We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Brook Red Lion Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Brook Red Lion Hotel
Brook Red Lion Hotel
Panoramas (32)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

350 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 339: English reviews
essex girl
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited yesterday with my mum for lunch. Comfortable restaurant brimming with charm and interesting history. Convenient position right in the middle of Colchester High Street Food amazing value and really tasty. Staff friendly and attentive. Would definitely return soon and will be as have booked a ghost tour there !!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank scrivy
DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear scrivy Thank you for your wonderful review and rating of your lunch with us at The Brook Red Lion Hotel and Chef will be especially delighted to read your wonderful comments today. I do hope that you enjoy your next visit for the ghost tour and that one of our resident ghosts make an appearance ! Kind regards Denise...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I visited this hotel for afternoon tea on Christmas Eve with my boyfriends family and we had a lovely time. The staff were polite, helpful and welcoming as well as attentive to our needs and regularly checked to make sure everything was to our satisfaction throughout our visit as well as supplying us with more food and drink as and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rio F
DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rio F Thank you for your wonderful review and rating today. I am delighted to read that you and your family escaped the pressures of Xmas eve and had such a relaxing Afternoon Tea with us. Chef will be especially pleased to read your kind comments and on behalf of all us at the hotel I wish you ,...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Didn't stay overnight in this hotel but spent a bit of time here with friends. Staff were very friendly and the night porters were great. Would book a room here if I ever stayed in Colchester again. Z

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott8446
DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Scott8446 Thank you for reviewing the Brook Red Lion Hotel and I am delighted to read that you found the hotel a welcoming retreat for a few hours during this very busy festive season. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all and we hope that you have a Merry Xmas and wish you all the very best...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel 9th and 10th December for a festive break with friends. Had to wait 30 mins to check in as staff were busy with afternoon teas. Taken to room 2, a little dark but ok. Decided to go out for early meal as we had been told no meals in hotel due to Christmas parties. Realised the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kimbo1959
DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kimbo1959 Thank you for your feedback today as it is always disappointing for us to realise that any guest has left the Brook Red Lion so disheartened. As you can appreciate in December the hotel is always very busy with festive bookings and party nights. However, it is usual for the reception team to contact any guest not involved...

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Just spent a terrible weekend with friends at The Red Lion and would not recommend anyone stay here. A character hotel with much potential but sadly in dire need of TLC & investment! Radiators without valves or completely disconnected, sinks so badly cracked water drips through the bottom if filled, missing sink plugs and no spares, showers that do little...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julia P
DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julia P It is always disappointing for us to read a review such as yours and I am naturally disappointed that you did not choose to contact our Brook Head Offices before posting your review. We do, of course, investigate and value all feedback on behalf of our guests but as this is your chosen forum, I will respond...

Kent
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Stayed here for two nights in November/ December. Room was small and dingy, and the shower just about dribbled out the rather dirty shower head. Breakfast was poor, served in a soulless room (despite it being historic beams, and ancient fireplace etc), with no background music or similar, so you could hear everyone else's conversation. Bacon greasy, eggs hard! Coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Frequent_hotel_user
DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Frequent_hotel_user I am sorry to read that the Hotel did not meet with your expectations and we do of course value your feedback so that we can improve our standards and service levels in the future. Our Head Office Management team and new General Manager, Mr Davies have started to address the issues you have highlighted and we do...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Booked for a 3 night break, lovely little hotel lots of character it has so much potential but was overall a bit disappointed. Room 8 was very small, the bed was a small double and wasn't suitable for 2 people would have been more suited to a single traveller. We couldn't sit and have a drink at the bar because...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joanna2909
DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joanna2909 Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at The Brook Red Lion Hotel and I am pleased that the hotel was such a good base for your break in Colchester. I do appreciate your feedback and hope that as we now have a new General Manager in place that you would come back and visit us again...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Beautiful historic hotel. Warm in the room. There the positive ends. Shower was a trickle. Electrical socket cover was loose. Flooring missing behind the toilet. Dining room cold breakfast dried up. No white toast available. Some of the breakfast items missing waiting for a delivery on two consecutive mornings. Staff mainly uninterested. Would not come back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juligi
DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Juligi Thank you for your comments today. I am naturally disappointed to read that you were disappointed with the efficiency of the shower in your room and our breakfast service during your visit . I will investigate these points with the GM ,Mr Davies to ensure that we do not experience similar issues for future and returning guests. We...

Reviewed 20 November 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights, its a lovely old Tudor hotel, room was lovely and clean, bed and pillows were comfy, even got complimentary biscuits as well as tea and coffee, the staff were welcoming and polite. The only issues I had was, the heating was on constantly and there was no knob on the radiator to turn it down,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vikkimccabe
DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear vikkimccabe I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at The Brook Red Lion Hotel and I would like to thank you for taking a moment to share your wonderful comments for us on this site today. It is always very rewarding and a great boost for Mr Davies and his team to...

colchester
Reviewed 16 November 2016

My husband and I went there on a groupon voucher which was 3 courses for two for 20 pounds. Usually these deals have either really limited choice or some other drawback. It is a historic building and as we showed some interest the waitress brought out some literature on it. My husband had home made wild mushroom soup and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pennyrColchester
DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pennyrColchester I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent Sunday lunch in the historic setting of our Parliament restaurant. The new General Manager , Mr Davies, Chef and the restaurant team have worked closely on the new menus and it is wonderful to read that you appreciated their efforts. Thank you for taking a moment to review...

371 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Other (36)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (248)
Viewed
Double Room (35)
Viewed
Executive Room (28)
Viewed
Other (55)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Single Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)
Viewed
Twin Room (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colchester hotels
0.1 km away
George Hotel of Colchester
George Hotel of Colchester
#22 of 24 in Colchester
554 reviews
0.3 km away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#7 of 24 in Colchester
231 reviews
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#5 of 24 in Colchester
112 reviews
0.3 km away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#8 of 24 in Colchester
90 reviews
7.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Red Lion Hotel was built in 1465 and is in the centre of Colchester, Britain's oldest recorded town. The historical building has original Tudor features, including wooden beams.The Red Lion Hotel is one of the oldest inns in the area. The hotel is a short walk from the shops and Colchester Town Rail Station is 500 metres away. Hotel Rooms: 24 ... more   less 

Additional Information about Brook Red Lion Hotel

Address: 43 High Street, Colchester CO1 1DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Price Range: $75 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brook Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Brook Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Colchester
Colchester Red Lion
Brook Red Lion Hotel Colchester, Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Brook Red Lion Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Essex, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Brook Red Lion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rooms at the front of the hotel & ask if any refurbished rooms are available”
 of 5 bubbles 750juliap, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the front rooms, High Street is like a war zone at night!”
 of 5 bubbles Frequent_hotel_user, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose room 8, had I have known they had a larger room with a 4 poster bed when I was booking I would have chosen 1 of them”
 of 5 bubbles Joanna2909, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a comfy bed!”
 of 5 bubbles Juneska, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you want boring go to the back , if you want the character oldy Worldy ones ask for the older rooms at the front”
 of 5 bubbles harry357uk, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay