We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Thistle Poole

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Thistle Poole
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

802 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 795: English reviews
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Visited the restaurant at the hotel for Xmas dinner with family and friends. The restaurant has brilliant views overlooking Poole quay. We all had the traditional turkey dinner followed by either Xmas pudding or an alternative dessert. There was tea, coffee and mince pies all included. The meal was lovely couldn't fault it at all. The staff were really friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bev D
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just a 2 day night stay for me, but i must say the service has been fantastic! The young lad in the restaurant is brilliant, polite, welcoming and very very helpful. As i write this review I'm having a lovely breakfast overlooking the beautiful Boats in Poole Harbour. Would highly recommend! Room is very clean, bed not too bad, spacey...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neilzybaby1
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review of our hotel. I am very pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and in particular found the team to be very welcoming and friendly. I have shared all of your comments with the team in order to motivate them to continue to offer this...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is situated overlooking Poole Quay and although you have to pay a bit more for a room looking over the front, it is worth it. We stayed the night Storm Angus hit - WOW! Clean hotel, friendly staff and great location for exploring Poole. Car-park on site and discounted for hotel guests. You can leave your car until 4pm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veronica T
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor following your particularly windy visit to Poole! I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Best Regards, Jonathan Bowen General Manager

Halesowen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a one night stay on a Saturday which we enjoyed. Room a little dated but spacious, staff friendly. Had some confusion regarding breakfast, I thought breakfast was included as mentioned on their website, this was reinforced when I was told at breakfast that although we hadn't actually booked on a breakfast rate that we would be upgraded. Was informed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire and John J
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was pleased that you enjoyed our location and found our staff friendly. I am sorry that there was some confusion regarding whether breakfast was included in your rate or not. In order to investigate this further, I would be grateful if you could contact...

Dewsbury
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean and comfortable room and helpful and friendly staff. The food and service in the restaurant was good and not rushed despite us being the last diners in there. Thoroughly recommend it for an overnight if you're on the morning ferry (or longer if you just want somewhere to relax and see the local area).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CestMoiDewsbury
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor following your most recent stay. I am very pleased that you enjoyed an excellent stay with us, particualrly our food offering and high level of customer service from the team. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Warm Regards, Jonathan...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

there is always a warm welcome at the Thistle Hotel Poole. A very comfortable hotel with fantastic sea view rooms overlooking Brownsea Island. The rooms are big and comfortable. the food is excellent and the staff are always polite and friendly. one of my favourite hotels

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terrysmirk
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor following your most recent stay. I am very pleased that you enjoyed an excellent stay with us. Your comments have been shared with the whole team in order to ensure that they remain motivated to continue this high standard of service. I look forward to...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here on a girls weekend for two nights ...cannot rate the staff we met highly enough, from the receptionists to the chambermaid .the customer service was excellent! We ordered room service one night and were not disappointed in the slightest ...the rooms have everything you could need ,iron and board ,coffee and tea facilities, hairdryer as well as a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor K
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and in particular found our levels of customer service very high. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Warm Regards, Jonathan Bowen General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed one night on 5th November, to see the fireworks. The location is great. We had a Harbour view room, amazing! Plus the hotel is literally a very short stroll from all of the bars etc. The great thing for us was being just a couple of minutes from the buzzy bit, you had the best of both worlds,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heathergrahamsmith
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was very happy to note that you enjoyed your visit with us. I have shared all of your comments with the whole team in order to galvanise them to continue this great level of service. I have also passed on your comments regarding the...

Swansea County, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Stopped here during a business trip. Sandra on the reception, was as helpful if not more, than any receptionist can be. The rooms are nicely equipped including: separate wall heater, iron and ironing board, bottled water and coffee/tea making facilities with nice size flat screens on the wall. The breakfast is served in the restaurant area with views over Poole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HarveyBoom1972
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was very pleased that you enjoyed an excellent visit with us. I have passed on all of your comments to the team in order to further motivate them to continue their great work. I have also personally passed on your comments to Sandra. I...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Stayed here with my wife for 3 nights in October, we enjoyed all parts of our stay. The hotel is in a great location on the quay and the breakfast is great! We will be looking to stay again over Christmas!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ff1983
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel following your recent stay. I am very happy to note that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. I have shared your comments with the whole team. I look forward to welcoming you back again over the festive period. Warm Regards, Jonathan Bowen General Manager

375 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (57)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (226)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Double Brown Room (34)
Viewed
Double Plum Room (33)
Viewed
Double Stripe Room (33)
Viewed
Family Room (44)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)
Viewed
Twin Room (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#3 of 14 in Poole
1,023 reviews
4.1 km away
Harbour Heights Hotel
4.1 km away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#7 of 14 in Poole
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
3.7 km away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Poole is a friendly, easy-going town, with its traditional Quay still very much at its heart. And that’s where you’ll find Thistle Poole, offering superb views over one of the world’s largest natural harbours, Brownsea Island and the Purbeck hills beyond. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle Poole

Address: The Quay, Poole BH15 1HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Price Range: $101 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Thistle Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Poole Hotel Poole
Thistle Hotel Poole
Poole Thistle Hotel
Thistle Poole Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thistle Poole staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle Poole staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for a room overlooking the quay. Binoculars provided too.”
 of 5 bubbles veronicatrew, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms at the front of the hotel cost more but do have excellent sea views”
 of 5 bubbles terrysmirk, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a Harbour room”
 of 5 bubbles ff1983, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Harbour view is a must”
 of 5 bubbles SueG56, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request a room overlooking the quay”
 of 5 bubbles Aquitainerod, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay