We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cromwell Hotel Stevenage

27 High Street, Stevenage SG1 3AZ, England (Formerly The Clarion Collection Hotel Cromwell Stevenage)
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Gordon Craig Theatre
    1.2 km
  • 3 star hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviewed 5 days ago
High tea
Treated my friend to High tea at the cromwell. Rang and reserved... more
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

266 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 261: English reviews
Little Wymondley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Treated my friend to High tea at the cromwell. Rang and reserved the table , on arrival were shown to our table with reserved sign on it, in a prime location by the fire, we were offered various teas by lovely staff, then our food arrived, lovely choice of sandwiches, scones and cakes. Tea filled up when required. Staff checking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Judycrook
Dean T, General Manager at Cromwell Hotel Stevenage, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review Judy! Its great to know that we hit the spot! My new chefs have certainly settled in well and everyone is enjoying their food whether its afternoon tea, bar snacks or a 3 course meal in our restaurant! I look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards Dean Thompson

london
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Had a function to attend and decided to boo this hotel The staff are friendly Some of the hotel is a little dated, but if you manage to get a refurbished room, then this is real value for money The bed was comfortable and would recommend this as a good place for an overnight stay if attending a function in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ian t
Dean T, General Manager at Cromwell Hotel Stevenage, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Ian, all of rooms will be fully refurbished by the end of April. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future Regards Dean Thompson General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed in a newly refurbished room. Decor was lovely and room was spacious. Great bathroom too. Breakfast was made to order. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would stay here again and would recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kbralee
Dean T, General Manager at Cromwell Hotel Stevenage, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Its great to know that you enjoyed our new rooms! We are certainly very pleased with them. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future Kind regards Dean Thompson General Manager

Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived on 29/12/16 as part of a large wedding party only to be told that the hotel had no trace of our booking, despite a member of our party phoning a few days beforehand to check everything was OK. After considerable faffing around we were told the family room we had booked wasn't available, so were offered two double rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benji_5000
Dean T, General Manager at Cromwell Hotel Stevenage, responded to this review

I refer you to my comments to the other members of the party that have already reviewed us, as I have no further comments to make. Dean Thompson General Manager

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for breakfast a few days ago and Sunday Lunch today, both times professionally greeted and food was perfect.. The place is clean (Including the restrooms) , quiet and an overall pleasure. Definitely coming again and very well priced...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darren W
Dean T, General Manager at Cromwell Hotel Stevenage, responded to this review

Hi Darren Thank you for your kind review, its great to know we get things right not on just one occasion, but two! We have lots of events coming up in the next few months, please check out our Facebook page, as I hope there will be something there for you to attend! We look forward to welcoming you back...

Walkern
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived and although the Reception was very busy, we were dealt with efficiently by polite staff. Our room was large and very clean and everything we could have wanted was there. The meal was lovely and considering the amount of people attending, the service was run like a military operation and was faultless. The entertainment was excellent and to top...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jackie G
Dean T, General Manager at Cromwell Hotel Stevenage, responded to this review

Hi Jackie Thank you so much for your kind review. We were delighted with how the evening ran. Our chefs worked hard for the previous 24 hours to prepare such an intricate menu and I'm glad you agree it was worth the effort. I have already booked Uche Eke the entertainer for next New Years Eve as he was so...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wow! What can I say! The whole experience was fantastic from start to finish. We arrived at the hotel early not expecting to get into our rooms but they were ready for us and we had no problem checking in. It was nice to be able to drop our bags and then get something to eat. The rooms are newly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michele S
Dean T, General Manager at Cromwell Hotel Stevenage, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review, Michele. I am delighted with how the evening ran. Our chefs worked hard for the previous 24 hours to prepare such an intricate menu and I'm glad you agree it was worth the effort. I have already booked Uche Eke the entertainer for next New Years Eve as he was so popular...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Horrific avoid at all costs. Receptionist was terrible. We had booked our hotel room through a wedding party. We arrived and they couldn't find the booking we stood there for over 10 minutes and all the receptionist kept saying it's not on my screen. The fact that we had rang 2 days prior to arriving to make sure they had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BillyLilly
Dean T, General Manager at Cromwell Hotel Stevenage, responded to this review

I refer you to my reply to another member of the party. However, I am not aware of any people that checked in the day before had no rooms booked. As I said to Terry I was trying to sort out the accommodation in my hotel, and if not I could have done elsewhere. I'm sorry you had to drive...

Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were supposed to stay here on the 29th December for my nephew's wedding, along with several members of the bride's family. Earlier in the year I'd booked four rooms: one double, two family rooms for four and one family room for five, quoting the number that was given in the invitation I phoned up on 27th December to confirm...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank terrymP5618ZW
Dean T, General Manager at Cromwell Hotel Stevenage, responded to this review

Terry I actually arrived midway through you standing at reception whilst my receptionist, under an extreme amount of pressure, tried to deal with your request. From the start we haven't had a booking for 4 rooms in our system, nor had we had any cancelled. You have no email confirmation nor a reservation number. We can check this as our...

hertfordshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a large family party booked in for Christmas dinner at the Cromwell for a 2pm serving and the unanimous feedback was very positive. The newly redecorated room is looking the best we have ever seen it, the food was excellent the staff were courteous and efficient.The Christmas stockings filled with gifts for the children were a lovely touch...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank severnheaven
Dean T, General Manager at Cromwell Hotel Stevenage, responded to this review

Thank you for such a kind review. Its great testament to the team we have here that provided such a first rate service on Christmas Day! I'm glad the children enjoyed the stockings, they are a really nice touch and help to keep them quiet for a little while!! I look forward to receiving your booking for 2017! Regards Dean...

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stevenage hotels
1.9 km away
Premier Inn Stevenage Central Hotel
0.5 km away
Archways Lodge Hotel
Archways Lodge Hotel
#2 of 14 in Stevenage
210 reviews
1.5 km away
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
#5 of 14 in Stevenage
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
1.1 km away
Ibis Stevenage Centre
Ibis Stevenage Centre
#9 of 14 in Stevenage
449 reviews
2.9 km away
Novotel Stevenage
Novotel Stevenage
#4 of 14 in Stevenage
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cromwell Hotel Stevenage used to be the farmhouse home of John Thurloe, secretary to Oliver Cromwell. The alluring hotel in Stevenage's old town centre combines elements from the past with modern day facilities into a stylish decor. This Stevenage hotel is conveniently located close to the A1. London's Kings Cross station is only a 27-minute train ride away from Stevenage Station, which is just 1 mile from the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cromwell Hotel Stevenage

Address: 27 High Street, Stevenage SG1 3AZ, England (Formerly The Clarion Collection Hotel Cromwell Stevenage)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Price Range: $84 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cromwell Hotel Stevenage 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cromwell Hotel Stevenage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Cromwell Stevenage Hotel Stevenage
Ramada Stevenage
Stevenage Ramada
Cromwell Hotel Stevenage England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cromwell Hotel Stevenage staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Stevenage, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cromwell Hotel Stevenage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for the refurbished rooms/ have breakfast at Wetherspoons next door!”
 of 5 bubbles 28lizw, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for rooms in the annexe overlooking car park.”
 of 5 bubbles 781trishr, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“It's quieter at the rear of the property.”
 of 5 bubbles GeoffLePage, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“My room on 2nd floor overlooked the car park to the rere of the hotel and was comfortable and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles brennantom1, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Garden View”
  • Everything you need!
  • Good night everyone
  • Small compact bathroom
 of 5 bubbles CostaMan, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5