We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Strand Hotel

Hotels.comUSD 43*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Strand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

625 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 613: English reviews
Start your review of The Strand Hotel
 Click to rate
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Room had a sea view but was very shabby, whole hotel is very shabby and in need of some TLC. The lift is a joke especially when trying to get yourself and your luggage in. So called Bistro is awful and very steep stairs to reach it. Breakfast was good but evening meal was rubbish. I dropped a couple of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank deb1602017
gm-strandeastbourne, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Deb Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback about the hotel for your recent stay. We apologize for the unhappy experience you had during your stay. We do try to provide every guest a room as per their comfort level but I do apologize that was not the case with you. I also understand your feedback...

Heywood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic budget hotel am stopping here while I hike the Southdowns national park it's my base the staff are friendly and willing to help with anything I have a single room and am impressed by the size it's also clean room 133 definitely recommend and stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael w
gm-strandeastbourne, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Michael W Thank you for your positive feedback. Each & Every positive feedback encourages us to perform better. We will be looking forward for your next stay and will try to provide you with even better services. Thanks & Regards Poojita Patel General Manager The Strand Hotel

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely aweful... Where do i start , the 1st room we were given was a disgrace we didn't have a light bulb , the carpet was disgusting , the draws were falling apart and stains on the window and mirrors. We then complained and got offered another room this one clearly hadn't been cleaned either there was bathroom supplies from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Keishaxxo
gm-strandeastbourne, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Miss Keishaxxo Thank you very much for your feedback for your recent stay. Going further, Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience that you had to face during your recent stay. I would also like to apologize for the problem not been handled and solved in the appropriate manner by our staff. Before I mention anything further, we would...

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a package including bed, breakfast and dinner. Due to a misunderstanding at check-in, however, concerning restaurant opening times, we arrived in the restaurant after the kitchen had closed and the chef had gone home. After initially being told that nothing could be done, the Manager, Ranjit, arrived on the scene and was very helpful. He said that, as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 533pete
gm-strandeastbourne, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank you for taking your time and leaving a feedback for our hotel. We would like to thank you for appreciating the member of our staff. Surely this has been passed on to them. We also appreciate your feedback regarding breakfast and the room being clean. Each and every appreciation encourages all of us to do even better...

South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here as part of The Women's British Legion for our annual conference.The Hotel boasts spacious rooms with sea views & sea view dining.Our room was definitely not spacious, it was located at the back of the hotel & the outside windows were thick with birds droppings making looking out onto the alley even worse. As for the sea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tigersgirl2014
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The service in the restaurant was appalling Cutlery dirty, no napkins or side plates. Service haphazard The rooms are clean but very dated and need new furniture although they must be starting to update as they have new beds and the carpets on the stairs and corridors are new. They have a long way to go though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed here in the past, when it was the Hilton, in various different rooms and it's always been quite acceptable. It's location is good for the town centre and the seafront, and they offer a parking permit for £1 a day so you can park near the hotel. This time wasn't so good. We booked a room (well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank behappie
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 18 April 2017

We had the misfortune of staying here for a total of three nights over two separate occasions within an eight day period and thought we should wait until the end of our second stay before writing a review. Our first room was an upgrade. I am not sure why we were given the upgrade but at least we had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2017

We have absolutely no complaints about the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff, they were lovely. But there were many things lacking about the hotel. You could tell the hotel has seen finer days, but in 2017 it seemed a little jaded and dated, with things like scuffed walls and mismatched furniture letting it down. We had to change rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DollyS1970
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

I booked 3 rooms here for my wife and I and her two sisters, one of whom is disabled and the other also has mobility problems. I checked if they had accessible rooms and when I booked I asked for the rooms to be near together, and either ground floor or near a lift. When we arrived we had all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jelunga

221 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (184)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
1.1 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#26 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,271 reviews
0.5 km away
Marine Parade Hotel
Marine Parade Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
127 reviews
1.2 km away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
857 reviews
1.6 km away
The Alexandra Hotel
The Alexandra Hotel
#28 of 40 in Eastbourne
160 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel is located directly on Eastbourne seafront opposite the beach with easy walking distance to the pier, bandstand, theatres and the main shopping and town centre facilities. The Hotel has 110 bedrooms with a Bistro restaurant , an Indian restaurant, 3 bars and function rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Address: 35-42 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England (Formerly Hilton Royal Parade Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: $59 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Eastbourne
Eastbourne Hilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Strand Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Strand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea facing room, but beware of extra charges. I didn't ask for a sea view but they tried to charge me for it.”
deb1602017, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Not sure there are any”
B9114FXsusanb, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do not stay in room number 1”
behappie, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“test the bed before accepting room”
DollyS1970, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not good for disabled”
jelunga, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 43* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 44
Hotwire.com
CheapTickets
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates