We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Monsell Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Monsell Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 142: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Very warm welcome and cheerful managers. Room clean and tidy with en-suite facilities. I am glad I decided to have the breakfast yum yum just the way to start the day. All amenities within 5/10 mins from hotel and local street map provided in reception was helpful to find your way around. Will be booking another stay at this super...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian A
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a very homey and friendly hotel! The owners are lovely, considerate, and make sure to cater to your every need! The breakfast is beautiful and just what I needed to start my day! I loved my room and my comfy bed! The hotel is in the perfect spot to visit the local area and enjoy a great holiday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brittni S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We felt really at home on arrival,the managers were friendly and helped us with our luggage to our room,the room was clean, good area for easy access to the town also not far to beach,our weekend away was great,all in all we had a very pleasant stay and the food was good,we will stay at the Monsell Hotel again and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Raymond H
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

onthankyou for your review. glad you enjoyed your stay with us .at the monsell hotel. Dont forget on your next vist to go directly to our website .you will receive a 10%discount as a loyal guest best wishes Aubrey and Dee

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Although the managers are extremely friendly and helpful does not disguise the shortcomings of the premises. ie. paid for two nights only stopped one average room certainly not superior. Mattress most uncomfortable well used, soundproofing of downstairs room very poor. For those who took advantage of the cooked breakfast ok but I did not want the fumes whilst in bed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frederick111111
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests Sorry for our delayed response due to Xmas period, we are so sorry to hear your room was unsatisfactory. We did move you to our downstairs superior room on special request which unfortunately for you is adjacent to our dinning room, this is the first time we have ever had anybody complain the smells of breakfast which normally...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

A Warm and friendly welcome. Very accommodation and nothing was too much trouble for them. Clean room with towels and free tea and coffee, and was offered a full English. Definitely worth booking for a hassle free stay :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carriedancing
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we look forward to seeing you in the very near future.By February 2017 we can confirm the bar will be up and running. Once again thanks again for your review.

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

This hotel was near to Horncastle where we had a grave to visit but also served as a base for the Xmas market in Lincoln. We had an awful trip up from Gloucester, but were pleasantly surprised when the managers called to see if we were ok, lovely touch, we got there two hours after reception closed to find them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review which is very much appreciated,we look forward to seeing you again very soon. Aubrey and Dee

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Myself and my partner at the time stayed here for 1 night as a last minute trip. Overall the hotel could use quite a bit of upgrading/modernising. There were a few issues, however the service provided by the hotel managers was faultless. We felt welcomed from the second we walked in. They were incredibly helpful and just for this reason...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank qwertyyuoo
TheMonsell, Guest Relations Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your superior review, it is so nice to have real genuine nice guests like yourself give reviews. We really enjoyed your company at the Monsell hotel and we welcome you back any time you wish as it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell Hotel and we hope to see you again soon,...

Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for the night with my friend after a show in Skegness and will definitely be returning! As soon as we arrived the owners greeted us and were very friendly and welcoming. Our room was lovely and had everything we needed. Didn't manage to have breakfast the following morning due to having to get back early but I've heard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jcarter86
TheMonsell, Guest Relations Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your superior review, it is so nice to have real genuine nice guests like yourself give reviews. We really enjoyed your company at the Monsell hotel and we welcome you back any time you wish as it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell Hotel and we hope to see you again soon,...

Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

Me and my partner came for a night away and we found this bed and breakfast online and talk about value for money! As soon as we walked in the door we was welcomed in with open arms. We arrived at 6pm and it was freezing outside and we walked in and it was warm and cosy. We got to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jade H
TheMonsell, Guest Relations Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your superior review, it is so nice to have real genuine nice guests like yourself give reviews. We really enjoyed your company at the Monsell hotel and we welcome you back any time you wish as it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell Hotel and we hope to see you again soon,...

Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

What an amazing little treat, hosts are wonderful and cook up a grand breakfast. With the addition of a full size pool table and soon to have a licenced bar. Dee and Aubrey have put there fantastic stamp on this beautiful hotel looking forward to our return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScottPhilipson
TheMonsell, Guest Relations Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your superior review, it is so nice to have real genuine nice guests like yourself give reviews. We really enjoyed your company at the Monsell hotel and we welcome you back any time you wish as it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell Hotel and we hope to see you again soon,...

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.9 km away
Merrydale
Merrydale
#21 of 26 in Skegness
119 reviews
0.9 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 26 in Skegness
215 reviews
0.6 km away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#7 of 26 in Skegness
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Havenhouse Farm
Havenhouse Farm
#60 of 97 in Skegness
27 reviews
0.8 km away
Coasters Hotel & Apartments
0.4 km away
Hotel no 8
Hotel no 8
#71 of 97 in Skegness
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We extend a warm welcome to all our guests staying at the Monsell Hotel. We are an hotel offering a friendly service in a quiet residential area of Skegness. We are situated within a 5 minute walk from the beach, promenade, shops and many local attractions. Skegness coach and train stations are only a ten minute walk away. All our bedrooms are fully en-suite with free Wi-fi and flat screen TV. Our bedrooms are newly decorated and furnished and have been designed with your comfort in mind. Free tea and coffee facilities are available in all rooms. We have a large separate dining room and offer an option of a full English breakfast. The Monsell has a key fob door entry system and a large car park. We also have a large comfortable lounge with TV. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Monsell Hotel

Address: 2 Firbeck Avenue, Skegness PE25 3JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Price Range: $46 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Monsell Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Monsell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Monsell Hotel Skegness, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Monsell Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Monsell Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms excellent full english breakfast excellent service very friendley”
 of 5 bubbles 166angelal, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were on the first floor looking out on to the road which was opposite a pub but we heard no noise. Plenty of free parking”
 of 5 bubbles KimT530, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“we were on the ground floor next to reception noise levels depend on other guest being considerate we were lucky”
 of 5 bubbles agnithaf, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't book a room here unless it's just for a sleep after a night out ,needs updating and a good clean throughout,”
 of 5 bubbles 573patp, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Couldn't say but check room before you pay”
 of 5 bubbles nico12g, 10 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay