We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Thistle Poole

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Thistle Poole
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

801 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Thistle Poole
See the most recent reviews
Showing 794: English reviews
Dunstable, England
Level Contributor
160 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

This is a rather late review. We stayed here for the second time in June and booked a harbour view room which indeed had a lovely view. The room was clean and comfortable but so in need of modernisation. Everything about this hotel is crying out for up-dating. We had an issue with breakfast on the Sunday morning as we... More 

Helpful?
Thank SueG56
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was very happy that you enjoyed our location and the stunning views from your room. We are in a beautiful location and I'm glad that you were able to take advantage of this. With regards to the in-room breakfast request forms, please be advised that they have now... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2016

The hotel has a great location, right on Poole Quay. I booked several rooms for a family reunion, which were all charged at the same price but while some of us got fantasic views of the harbour, some were stuck at the back overlooking the bins! If you become a Thistle member (which is free) you can take advantage of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma C
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was glad to note that you enjoyed our location, situated on the idyllic Dorset Coast we boast stunning views of the Purbeck Hills, Poole Harbour and Brownsea Island. With regards to the rooms provided, we do usually charge an upgrade fee for Harbour View... More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel is right on the harbour in Poole, parking is a reasonable price. Shame our room overlooked the car park as views over the harbour were lovely. I am gluten intolerant and informed the hotel as they state on their website that any diary needs can be addressed. This is also in their literature in the rooms. On the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lozy092
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was pleased that you chose us for your accommodation requirements and our location was ideal for your needs. I am very disappointed to note that you were not fully satisfied with your stay due to some communication problems relating to your Gluten allergy. At... More 

Biarritz, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Fantastic , quiet location onverlooking the quay , close to many bars and restaurants , yet it was quiet . I live in the countryside so I am not use to noise and the window was open ! Great , helpful staff and a fantastic room with al the amenities you could want , including China cups/ mugs and proper... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aquitainerod
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am extremely happy to note that you enjoyed a fantastic visit with us! All of your comments have been shared with the whole team. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Warm Regards, Jonathan Bowen General Manager More 

Bembridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Location is great but hotel rooms a bit tired, we were on 2nd floor. I think rooms were slightly better on ground floor. The towels we put in the bath for changing were folded wet and put back, not changed. We were woken by cranky plumbing early hours which went on for a while, assumed someone was having a shower.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jofortrip
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was pleased that you chose our hotel for your accommodation requirements and that you found our location great, our staff helpful and you were able to enjoy a great time with your family. However, I was disappointed to note the comments you have made... More 

Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016

room was clean and well proportioned ,bed was king sized but a little firm ,bathroom and towels lovely ,good sized tv only tiny moan was when putting bathroom light on for a wee during the night the fan came on and is a bit noisey .

Helpful?
Thank avril8227
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor, following your recent visit. I was pleased that you chose us for your accommodation requirements and that you enjoyed your visit. I have shared your comments with the whole team so that they remain motivated to continue to provide this great level of service. Your... More 

Highcliffe, Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Stayed only one night thank goodness. the price was extortionate which i accepted on booking as i knew where the hotel was and presumed it would all live up to the price. the room was tired, shabby, dull and the bed was lumpy. the en-suite was even worse with a fixed shower head over the bath that had been there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nick P
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Your comments have come as a complete shock to me and I can assure you that this feedback has disappointed me a great deal. I would be much obliged if you could contact me directly, on the email below, at your earliest convenience so that I can discuss these comments with you in... More 

Travellers are raving about these Poole hotels

Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Just had three nights at the Thistle and the only good thing about it is the location. When you pay nearly £100 per night I would expect breakfast to be included. Also the lift broke down the first day we was there and was still not working when we left 3 days later. We went for a drink in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank jfcumbo
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was pleased that you chose us for your accommodation requirements. I was very glad to note that you found the receptionist very nice, our location ideal for your needs and the room was cleaned to a high standard. I have shared this feedback with... More 

Gloucester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2016

The position of the hotel right on the quay is excellent and very handy for the Browsea ferry etc. However, considering the cost of the room, the place needs a facelift. Having said that we were very comfortable and spoilt only by the fire alarm going off at 02.00 for a reason we never discovered. The staff were very pleasant... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review of our hotel. I was pleased that you were happy with our location, found the staff friendly and helpful and your room comfortable. I will share these comments with the whole team. I am very sorry that you were disturbed by a fire alarm sounding during... More 

Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Stayed here last night for 1 night as it was convenient to get the boat home in the morning. Bed was very comfortable and large, room was clean, wifi was good. But the bar was the slowest service ever, food was nice but took about 45 minutes to get a chicken sandwich. Our room had a view of the sea... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle_Noel81
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was pleased that you chose us for your accommodation requirements. I was glad to note that our location was ideal for your needs, you found the room clean and the bed large and comfortable and our complimentary Wi-Fi good. However, I was disappointed that... More 

375 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (57)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (226)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Double Brown Room (34)
Viewed
Double Plum Room (33)
Viewed
Double Stripe Room (33)
Viewed
Family Room (44)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)
Viewed
Twin Room (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 14 in Poole
1,019 reviews
4.1 km away
Harbour Heights Hotel
1.5 km away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#7 of 14 in Poole
1,254 reviews
3.7 km away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Poole is a friendly, easy-going town, with its traditional Quay still very much at its heart. And that’s where you’ll find Thistle Poole, offering superb views over one of the world’s largest natural harbours, Brownsea Island and the Purbeck hills beyond. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle Poole

Address: The Quay, Poole BH15 1HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Price Range: $102 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Thistle Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Poole Hotel Poole
Thistle Hotel Poole
Poole Thistle Hotel
Thistle Poole Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thistle Poole staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle Poole staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for a room overlooking the quay. Binoculars provided too.”
 of 5 bubbles veronicatrew, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms at the front of the hotel cost more but do have excellent sea views”
 of 5 bubbles terrysmirk, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a Harbour room”
 of 5 bubbles ff1983, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Harbour view is a must”
 of 5 bubbles SueG56, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request a room overlooking the quay”
 of 5 bubbles Aquitainerod, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay