We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

727 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
See the most recent reviews
Showing 723: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We took advantage of the valentines spa package then decided to add on a nights stay with £25 each dinner allowance. The spa staff were helpful and the lady on the desk was excellent welcoming us and showing us the spa facilities. The spa itself and facilities were wonderful. A lovely heated pool, hydrotherapy pool, steam room and sauna with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura12911
Warwickshire, UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great service, staff see a problem as their responsibility. Room amenities are all you want - with pleasant surprises. Innovative breakfast menu compared to most hotels I have experienced and great evening menu. Recent refurb results in airy uplifting marine theme throughout hotel. Though we visited in Feb we envied the well thought out sunbathing areas for hot summer days....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikep100
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on trip advisor and more importantly thank you for your wonderful feedback and five star rating. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you were well looked after. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit perhaps later...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have been visiting Sidmouth for many many years and know it well. The town has been crying out for somewhere like this that is modern and chic. I was excited that we could now eat and drink locally and visited to check it out for a light lunch. First impressions were great, although my elderly aunt noticed a chest...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Judy F
Exeter
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sunday lunch. Perfect meal, good service and modern well furnished surroundings with lovely views over the town and sea. A pleasure to be here and everyone makes you feel very welcome and cared for. Will be back again soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James G
OSM
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Family Sunday lunch in a lovely setting on sea front with great view and lovely pianist. Good was good and enjoyable. Waiters were pleasant and polite Downside- both for mains and dessert we were told only when ready to order that certain meals were sold out. Also the service of the meal was very slow taking 2 1/2 hours We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Douglas F
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived for afternoon tea. Greatest by a loud vacuum and operated and an over powering smell of perfumed spray. Greeted in the restaurant by two blank faces. Took a seat in the window and when approached, for we thought our order, it was actually to say that the table was only for afternoon tea !!! Yes we said...So he walked...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jacqueline B
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we booked a sunday night deal to include a 50 pound spend on dinner. we went for the courtyard rooms recently refurbished and other than overlooking car park the rooms were very good spotless with complimentary gin sherry and water a nice touch. the staff were very attentive we decided to go for the three course early bird dinner (...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holidajunkie
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on trip advisor and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your Sunday night getaway and found the quality of the rooms to be of a high standard. Lovely to hear that you found the food to be of excellent quality and that you were well looked after by...

Alcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a nice location and we had been looking forward to our early evening cocktails having been recommended the hotel. However we were disappointed having felt as though our presence was an inconvenience. The three staff were unwelcoming and rather surly and considering they were not busy the bar area was rather messy with a number of tables left with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 221vikkik
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Dear 221Vikki I am surprised and sorry to read of your experience on Saturday whilst joining us for early evening cocktails and I hope that you can contact me directly on ken.cumming@harbourhotels.co.uk, so that I can discuss and address your comments with you directly. Kind regards and thank you Ken Cumming General Manager

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was beautiful,food was really lovely but what made out evening was the staff who were so polite and friendly who couldn't do enough for you. Will be back soon. As for the pool area,it was perfect lovely beds to lie on and fruit drinks to feel refreshed with. Breakfast was delicious on very hot plates that as always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on trip advisor after your recent stay with us and i am delighted with the five star rating you have given us. I am glad that you found your room and the food to be of a high standard and that you were well looked after by the staff. I...

Oxford
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Only did one night here but used most of the facilities, the hotel has just been renovated and everything was beautifully done, really tasteful and some lovely touches. The pool area was very nice and I had pre-breakfast swim and had the pool to myself. They have a decanter of both sherry and gin in your room which is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OXFi99
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment on trip advisor after you recent visit and I am glad to hear that you had a lovely stay with us apart from a few issues with the service in the restaurant. We will certainly review your comments with the team and look to improving all the time. We look...

200 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (175)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
765 reviews
0.2 km away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
449 reviews
0.4 km away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.6 km away
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
0.4 km away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel boasts a prime position on the East Devon coast with spectacular views over Lyme Bay and the Jurassic Coastline. An abundance of coastal walks are right on the hotel's doorstep including the unique Jurassic Coast paths as well as numerous beach strolls and Sidmouth's charming boutique shops and art galleries. The hotel features 60 bedrooms, many with beautiful sea views. The interconnecting new Courtyard bedrooms are perfect for families. All rooms feature ensuite bathrooms, tea and coffee making facilities and luxury toiletries. Relax in the hotel's new luxury Harbour Spa, which is home to five treatment rooms, fitness suite, indoor pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna and steam room. Dine in the Upper Deck Restaurant with floor to ceiling glass so you can take in the panoramic coastal views, leading out onto a new terrace perfect for alfresco dining. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff

Address: Manor Road, Sidmouth EX10 8RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Price Range: $170 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westcliff Hotel Sidmouth
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Redditch, United Kingdom
6 months ago
England
South Molton, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view rooms”
 of 5 bubbles beatricewhitemore, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 18 was great”
 of 5 bubbles EleanorS356, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“As above avoid the "courtyard" rooms unless you have no choice, then do not take rooms 106/107/108 or 109.....”
 of 5 bubbles Algoz66, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Had a Courtyard room excellent. Sister had room in main hotel equally nice!”
 of 5 bubbles franb941, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Recently added Courtyard rooms have more living space than main hotel bldg”
 of 5 bubbles mikep100, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5