We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Verve Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Verve Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 51: English reviews
Start your review of Verve Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Tried the new Thai restaurant, ive eaten at a few Thai restaurants and the food here was amazing, served very quickly and very well priced, friendly staff and really nice interior, would and will be recommending this place to everyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xdfgtyiinkpkkgtesfdg
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Wow stayed at the verve hotel on Shakespeare road .beautiful hotel very welcoming lovely receptionist who is really friendly and helpful .my room was a double bed very comfortable had a small table for my work , large enough closet for my cloths , shower room decent and very clean , also had a TV for downtime . Once I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom J
Milena H, Manager at Verve Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tom J, We are so thrilled to read your recent review of Verve Hotel and thank you so much for sharing it with us. It is a delight to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel and the service our team members were able to provide. We are so excited that you share our enthusiasm for our design, ambience...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed at the Verve hotel , very nice from the outside , decent parking space,friendly staff , very good food . The rooms are tidy , clean , very comfortable bed ,And they got 2 options English food along with a Thai restaurant. 1st day we tried the English breakfast was very good , evening had fish and chips was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank London114
Milena H, Manager at Verve Hotel, responded to this review

Dear London114, What a wonderful review of our hotel, Thank you so very much! It truly was our pleasure to welcome you as our guests and we simply cannot ask for a better feedback than this one. We are thrilled that you enjoyed dining in our newly opened Thai Restaurant and we re impressed by the professional service and delicious...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice little hotel with lots of character. Nice clean and comfortable rooms. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Check in and out was quick and easy. Hotel offers a very nice restaurant, all staff members were extremely helpful and polite. Would have no problems recommending this hotel to other visitors.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carlevans2017
Milena H, Manager at Verve Hotel, responded to this review

Dear carlevans2017, Thank you for your great review of Verve Hotel. We are so delighted to know that you had such a pleasant time with us. We wanted to create a place that is truly comfortable, that provides exceptional service and feels like home. Delighted to hear that all our team members were welcoming and helpful, and that you found...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Choose this place via groupon as both myself and my partner were travelling to a couple of zoo's around the area. The hotel is very easy to find with car parking at the front of the hotel, though I must advise you may get blocked in due to lack of space. However, this is quickly resolved by the hotel staff....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZaZa210684
Milena H, Manager at Verve Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ZaZa210684, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are so thrilled that you had such an enjoyable, and hopefully memorable, time staying with us. I am pleased that you had a delightful experience in our Jax Restaurant and enjoyed our food and breakfast. Your recommendation is highly appreciated and we...

Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for couples days and it was fantastic stay. Never had a single problem with anything really. Room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great and the hotel it self it's in very good location. We found everything's was reasonable and enjoyable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James N
Milena H, Manager at Verve Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James N, Thank you so very much for your excellent 5 star review following your stay with us! We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, appreciated the cleanliness and spaciousness of our rooms and our great location. We look forward to welcoming you back to Verve Hotel in the near future. Kindest regards, Milena Horrocks...

Reviewed 8 March 2017

We stayed at the hotel to celebrate an engagment with friends. Having stayed at the hotel while it was the Shakespeare I was expecting a huge improvment in the appearance of the hotel. It was significantly improved but he overall finish did not quite meet the standards of a hotel which is selling itself as boutique. In our room the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandra O
Milena H, Manager at Verve Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sandra O, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your stay with us! I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations for which I can express my sincere apologies. Please rest assured that we have taken the appropriate measures to address the issues in your room and our Maintenance team has since...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

After visiting Verve for our honeymoon weekend away after a lovely day in Barry, Wales. We just wanted to get in quickly, no fuss and relax after a very long day. We were welcomed with open arms by the receptionist who provided us with Procecco on arrival, red roses and table scatter as they knew it was our wedding the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ASandonato
Milena H, Manager at Verve Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ASandonato, Thank you so very much for taking the time to review your stay at Verve Hotel. It was such a pleasure to have the two of you staying with us to celebrate such a special occasion, and I am thrilled to read that you left with lovely memories. I very much hope that we shall have the opportunity...

St Helier, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

Did the job but I wouldn't say boutique. Use of black paint, neon light and wall message - yes, boutique - maybe not? Breakfast serve at 7am, staff arrived at 7:15am, ordered but still nothing (even coffee) at 7:40am - eventually left to get to meeting.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jose M
Milena H, Manager at Verve Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jose M, Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Verve Hotel. Naturally, I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your visit here and the decor was not to your liking. I am also saddened to read that you experienced some service lapses during your breakfast, for which I can only start by apologising...

Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here at the weekend for one night. We got the deal from groupon. The room was clean and comfortable and we were greeted by a bottle of prosecco (sadly nothing left for us to open it with). Bathroom was clean and plenty for us. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. The only problem we had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank j_stedders
Milena H, Manager at Verve Hotel, responded to this review

Dear j_stedders, Thank you sharing your recent experience at Verve Hotel, we truly appreciate the time you spared to do so. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel and our services very much to your liking. I certainly appreciate your comment regarding the heat in the rooms - I can assure you that...

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedford hotels
1.3 km away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
1,548 reviews
0.9 km away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
1.3 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
669 reviews
2.1 km away
Woodland Manor Hotel
Woodland Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
314 reviews
1.0 km away
d'Parys Hotel
d'Parys Hotel
#11 of 18 in Bedford
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Verve Hotel

Address: 27 Shakespeare Road, Bedford MK40 2DX, England (Formerly Shakespeare Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Price Range: $115 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Verve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shakespeare Hotel Bedford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Verve Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
8 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Verve Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Very pleasant hotel with nice restaurant and helpfull, friendly staff.”
carlevans2017, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Take earplugs.”
sandrao704, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to book rooms in the back of hotel away from the almost constant traffic noise, as its located on one of the busiest roads of Bedford”
georges1961, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“My single room was perfect for me (on a budget)”
DumDumBoy, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Apparently Room 23 is designed for disabled people it you can get to it with a wheelchair. Did not see it! No lift”
JanetG_11, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5