We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel du Vin Poole

TravelocityUSD 162*
View Deal
#5 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 180*
USD 162*
USD 180*
USD 180*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin Poole
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,103: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel du Vin Poole
 Click to rate
Lymington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel, very comfortable beds, pod coffee machine in room very nice (although didn't really like taste of coffee. Just a little think but I absolutely loved with little bottle of fresh milk in the mini fridge...lovely touch. Dinner was superb chateaubriand for two with a bottle of very nice Merlot. Disappointed that they charge for parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edna6
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this review

Dear Edna6, thank you for your feedback and kind comments. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Best regards Christian HdV Poole

Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

The room was well appointed as it should be for the price. There was some issue with noise caused by fire doors slamming in closures, however, I would imagine the strong setting of the closures are stipulated. Overall the hotel was nice. My only significant complaint was the attitude of the duty manager when I arrived to book in. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John A
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this review

Dear John A, thank you for your valued feedback and I will look into the check-in procedures. Do you think you can get back to me (christian.struckl@hotelduvin.com) letting me know on what date you checked in? Kind regards Christian HdV Poole

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything about this hotel was fab. We didn't have dinner there but breakfast was excellent. The room was large, well furnished and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only down side we had was parking as we had to use the local public car parks, which are expensive. The hotel could maybe provide a free or discounted ticket,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X7388NJsteves
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this review

Dear X7388NJsteves, thank you for your comments and feedback, unfortunately parking is very very limited. Kind regards Christian HdV Poole

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was excellent as we were upgraded. The fixed menu choice was limited and my husband had to chose from the main menu which increased the cost. The bill from the restaurant was misleading but was then clarified at Reception the next morning. The staff were all excellent and very helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this review

Dear Anne B, Thank you for your great feedback and kind comments. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Best regards Christian HdV Poole

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely hotel, comfortable rooms Stayed on business and met clients for dinner in the evening Restaurant service was shocking and a poor menu selection. Very small portions. Overpriced as well. It was hard work to try and relax whilst waiting for ages for the starter and then the same for the main course, hadn't got time to wait for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian C
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this review

Dear Adrian C, thank you for your feedback clearly we did not get it right on that evening. May I ask you to let you know when you stayed with us (christian.struckl@hotelduvin.com). Kind regards Christian HdV Poole

Berkshire
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having stayed in the Wimbledon HDV in December we expected more but this hotel was disappointing. Our room would've been lovely if it hadn't have been so tired and tatty. We had a bath tub in the bay window which was very pretty. Ditto the dining room being tired and tatty. A tiny car park that was beyond full. And...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BikerBird
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this review

Dear BikerBird, thank you for your time writing your review and may I ask you y let me know when you stayed with us? (christian.struckl@hotelduvin.com) Kind regards Christian HdV Poole

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As a follow-up to our previous stay, the big difference was that the service was notably average. Our deluxe double room was tired,scruffy and dusty. As usual a bulb was out! The Spanish manager at breakfast was SUPERB, everyone else, not so much. Pleasant, but not so good at work - more like teenage children needing constant direction. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheD-Ps
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this review

Dear TheD-Ps, thank you for feedback which I have forwarded to all relevant departments and let me apologise if we got some elements of your stay not quite right. Please contact me directly (christian.struckl@hotelduvin.com) to make your next boooking with us. Best regards Christian HdV Poole

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had an excellent Sunday Roast here. It is a fixed price for three courses, which if you have the buffet starter, makes it very good value. I didn't try the buffet, which had plenty of seafood and cured meats. There was a big basket of bread, all of which was stale as it had been left out. This needs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gastro-Delight
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this review

Dear Gastro-Delight, Thank you for your time writing your review and I am pleased to note that you, overall, enjoyed your lunch here with us. Kind regards Christian HdV Poole

wimbledon
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lots of positives. First, great location, 100m from the quay and restaurants. Friendly staff, both at reception and in the dining room. Great breakfasts - as good as I've eaten. We have 2 dogs and we were put in an annex with its own entrance. A real godsend. The negatives - parking. It's first come first served for the 6...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joel_marie-helene
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this review

Dear joel_marie-helene, thank you for your valued feedback and kind comments. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards Christian HdV Poole

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Always love this place , come here always when I can , my little treat. The food and service wonderful . Just a pure luxury . You can get good deals on weekends look out for them. I always go here when traveling to jersey , it's a treat . Parking is limited by the hotel , but you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessy J
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this review

Dear Jessy J, thank you for your kind feedback kind comments. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards Christian HdV Poole

193 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (174)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
4.5 km away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.5 km away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
847 reviews
4.4 km away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
1,623 reviews
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
0.5 km away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Hotel du Vin Bistro Poole
Hotel du Vin Bistro Poole
Cuisines: European, British, French
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Formerly the Mansion House Hotel, situated close to Poole Quay, Hotel du Vin will open in the Summer of 2008 offering 38 bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and two meeting/dining rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Poole

Address: Thames Street | The Quay, Poole BH15 1JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Price Range: $197 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Poole 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Poole
Hotel Du Vin Poole Dorset
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poole
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poole
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Vin Poole staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
9 months ago
Rhyl, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
over a year ago
UK
2 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin Poole staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“be careful of the stairs in the annexe”
Edna6, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“An upgraded room proved very worthwhile and is to be recommended.”
I1645NYanneb, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Annexes great for flexibility but back on to the (quiet) road”
joel_marie-helene, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“just ask the staff for the best ones”
andy007007, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“we dined at Hotel du Vin did not stay there”
Nicolelucie, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
USD 162* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 180
Expedia.comUSD 180
TripAdvisorUSD 162
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates