The New Alexandra Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The New Alexandra Hotel

Traveller (60)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#2 of 3 special hotels in Llandudno
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
The New Alexandra Hotel is the only hotel situated on the main shopping street. Mostyn Street is just a 5 minute walk from the train station and 2 minutes from the beach. The hotel has recently had a refurb and the upstairs alex lounge/bar is open daily serving a selection of local and continental beverages. All rooms are ensuite and have flat screen TVs and tea/coffee making facilities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Family

Location

11 Clonmel Street, Llandudno LL30 2LE Wales
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Anglesey Airport
47.9 km
See all flights
Chester Airport
63.1 km
See all flights
186Reviews9Q+A26Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 115
  • 34
  • 12
  • 11
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
SionOHare wrote a review July 2021
Meols, United Kingdom119 contributions93 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a family room (room 20) for 1 night between 2 adults, a teenagers and a small dog (£9 extra pn + £50 returnable deposit) which was clean, spacious and whilst basic had the personal touch of sweets, bottles of water and plenty of teas/coffees/hot chocolate/milks, etc... loads of soaps & towels provided too. We were up quite a few floors so make sure you get dropped off in front/close with luggage, and then park (no hotel parking available). We checked in early without any problems, and the staff were very friendly, Cath checked us out and was also very friendly. Didn’t eat or drink in the pub, but there were always other guests dining in and outside with their meals looking appetising. We would stay again. Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jasond4375 wrote a review Aug 2020
milton keynes67 contributions46 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Good points

Very close to the beach - 30 seconds walk
Manager, (well I think he is) very friendly really nice guy will do anything for you
Nice area outside the front where you can eat and have a drink
Nice bar on the first floor
Everywhere is clean and wiped to covid 19 standards, some staff wearing masks
Everywhere is nicely decorated
The corridors & stairways always smelt nice

Negative points

No lift - try to get a lower floor room
No car park although didn’t find a problem parking around the area only used the car park in the church on one occasion.
Room 14 very small, the view is of roofs in the area, but this didn’t bother us that much.
Bathroom very small, it had a shower but not modern, plenty of holes in the walls looks like fixings had come away.
No wardrobe, a rail is fixed to the wall to hang clothes, this fell off the wall on our first day, it was reattached on request, but we were reluctant to use it again.
Had drinks outside but on one occasion I asked a waitress (think she was Irish) do I need to come to the bar to order drinks, she said no and that she will come to our table. She then came out and talked to another couple that had just sat down at a table next to us and served them first, think they were Irish too, then she forgot about us and came to us later.

This is a 2* hotel and to be honest I didn’t realise this when booking, I believe this is the correct grading for this hotel. If you are on a tight budget, I would recommend this establishment as I can’t knock what we paid for but I think we will try another hotel next time we visit Llandudno.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the church, avoid room 14!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
fillysmiffy wrote a review Nov 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom6 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Clean Warm Rooms , friendly Staff and positioned Centrally near Prom and Shops

Nowhere do they say it’s a modern fashionable Hotel so if you like Trendy, pay treble the Dough and stay nearby, in Hotels that Moaners on here will still find fault with.

Free view TV , Coffee-making facilities , Hot Shower With spotlessly clean towels, in the current climate you’d do well to surpass the Value.

I will anyway so I’m back in a fortnight!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
garb70 wrote a review July 2021
Burnley, United Kingdom11 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Just got home after a four nights stay. When booking we knew that there was no lift and had to climb numerous stairs, when the owner saw that my partner was struggling with all the stairs he tried his best to find a room on a lower floor and even offered us a refund, we can't thank him enough for his efforts, we persistent with the room we had. The Rooms we had #7 #9 were spotlessly clean and had comfy beds. We only ate once at the hotel, but I can highly recommend the fish and chips, the best I've had in a long time. And reasonable priced to. All the staff that we met from the cleaners to the bar staff always had a smile on their faces and always asked how we were. They are a credit to the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle W wrote a review July 2021
Wallasey, United Kingdom9 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a week here as we were unable to travel abroad due to restrictions. On arrival we were told we had been upgraded to a family room with no extra charge due to the length of our stay. The check in was informative and friendly. The room was huge with a double bed and a bunk bed and a lovely view of the church and the mountains. The room was fresh and clean with lots of complimentary teas, coffees, hot chocolate, water and sweets! The room was cleaned every day and was nice to come back to after a long day out. The hotel is right on the main strip of shops, bars, restaurants and cafes. It was a great location for us we enjoyed the town and the pier as well as days out in the surrounding villages and seaside towns. The food in the restaurant downstairs is excellent. We had the breakfast on a number of occasions and although we tried breakfasts in other eateries nearby the breakfast here was by far the best. The produce is top quality. We also had the Sunday lunch here and again was impressed. The variety of vegetables were plentiful and fresh. There was mash, roast potatoes and cauliflower cheese too. The Yorkshire pudding was home made and amazing. We had a lovely meal. The staff here are very friendly and helpful. Always attentive and polite. This is a family run hotel and is very relaxed and easy going. Thank you to the management and staff for everything. We will recommend this place to family and friends and if we get to come back we will try and book this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
William R wrote a review Sept 2021
Stafford, United Kingdom975 contributions464 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Visiting Llandudno for the first time I wanted a breakfast early on Saturday morning, and noticed this venue. I was warmly welcomed, and ordered my cooked breakast; it was served promptly by a friendly atentive waitress. Free 90 minutes of parking on a road adjacent to the hotel was very helpful; when I return to the town I will visit here again for a meal. Recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dee wrote a review Feb 2023
Spain13 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Best Breakfast in town.
I didn’t stay at the hotel. I just popped into the cafe/bar on the ground floor with a friend on a cold February day. It is conveniently located just off Mostyn Street, a busy shopping area, almost opposite Trinity Church. The staff were welcoming, the tables & seating comfortable, the decor attractive, not too busy.

We ordered the Welsh Breakfast. It was perfectly cooked, the portions were generous, and we paid a snappy £12 for two. We ate bacon, sausage, black pudding, hash browns, baked beans & a perfectly cooked fried egg. Toast & butter were available but the plate of food was sufficient as a complete meal. I believe they stop cooking breakfast at 12:00 and the lunch menu begins.

Having a well stocked bar was a pleasant surprise, and as it was so close to 12:00 we ordered beers as well.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Order breakfast before 12:00. This value for money meal, was filling enough to keep me going...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
stokeyboy wrote a review June 2022
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom224 contributions87 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cheap and cheerful is the best way to describe this hotel. Breakfast isn’t included but it’s available and well worth the extra £6 for a full English! The hotel has had a lot spent on it in the last few years, all nicely decorated with new carpets. A decent bar selling reasonably priced beer and spirits. Close enough to the front, pier and shops on the doorstep. Free parking outside but limited so you can’t park it all day. The staff were very helpful if a little disorganised at times
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sunshine9800 wrote a review Sept 2022
6 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
stay well away from this hotel,room was meant to be a double the size was 10x8 the bathroom 4x4 we had 4 box's of flat packs right out side our room .on arrival could find the reception asked a lady who was working there where do we check in and was told , where do you think she said at the reception in a very angry voice,told her no one at the reception she ask the barman , went to the bar full of drunks on a sunday afternoon . after claiming 4 flights of stairs to these awful rooms, asked to be moved was told to come back in the morning .so save your money and find a half decent hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: don't bother
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sam Quigley, Owner at The New Alexandra Hotel
Responded 19 Sept 2022
My goodness give it a rest!!! you paid £52 for a double room, this room our most recent review was a 10/10. The rooms are adequate for 2 people for 1 night. Especially what you paid as well. You really need to catch a grip of yourself. You have done 2 reviews now on the same thing. Thankfully 90% of our guests really enjoy their stay as reflected on other reviews. Please move on and get on with your life.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tracy C wrote a review Oct 2021
13 contributions10 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The new Alexander is a bit like fawlty towers . We had to pay an extra £30.00 on arrival because they didn't realise 2 if us were in the double room even though it clearly stated so on the booking form. There is no lift although it does state so on the website the stairs are very substantial. The main thing was the bar! Was it open or not .. was it on the ground floor or first no-one seemed to know. Breakfast was good but almost like a separate business . The rooms were clean but the shower ridiculously small and tge water either freezing or literally boiling . All in all would not rush back there and my standards are not very high
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
billywhite asked a question Dec 2020
4 contributions4 helpful votes
Will I be able to go Xmas I've booked I'm in tier 2 in Liverpool
Answer from Sam Q
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Yes that should be fine
efnewey asked a question Nov 2020
Queensferry, United Kingdom
Is their an hair dryer in the rooms ?
Squibster asked a question Jan 2020
Lincoln, United Kingdom93 contributions31 helpful votes
Is the management the same two guys who were on the TV programme or has it changed since.
Answer from Sam Q
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Ownership and management have completely changed. Thanks
Emma C wrote a tip 15 May
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Karaoke till late at the weekends. Be prepared to negotiate the endless stairs. Bars open to the general public. "
Read full review
Elizabeth D wrote a tip Mar 2024
10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not suitable for people with disabilities "
Read full review
Carol263 wrote a tip Nov 2023
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom99 contributions31 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"We came on train worked out cheaper than driving what with petrol and parking prices"
Read full review
kenny wrote a tip Sept 2023
Cheshire, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Found the whole experience great, and in a fantastic location."
Read full review
Bobby wrote a tip May 2023
London, United Kingdom14 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Folk mentioned the absence of a lift, so think about this if an issue for your party. Handy all local attractions and the pier. There was plenty of street parking."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Llandudno area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$107 - AU$151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesConwy CountyLlandudno
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE NEW ALEXANDRA HOTEL (AU$107): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Llandudno, Wales) - Photos of Specialty Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The New Alexandra Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The New Alexandra Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Magic Bar Live Limited (0.03 km), Home Front Museum (0.4 km), and St. John's Methodist Church (0.06 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The New Alexandra Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The New Alexandra Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The New Alexandra Hotel?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The New Alexandra Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Da Venezia, Mostyn Tandoori, and Dinos Llandudno.
Is The New Alexandra Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Llandudno.
Are pets allowed at The New Alexandra Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The New Alexandra Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Plas Mawr (4.7 km), Smallest House in Britain (4.5 km), and The Summit Complex (2.0 km).
All Llandudno HotelsLlandudno Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LlandudnoHotels near The New Alexandra Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars