We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

640 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 629: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Parking seems to be a bit of a problem. I have parked around the corner in a out of hours disabled bay. Hotel seems nice and clean with friendly staff. Group breakfast was very basic 2/10 for that. Everything else include big wifi is great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ennapatel
Stewart M, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, and we can assure you that the Tour Breakfast matter is being looked into and will be improved accordingly. Kind regards, S.Moss

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here with work colleagues for a few days. My room was a very spacious (at the corner of the floor) but my colleagues’ room was a bit small so bit of a toss up. Some rooms are in a separate wing of the hotel and can be bit of a run-around getting there with luggage. Bathroom was very clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank meatshawarma
Stewart M, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip! Kind regards, S.Moss

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ideally situated right in the town centre, the shops and places to eat & drink were within easy walking distance. Friendly reception staff had our group's check-in paperwork already prepared so it was just a case of handing out key cards. Reasonable prices in the hotel Bar if you don't want to go out.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank keefb71
Stewart M, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, S.Moss

Thirsk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having arrived on a cold windy afternoon we were greeted by Charlotte? ( I apologise if I have got the young lady name wrong) who gave us a great big smile which lifted my mood straight away. She was informative about the services and the restaurant times and also about the Sunday lunch which is gaining in popularity We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CookieBoy60
Stewart M, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, S.Moss

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Check in was quick, standard double room was really nice, modern, clean and more spacious than I expected after reading reviews that said the rooms are small. 'Power shower' didn't have an awful lot of power to it but it was okay, easy to use and it will go very hot. The bed was really comfortable, the only downsides were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmobes
Stewart M, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable, and we will look into our Room Service offering...thank you for letting us know. S.Moss

Alveley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Room clean, breakfast was lovely... although there was no croissants out... as stated on the menu 😩... saves me being too greedy I suppose.... Bed was comfortable, check in and check out all easy. Parking was full on arrival and we 'buzzed up' and the receptionist very kindly came down and moved her car so's we could park. Only major...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kat R
Stewart M, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to your return. S.Moss

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a meal last month and was really impressed! It's not a place I usually frequent but i shall definitely return. Waiting staff were attentive and polite, a young man called Ben was particularly helpful. I look forward to returning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
Stewart M, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your Meal, I will ensure that Ben sees this and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Kind regards, S.Moss

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went to the kings head for a weekend away with my partner, the staff were so amazing and went out of their way to make our stay exceptional! We had a lovely room, what stood out the most to us was how amazing the food was in the restaurant, would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a 5 star night...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ebony H
Stewart M, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal! I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, S.Moss

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pleasant stay in nice clean hotel. Just check the room deal you choose is what you really want ,as I found out when we had to leave a day earlier than expected because of illness and didn't get a refund because of the deal I had taken. My costly mistake . Just don't ask for an Irish coffee because the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lillias l
Stewart M, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us, and rest assured there will be an 'Irish Coffee Training Session' happening, very soon! See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, S.Moss

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and 6 other friends came here for NYE, we had an amazing time. The room was done out lovely and the food and service were top quality, couldn't fault anything. Would definitely recommend coming here for NYE or any event.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Boyd92
Stewart M, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us over New Years Eve. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, S.Moss

104 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darlington hotels
1.6 km away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
714 reviews
0.6 km away
The Bannatyne Hotel and Spa - Darlington
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
5.4 km away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,244 reviews
0.3 km away
Houndgate Townhouse
Houndgate Townhouse
#9 of 21 in Darlington
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel is superbly located in the heart of the historic market town, with ideal access to the A1 train st. and airport. Originally built in the 1600s as a Coaching Inn, rebuilt in 1893, and after a 6 million pounds sterling complete refurbishment in 2012, the hotel proudly harmonises its original features with a contemporary designer led style that reflects the hotel's personality. Boasting 83 stylish bedrooms, superior conference and banqueting suites, along with elegantly fashionable rest and bars. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel

Address: 9-12 Priestgate, Darlington DL1 1NW, England (Formerly King's Head Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Price Range: $84 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Darlington
Head Hotel King
Hotel Kings Head
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Darlington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the top floor is quite”
 of 5 bubbles maureenmF3901IL, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“My room was on the top floor and it was a bit difficult to get there.”
 of 5 bubbles zsoltp803, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Arrive as early in the day as possible as car parking is limited.”
 of 5 bubbles 893melv, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a big room”
 of 5 bubbles meatshawarma, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ours was a quiet room but no mini-bar Room 358”
 of 5 bubbles CookieBoy60, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5