We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay Norbreck Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Bay Norbreck Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

386 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 386: English reviews
Start your review of Bay Norbreck Hotel
 Click to rate
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I, along with my Mum and her friend, stayed here from Monday to Friday with Shearings. The room we had was spacious apart from the fire exit being in the corner so if a fire occurred then people would have to come into our room and out the fire door. The hotel itself was outdated but rather...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marq H
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for comments regarding your recent stay. I am sorry the food was not up to standard during your break and assure you this is being addressed. It is nice to read you enjoyed the service from our staff and the entertainment which I will pass onto the individuals you mentioned personally.

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was ok - management very friendly - waiters/waitresses need to be more friendly and smile more. The food was awful. The breakfast was luke warm - the heating underneath must have been lit as we walked in the room. The evening meal was awful - nothing looked fresh especially the veg and the chips were soggy. The meals...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 723cmc
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The comments you have made will help us improve our standards and have been passed onto the kitchen and restaurant teams. I appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The food was mostly dreadful. I have never had fish and chips with pea purée served with new pots parsnips cauliflower and the worst excuse for Chips I have ever seen. There were 12 of them for 2 of us and they were completely inedible. Any chef worth the title would never send them out to a customer so I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ljmjlittle
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to learn that the food quality on your holiday was not satisfactory and you had the complaints you have made. Our Chefs welcome all feedback and we use this to improve our procedures and standards. Thank you for bringing your comments to my attention.

Watford
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have just come back from a 5 day Shearing's break here, and the best thing about this hotel is the staff, they couldn't be more friendly or helpful, from reception, bar and housekeeping. BUT, the hotel is so very tired and run down, and definitely is in dire need of some TLC! I had a single room (218) which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NanWatford
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

It is good to see you enjoyed the double aspect windows in 218, it is a very popular room for this reason. The staff do make the holiday for a lot of our guests, from he drivers to the hotel itself and it is lovely to see you found this on your visit. I hope the room condition does not...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned home after 5 day break at the Norbreck with Shearings. A short walk from the town centre but near the castle and Anne Bronte's grave and with fantastic views. Hotel an old building with maze of stairs to get to your rooms but bedrooms clean and have everything you need including tea/coffee. Food lovely and well presented and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angela123_10
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and review of the area. I agree the place looks amazing when the sun shines! I hope you return.

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from a weekend stay at this hotel. We regularly use Shearings hotels on a self drive basis and this one rates as one of the best. Room was facing the sea, large enough and clean with shower and drink making facilities. Dining area looks out to sea and food adequate especially the self serve breakfasts which we like....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Robert. I have just replied to the last reviewer saying what a great weekend we had and with great guests, so it is nice to read of someone else who felt the same. Myself and the team hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Tilbury, Essex
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I'm on my way home to Essex right now, very happy! The Norbreck is located in a wonderful place, right next to Scarborough Castle, overlooking both the north and south bays. You couldn't ask for a better place to stay. And the view!!! My room was very clean, comfortable and toasty warm (I slept like a log all 3 nights,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HonestJimbo
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you James for your lovely comments. Well done for being able to write your review whilst travelling, I do hope you weren't driving! It was a great weekend last week and we had lots of great guests to enjoy it with. I look forward to seeing you again in the summer.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

hi everyone been out of the loop for a while, the head girl has not been very well but fingers crossed she/s on the mend, so i took her for a long weekend to the norbreck hotel in scarborough, we always thought that the hotel was warm and comfortable, and the veiws are great from the hotel ,,the reception has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john f
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Hi John, I hope the 'grand old lady' you refer to is the hotel and not myself........:-) It was good to see you again and it's nice to read you liked the improvements we have made in the décor and facilities. Let's hope the weather is good for you on your next visit.

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a lovely holiday at this hotel ,the entertainment and staff excellent but the food awful,always cold and my meal was burnt, chefs special never available unless you were first in the restaurant when it first opened. Had to complain to our waiter about the cold food. We were a party of six people . Other people were returning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments Mary. I'm sorry to read you were let down by our food on this visit, this has been passed to our Chef so we can make changes to our procedures.

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Returned home on Friday having stayed at the Norbreck as part of the Shearing five day break. All the staff were extremely warm, friendly and helpful, from John the bartender to Heather the waitress and also the cleaners we saw. Although I feel more staff could be employed, as some of the current ones appeared to work alone and run...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cookiejoe26
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for all of your comments Cookiejoe. We will use your feedback to improve our service. It is really nice to read the mentions of some of the staff members and I will make sure they get to read your review. I hope you visit Scarborough again soon.

157 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (152)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.6 km away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
421 reviews
1.2 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,637 reviews
1.3 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,307 reviews
0.7 km away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Standing on the headland, near Scarborough's ancient castle ruins, the Norbreck is the only hotel in town which looks out over both the North and South Bays, with breathtaking panoramic sea view. From this peaceful location you can rest in the convivial atmosphere of the bar lounge or in the comfort of the restaurant and savour the scenic sights of golden sands and ocean waters. In the hub of the town itself, lying just ten minutes' away, there is an array of shops and holiday attractions. While a day trip takes you to York or to see the moors, to test your nerves at Flamingo Land or to revisit 'Brideshead' at Castle Howard. There's such a lot to see and do in the area! The hotel does not have a car park. However street parking is available nearby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Norbreck Hotel

Address: Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: $112 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Norbreck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Norbreck Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Norbreck Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We paid extra for a sea view but I think nearly all the rooms had a sea view so don't waste your money”
723cmc, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother if you want to eat”
ljmjlittle, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Floor 3 for views of bay.”
S628PHrobertg, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“all the rooms have sea veiws but if you pay the bit extra for a sea veiw you will get a bigger room”
johnf858, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All views fine”
marycR6493QS, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5