We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Strand Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Strand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

614 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 604: English reviews
Start your review of The Strand Hotel
 Click to rate
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I booked 3 rooms here for my wife and I and her two sisters, one of whom is disabled and the other also has mobility problems. I checked if they had accessible rooms and when I booked I asked for the rooms to be near together, and either ground floor or near a lift. When we arrived we had all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jelunga
redhill
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent Friday & Saturday here with ukbreaks, we have stayed before when it was Hinton Royal, but now The Strand. Shame the new owners have not spent money on it since they took over. We arrived Friday and given card to room 328, told the lift is only for one person at a time....... 5 flights of stairs later we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank susan k
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Everything is lovely in here , location right on the sea , fantastic price included the weekend ones...parking ,rooms are big enough and warm , with all accessories . Staff 10/10.We'll come again and again ❤❤

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gaabriell
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am about to leave this hotel after an eight day stay , and I have no complaints . For a budget hotel the rooms were clean and adequate . I had own bathroom , shower and tv .The rooms were serviced daily and all the staff were delightful and professional . It was the cheapest deal in Eastbourne and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richardhuggins18
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Feb 13/14 2017 Took 3 attempts to find a room with unused and unstained bed linen. Ended up in room 106. Dusty and grubby, broken lamp, mildew in shower, draughty window sealed with sellotape unsuccessfully. No wifi, poor tv reception. Curtains would not open fully. Corridors uneven floors. Ancient lifts were scary to use. Lift down to Bistro only took...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hhayward2017
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We were very impressed with this hotel, our room was very clean the bathroom was spotless. The bed was comfortable the towels were good, the tea facilities were excellent. Overall it was very good for the price.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma W
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

The hotel is very poor, our room which had a sea view was very poor. Cold , small dirty room with No hot water. Bed has been put the wrong way around so if you want to see the view that you paid for stand up!!. Stayed two nights so was looking forward to it being cleaned but NO ,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank garyinsomerset
Reviewed 31 January 2017

What a great location and attentive staff - the hotel has clearly been ungraded since i last stayed and was very pleased. Will definitely be back in, cant wait to visit in the sunshine! Thank you for a lovely stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anna W
gosport
Reviewed 18 January 2017

New Year at the Strand Hotel Eastbourne The coach to the Strand Hotel Eastbourne was an old T reg, uncomfortable and well passed its sell by date On arrival we were given one room key per couple. The room was small and very scruffy. A tatty, filthy curtain covering old single glazed dirty draffy window. The bed had a thin...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank john t
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Booked and paid extra for seaview room but was put in tiny room at back of the hotel, over looking an alleyway where people hung round drinking and making lots of noise. The staff refused to move me and apparently the manager was unavailable. I left early and tried to contact the manager several times to request a refund or...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Cathnew2017
gm-strandeastbourne, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cathnew2017 Thank you for your review and I apologise if you did not enjoy your stay. We always have a seaview room available if it is booked and paid for. I am unable to verify that you have genuinely stayed with us as the details don't seem to match so am unable to make any further comments here.

174 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (166)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
1.0 km away
Marine Parade Hotel
Marine Parade Hotel
#35 of 42 in Eastbourne
126 reviews
1.1 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#21 of 42 in Eastbourne
1,221 reviews
0.4 km away
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
#33 of 42 in Eastbourne
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
1.2 km away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#9 of 42 in Eastbourne
418 reviews
0.7 km away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 42 in Eastbourne
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel is located directly on Eastbourne seafront opposite the beach with easy walking distance to the pier, bandstand, theatres and the main shopping and town centre facilities. The Hotel has 110 bedrooms with a Bistro restaurant , an Indian restaurant, 3 bars and function rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Address: 35-42 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England (Formerly Hilton Royal Parade Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: $51 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Eastbourne
Eastbourne Hilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Strand Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Strand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not good for disabled”
 of 5 bubbles jelunga, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“At these prices take whats available ,but i believe the front overlooks the sea .”
 of 5 bubbles richardhuggins18, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“124 was right over the bar - if there is any entertainment you are unable to hear the tv as really loud..”
 of 5 bubbles christinemaidana, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“To many stairs ask for a lower room”
 of 5 bubbles jennifer1950, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Seaview room biggest”
 of 5 bubbles markjw4119, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5