We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

B&B at The Winchester Arms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 128: English reviews
Start your review of B&B at The Winchester Arms
 Click to rate
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a delightful stay, the room was very nice, comfortable and well looked after. The only drawback was no en-suite, but this was made up for in many ways. The breakfast was delicious with a good choice, of breakfast cereal and cooked English breakfast. The landlord and staff were very welcoming and friendly. Our only regret is that we...

Thank philjo2017
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We really enjoyed our stay, the room and shared bathroom and toilet were clean and well furnished. Pub food was fantastic. All staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast delicious. Only negative point is the sound travelled to our room so we could clearly hear people chatting and laughing until 1am. As we were with a young daughter that sleeps through anything,...

Thank MrsPBath
seeking only the best
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We stayed four months ago and really wanted to stay for an event again. Our room was lovely. Breakfast really good cooked for us by Hannah who has one of the funny laughs we have ever heard. Try and listen out for this. The evening meal really lovely. The staff really cannot do enough to help. Patrick and his team...

Thank Goldiehawn
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2017

Stopping here for an overnight break in our journey from the West Country to Derbyshire was definitely a good decision. The first thing we noticed was that everything is spotlessly clean: our room, the en-suite, the toilets, the dining room tables… even the table mats showed no sign of a finger mark! And yet there was still a pleasant homely...

Thank OldWoodie42
Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

We came for Sunday lunch which was also our first time of visiting this pub. We were greeted with being told they were a chef down, we first of all thought great. But to be honest we wouldn't have been none the wiser. We all ordered roast beef which was good, and ordered puddings, which were ok. Unfortunately the meal...

Thank 83cheeky
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Have been here for lunch a few times recently. Lovely cosy country pub with nice food and good value for money. Very family friendly and the staff make you feel very welcome. Will definitely be back soon.

Thank Gremlin35
Reviewed 29 December 2016

£100 plus dinner for 6 people. Only one of the main courses was good the rest were mediocre to poor (overcooked burgers and duck breast, greasy fried fish and tasteless speciality fish dish). Shame as nice venue and friendly staff/service but let down hugely by the poor quality of the food. .

Thank Hugh L
Patrick M, Owner at B&B at The Winchester Arms, responded to this review

I am really concerned by this review. I have checked through our records and the only time we have served a table with anything approaching this selection of meals was on 27th December and the customers concerned left a £21 tip. It is a policy that we regularly check back with our customers during their meals to ensure that everything...

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2016

We arrived, having previously booked and ordered our meals as it was Christmas week, and were quickly greeted and seated. We ordered drinks at the table which arrived promptly and sat chatting while we awaited our starters. The starters arrived and looked delicious, the table was set with cutlery and Christmas crackers and the food looked delicious. One of our...

Thank Tonia W
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at the Winchester during the scorching summer while our son was taking part in the cricket festival at kings. Patrick and Wendy were absolute excellent hosts. Wendy's cooking is amazing. Her breakfast sets you up for the day and then some. They are/we're happy to cater for our choices of meals and any queries...

Thank Steph S
Orpington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

We have been staying at the Winchester Arms for the last 6 years. It has recently changed ownership and I have to applaud Patrick, Wendy and the team for maintaining the same high standards. Wendy has been working at the Winch for many years as a chef and the food remains delicious with plentiful portions. The breakfast sets you up...

Thank Heather S

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (11)
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
8.5 km away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
2.7 km away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
610 reviews
4.5 km away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
369 reviews
3.0 km away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#10 of 17 in Taunton
145 reviews
2.3 km away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about B&B at The Winchester Arms

Address: Church Road, Taunton TA3 7LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Price Range: $78 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — B&B at The Winchester Arms 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your B&B at The Winchester Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winchester Arms Public House Hotel Taunton
B&B At The Winchester Arms Taunton, Somerset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from B&B at The Winchester Arms staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from B&B at The Winchester Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We can only say that we were more than satisfied with room 3”
 of 5 bubbles philjo2017, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All are good”
 of 5 bubbles Goldiehawn, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All are good as this is a lovely quiet location”
 of 5 bubbles Goldiehawn, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay here just had a meal.”
 of 5 bubbles Y8498EHjenniferh, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“room 6 is downstairs so no stairs to climb”
 of 5 bubbles oldmanoftheroad, 23 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5