We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Thistle Poole

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Thistle Poole
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

808 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 801: English reviews
Basingstoke
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Could not recommend this hotel for food and rooms more highly. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The organisation of the new year dinner was fantastic the food was hot and very tasty. Unfortunately there was no scotch whisky and dogs were allowed in the rooms this I didn't agree with as we suffer from animal allergies Fantastic evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank turnelld
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay over the New Years period. I'm very happy to note that you enjoyed the festivities and in particular found the food fantastic and the staff friendly and helpful. I am very sorry that we did not have any scotch whisky, I will be reviewing this...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here 4 years ago this time was a much better experience The staff could not have been more helpful the food was very good all round the room was very clean and tidy Everything was good Parking at the rear. Dog friendly

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John B
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review following your recent stay with us. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and in particular found the staff helpful, food very good and room very clean. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Warm Regards, Jonathan Bowen General Manager

Spain
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived late due to flight being delayed from Spain so did not get to the hotel till after 21.30. Staff very friend on arrival and told us all the do's and don'ts. We picked up our Grandson on root to come and stay with us and the staff had no problem moving us to a bigger room also came in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nichola B
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to note that you enjoyed a fabulous visit! We endeavour to ensure that all of our guests needs are met and even exceeded on a consistent basis, and I'm glad that we've been able to do this for you. I have...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has really good points and bad points that need to be addressed. The rooms were clean had everything you would need and lovely view of the quay. It has however got the worst bar and service you could find. We came here a few months ago and commented on this but not improved. The bar is inadequately stocked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tinty2
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was happy to note that you found our rooms to have all the required amenities and lovely views of the Quay. however, I'm disappointed that you experienced some issues during your visit. Please accept my sincerest apologies for this. I would very much like...

Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Booked hotel to be near the ferry port. They accept pets which was a relief. On the ground floor double bedroom, easy access to outside. Pleasant bedroom. Used room service for dinner as restaurant was booked out for a function. Bar was busy because of the function. The staff kindly took my order and served in room very promptly. Helpful,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Franck-Tobias
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit and found all the amenities that you required. I was also very pleased that you found our staff helpful, professional and welcoming, particularly Sam. I have shared these comments with the whole team in...

Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Stayed at this hotel for business. Room is just average, but very cozy. If you stay for a few days, I can recommend. Also a room has hair dryer and iron, which are very important for me. As for breakfast, it's awesome if you love western style breakfast. WIFI hotel provides have no password (this is not secured) unfortunately.. Guess...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hakiko_5
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit and found all the amenities that you required. I must offer my apologies if you were not satisfied with the WiFi, I can confirm that this is secured by means of a portal page,...

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Visited the restaurant at the hotel for Xmas dinner with family and friends. The restaurant has brilliant views overlooking Poole quay. We all had the traditional turkey dinner followed by either Xmas pudding or an alternative dessert. There was tea, coffee and mince pies all included. The meal was lovely couldn't fault it at all. The staff were really friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bev D
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent Christmas Dinner with us. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your event with us, albeit with a depleted number of participants due to sickness. It's pleasing to note that you have highlighted our staff as being really friendly and that you were provided with...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

Just a 2 day night stay for me, but i must say the service has been fantastic! The young lad in the restaurant is brilliant, polite, welcoming and very very helpful. As i write this review I'm having a lovely breakfast overlooking the beautiful Boats in Poole Harbour. Would highly recommend! Room is very clean, bed not too bad, spacey...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neilzybaby1
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review of our hotel. I am very pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and in particular found the team to be very welcoming and friendly. I have shared all of your comments with the team in order to motivate them to continue to offer this...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Hotel is situated overlooking Poole Quay and although you have to pay a bit more for a room looking over the front, it is worth it. We stayed the night Storm Angus hit - WOW! Clean hotel, friendly staff and great location for exploring Poole. Car-park on site and discounted for hotel guests. You can leave your car until 4pm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veronica T
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor following your particularly windy visit to Poole! I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Best Regards, Jonathan Bowen General Manager

Halesowen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

Had a one night stay on a Saturday which we enjoyed. Room a little dated but spacious, staff friendly. Had some confusion regarding breakfast, I thought breakfast was included as mentioned on their website, this was reinforced when I was told at breakfast that although we hadn't actually booked on a breakfast rate that we would be upgraded. Was informed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire and John J
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was pleased that you enjoyed our location and found our staff friendly. I am sorry that there was some confusion regarding whether breakfast was included in your rate or not. In order to investigate this further, I would be grateful if you could contact...

387 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (57)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (226)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Double Brown Room (34)
Viewed
Double Plum Room (33)
Viewed
Double Stripe Room (33)
Viewed
Family Room (44)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)
Viewed
Twin Room (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 14 in Poole
1,042 reviews
4.1 km away
Harbour Heights Hotel
4.1 km away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#7 of 14 in Poole
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
3.7 km away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Poole is a friendly, easy-going town, with its traditional Quay still very much at its heart. And that’s where you’ll find Thistle Poole, offering superb views over one of the world’s largest natural harbours, Brownsea Island and the Purbeck hills beyond. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle Poole

Address: The Quay, Poole BH15 1HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Price Range: $96 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Thistle Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Poole Hotel Poole
Thistle Hotel Poole
Poole Thistle Hotel
Thistle Poole Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thistle Poole staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle Poole staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The sea view was great”
 of 5 bubbles turnelld, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Great location, you can see harbor view!”
  • Harbor View
  • Room
  • Bathroom1
 of 5 bubbles hakiko_5, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go for a room overlooking the quay. Binoculars provided too.”
 of 5 bubbles veronicatrew, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms at the front of the hotel cost more but do have excellent sea views”
 of 5 bubbles terrysmirk, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a Harbour room”
 of 5 bubbles ff1983, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay