with my son and family , its very accommodating and the staff are very welcoming well positioned and a sea view

Helpful?
Thank MARIE F
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Came here today with my sister for a light bite and cold refreshment while we planned how best to avoid the rain! I had a beautifully presented Chicken Pate and bruchetta with chutney, very tasty indeed. My sister got a Tuna and Cucumber in ciabatta, she said it was lovely and the bread was perfect. We then had lemon meringue... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kati R
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Just been to The Ivy House for afternoon tea what a treat, service was ist class the meal was well presented with a good choice of sandwiches, cakes and hot scone with clotted cream and jam would thoroughly recommend it dont walk by pop in you wont be disappointed

Helpful?
Thank mazzak45
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We stayed in Room 1 at the top. It had a beautiful view of the harbour and was still as we remembered it from a previous stay under the old management. Its a very nice room, tastefully decorated, with an en suite shower/wc. The staff were very nice and helpful. The only problem with the room is there are a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy C
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

We chose the Ivy House because of its location. It's a perfect base. We brought my elderly Father and although we had concerns over the two sets of stairs, he managed fine. The sea views are stunning. The rooms are beautifully light and airy and on arrival we were greeted by lovely friendly staff. We understand that the Ivy House... More 

Helpful?
Thank Freddy W

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.2 km away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#22 of 28 in Scarborough
18 reviews
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
1.5 km away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#23 of 28 in Scarborough
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#13 of 35 in Scarborough
81 reviews
0.6 km away
Miricia
Miricia
#37 of 185 in Scarborough
206 reviews
0.8 km away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#7 of 185 in Scarborough
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The Ivy House Scarborough

Address: 49 Sandside, Scarborough YO11 1PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Price Range: $102 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ivy House Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Ivy House Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ivy House Scarborough Hotel Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ivy House Scarborough staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Leeds, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Ivy House Scarborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“love this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles marief593, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The Jack Sparrow Room has great views but two steep flights of stairs to get up there!”
 of 5 bubbles brianpK446GY, 23 May 2016 | Read review
“The top floor rooms have the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles andycZ5018XL, 14 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Ask for top floor rooms overlooking the sea front”
 of 5 bubbles 263stephenf, 20 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Not good for people who struggle with stairs or light sleepers due to thin windows.”
 of 5 bubbles CherryAcid, 8 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay