We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Norbreck Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Bay Norbreck Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay Norbreck Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 362: English reviews
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The dinner the first evening was awful, but subsequent meals were fine. The room was adequate and clean, and the bathroom with shower in bath was very good. We paid extra for room with a sea view, which was expensive after seeing the size of room and window. The evening entertainment was good, and overall the break was fun and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank johnno186284
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, It’s good to see you had an enjoyable break overall. Sorry you didn’t enjoy your first meal with us and found the charge for the sea view expensive. Our entertainments team is great and they really work hard to give our guests the best time they can as do the...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Went with my wife, daughter and Granddaughter on a Shearing's 4 day break. Very good journey with an excellent driver called Paul. Hotel impressive with position on the cliff by the castle. Very pleasant welcome and well informed before we left the coach. All the staff were delightful with a first rate manager. Lovely dining room with views over North...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank GEOFFREY G
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Geoffrey G thank you for taking the time to write your review, I’m glad you enjoyed your weekend break with us. We are in the process of updating our bedrooms and have 8 more planned for later this year. It’s great to read you appreciated myself and the other staff and that you enjoyed your food and entertainment as...

Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

second stay at this hotel room adequate but no shower . just a plastic tap attachment. food was good staff friendly. love the location and view from the room. would stay again. great value. we were able to park in hotel car park for a small fee

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travelhaze
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Travelhaze it’s nice to see you came back to visit we do have 2 rooms at the hotel which have yet to have showers installed and I am sorry if this detracted from the enjoyment of your break. Please mention this on booking your next visit and we can avoid putting you in one of these...

Reviewed 4 April 2014

after visiting this hotel last week I can firstly say i was impressed how clean it was .Also the staff was very helpful and nothing was to much trouble for them. The things I did not like was the food in my opinion it was nursing home quality and not to the standard of a hotel of this size ,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John B
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John B thank you for your recent review of the Norbreck Hotel we are pleased that you found our hotel clean we always keep it up to the best standard possible, also our staff are a credit to the hotel and I am immensely proud of them. I will look into the comments you have made regarding the food...

grays essex
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Wonderful view of north beach .good entertainment .food adequate but dining room cramped .bedroom very cramped but had sea view would stay again in different bedroom.Shearings driver Roger very knowledgable and helpful.Went on optional trip to heartbeat land and tour of Whitby not worth the money considering Whitby was included on the itinery later in the day.Had fish&chips at the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gerrylynn
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Norbreck Gerrylynn the view is indeed stunning onto the North Bay and we do have a wonderful variety of entertainers. Roger is a great coach driver and is very knowledgeable of the area so his trips out are always definitely worth it. I am sorry to hear that you did not find the...

Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2014

George O Be aware you are charge per head for sea view, ie 1 person £14 2 people £28 3 people £42 still only one window rip off. Also the free drink if you drink only soft drink ie orange cordial and lemonade per pint 2 drinks pint of beers per pint 1drink. this is a rip off on those...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank George O
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks George O for your review I will certainly pass your comments regarding the sea view supplement and all inclusive drinks promotions onto the necessary departments as this is not something we control at the hotel. It is good to read that you enjoyed the food and the accommodation I am very lucky to have such excellent staff and they...

Lowestoft
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Have just returned from a 5 day break with 2 friends that we booked with Shearings, when we pulled up outside our first impressions were not very good, we had been travelling for 11 hours on the coach so felt a bit dissapointed, but on entering it had a lovely friendly feel and our room we had a twin room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Eileen-Rich
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Eileen-Rich thanks for taking the time to write your review of the Norbreck we are pleased that you enjoyed the food and also the entertainment. The drinks vouchers that we provide really make the holiday for a lot of our guests and it’s good to read that you feel the same. We are consistently working to refurbish the hotel...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2014

we had a lovely Weekend break, everyone was friendly and helpful, the food was good and entertainment each evening was excellent, we had a seaview room which was very comfortable, the parking system is very good, you get a ticket to park on the road outside for one pound 60p and it lasts for you stay ( 4 Days in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shirleyh187069
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback Shirley it’s great to read we have another happy customer. Our staff are all great and do go out of their way to make our guests happy. The on street parking is good value and don’t forget we have 6 spaces at the hotel which can be booked when you...

Liversedge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2014

From the moment we arrived the staff at reception couldn't do enough for us and other holidaymakers. Again plenty of choice of food and each meal was very good. Twin room over looking South Bay watching surfers every morning! Very lucky with the weather and walked from South to North bay under a blue sky and enjoyed every minute.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jenny528759
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jenny thanks for your review of The Norbreck Hotel it was lovely to read how you enjoyed the weekend. The views and location of the Hotel are perfect for walkers and we have been very luck with the weather recently although I don’t know how those surfers don’t freeze in that sea!. We hope to see you at The...

Stoke-on-Trent
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Just stayed at this hotel with shearings. I had read other reviews and was a little wary. Need not have worried. I am a singke traveller and had a cosy room looking over south bay. The facillities were good and bed very comfy after all those hills. The walks into the town are steep but the local taxis reasonable. The...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Helen C
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Helen. Thanks for taking the time to write your review for us, it is really nice to hear you had a good time. As you mentioned our position does offer some amazing views of both bays and our rooms have a great cosy feel to them. The Sea Life Centre does offer a great time out for adults and...

155 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (150)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.2 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#7 of 28 in Scarborough
4,139 reviews
1.6 km away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
375 reviews
1.3 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.7 km away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
4.6 km away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Standing on the headland, near Scarborough's ancient castle ruins, the Norbreck is the only hotel in town which looks out over both the North and South Bays, with breathtaking panoramic sea view. From this peaceful location you can rest in the convivial atmosphere of the bar lounge or in the comfort of the restaurant and savour the scenic sights of golden sands and ocean waters. In the hub of the town itself, lying just ten minutes' away, there is an array of shops and holiday attractions. While a day trip takes you to York or to see the moors, to test your nerves at Flamingo Land or to revisit 'Brideshead' at Castle Howard. There's such a lot to see and do in the area! The hotel does not have a car park. However street parking is available nearby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Norbreck Hotel

Address: Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Price Range: $51 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Norbreck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Norbreck Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Norbreck Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Most rooms have a sea view and has been refurbished ,I saw some friends stayed in and all good 216 had poor water pressure in shower”
 of 5 bubbles usatmattlyn, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure the room is not over the ballroom or disco! Friends were kept awake until 3am.”
 of 5 bubbles A8557HZpatriciah, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We paid £21 each extra for a sea view. Well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles Chrismar50, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“look at a few rooms”
 of 5 bubbles peterthfc, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 202 on the second floor, was very quite and over looks the bay”
 of 5 bubbles margaretbuck, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay