We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Groveside Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Groveside Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Groveside Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 222: English reviews
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Having stayed at the Groveside this weekend with eight other family members, I am pleased to say that we were made very welcome by Alan and Lynn. They accommodated us all with ease and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were excellent and met all our requirements. They presented us with an excellent breakfast, with a good choice and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elizabeth B
mollieminkin, Owner at The Groveside Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your recommendation and it was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us. We hope you will find the time to return in the not to distant future Kind regards Lin and Alan

Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

stayed here a while ago and it was such a wonderful stay the place was lovely and clean the food was amazing the owners were very friendly and so close to the beach its in a wonderful location and i would recommend the groveside without hesitation

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ghost240
mollieminkin, Owner at The Groveside Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your recommendation and are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. we are so fortunate to have such lovely guests kind regards Lin and Alan

Gloucestershire
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Groveside, the location is ideal, rooms very comfortable and clean. Plenty of extra coffee, tea and milk available in the fridge on the landing a simple but great idea. The breakfast was amazing plenty of fresh fruit salad , cereal and the cooked breakfast was excellent and very nicely presented. Excellent value for money...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JEMGloucestershire
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

I've been travelling to guest houses for years however I have never come across such an incredibly rude and arrogant proprietor as a guy called alan. he was both pushy rude to other guests and even went as far as telling me that if customers don't like it then sod them!!! the rooms were okish however breakfast time was like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank russell f
mollieminkin, Owner at The Groveside Guest House, responded to this review

I am so sorry you were unhappy, and left BEFORE breakfast so your comments amaze us. However it needs to be pointed out that we were shocked also to find you smoking in your bedroom at 11pm at night. The smell causing other guests to complain who arrived in the room next to yours. It took us three days to...

Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed at The Groveside Guesthouse earlier on this month and we can't wait to return. We have already booked in again as we enjoyed ourselves so much. The rooms are spotlessly clean and there was nothing to fault. The beds were comfy and our room was lovely. Lin and Alan are wonderful hosts and nothing is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nick T
mollieminkin, Owner at The Groveside Guest House, responded to this review

What a wonderful review and thank you for taking the time and trouble to write one. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and would welcome back such a lovely couple anytime kind regards Lin and Alan

East Budleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

My partner and I recently stayed at The Groveside in Sidmouth and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Nothing was too much for the lovely hosts, Lin and Alan, and everything met our expectations! Our room was on the top floor with lovely views of The Byes, it was spotlessly clean and the beds were so comfortable. The Groveside is only...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LucyQ444
mollieminkin, Owner at The Groveside Guest House, responded to this review

Such a lovely review and thank you for being such perfect guests.You left your rooms looking immaculate every day!!! It is a pleasure to have guests who really appreciate the hard work we put in to making each and every one of our guests as comfortable as possible. Hope to see you return very soon Kind regard Lin and Alan

A TripAdvisor Member
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely guest house. The hosts Lin and Alan were excellent, Very friendly and helpful, Couldn't do enough for us. The breakfast was fantastic and the presentation simply amazing. I asked for scrambled eggs with Kippers, Lin had not had a request for this before, however when it arrived it was excellent in presentation and taste. Would recommend a stay!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
mollieminkin, Owner at The Groveside Guest House, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again in the not too distant future. Thank you for taking the time to write your review Kind regards Lin and Alan

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We have spent a great week in Sidmouth at the Groveside Guest House. Very well situated, just a very short walk to all shops, amenities and the sea, the guest house is beautifully decorated and comfortable, with all the little touches which make you feel welcome. The breakfasts are to die for, creatively presented and guests can choose from a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacky C
mollieminkin, Owner at The Groveside Guest House, responded to this review

Hi jacky and thank you for your lovely review, we always look forward to you staying with us and catching up on the year past. Stay good both of you and look forward to seeing you next August best wishes Lin andAlan

united kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Just returned from a three day break at Groveside Guest House. We had a wonderful stay. Hosts extremely welcoming nothing was too much trouble. Great choice of breakfasts very well presented. Room was spotless, good size. Would recommend this guest house highly. Hopefully will be back for another visit. Just a 10 minute walk from the seafront.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mia
mollieminkin, Owner at The Groveside Guest House, responded to this review

We hope you will be back soon too. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and t6hank you for your recommendation best wishes Lin and Alan

Tamworth
Reviewed 22 July 2016

We have just returned from a lovely few days at this excellent guest house. Room was spotless and the breakfast was superb. Location ,only ten minutes walk from the beach and town centre was great and so was the on site parking. Lin and Alan made you feel really relaxed and nothing was too much trouble even though they were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PaulineWTamworth
mollieminkin, Owner at The Groveside Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, hopefully we will see you again next year kind regards Lin and Alan

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.9 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
778 reviews
0.6 km away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
388 reviews
1.0 km away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
412 reviews
0.2 km away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#8 of 13 in Sidmouth
137 reviews
0.8 km away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
AA rated 4 Gold Star. The Groveside, a charming Edwardian Guest house, provides quality bed and breakfast accommodation within a few minutes level walk from the Regency town centre of Sidmouth and the intriguing views of the Jurassic coastline. A Guest house with a Contemporary charm etched with a traditional twist, the Groveside is all about comfort and flair combining attention to detail with a professional service; Alan and Lin are very proud of the restful, friendly atmosphere; Guests have access to their rooms at all times and we offer a comfortable elegant lounge in which to relax, peruse the morning paper, chat with friends, read a book or even have a little nod in front of the warming fire after a days activity exploring the wonderful coastline of Sidmouth, Devon. Our modern and spacious dining room is the setting for a leisurely traditional breakfast and the recently introduced soup and sandwich suppers. All our food is bought locally and combines the promise of organic, fair trade and fresh ingredients. Our breakfast are there to set you up for the day and we cater for most dietary needs including vegetarian/vegan, dairy free and non wheat. Our aim at the Groveside is to make your stay with us as comfortable and relaxing as possible. Last year saw the introduction of our guest garden and a BBQ is available for you to use for you and your friends. This year we refurbished our single room and upgraded other rooms with beds and linen. We have also introduced the ONO bag plus the use of dressing gowns and slippers. Ladies are given a personal welcome pack. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Groveside Guest House

Address: Vicarage Road, Sidmouth EX10 8UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Price Range: $116 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Groveside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Groveside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Groveside Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 6 has a king-size bed and a very powerful shower! It does overlook the main road but this wasn't a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles 479hullab, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room three was very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles GatewayHampshire, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I was in roof 17 and it was so nice.”
 of 5 bubbles marilyndyke2016, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent, but on a busy main road and can be noisy at the front but much quieter with closed windows”
 of 5 bubbles 752ElizabethB752, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“nice views at the back”
 of 5 bubbles X8813IJmichaelb, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5