We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

731 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 651: English reviews
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a nice stay at flamingo hotel...nothing so special but nice swimming pool and good clean rooms, good room service and delicious breakfast. Although the only problem was they had an elevator not working so it was crowded on elevators then....

Helpful?
Thank mo8833
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Knowing that you have enjoyed your stay is the best rewards for my team. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again. Thank you Best regards Ong Hai Leong General Manager Flamingo Hotel by the beach... More 

Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked this hotel with a high price, but I was totally disappointed. We reached the hotel, the pathway from the car-park to lobby (1st floor) didnt give any feeling of star hotel. I felt I went into any old style condominium. One of the lift was under-repair. The lobby had 10+ fans running ( WTH 3* Hotel with No... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cj_shiju
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for your valued review. We are glad to know that some aspects have met your expectations. However, we sincerely apologize for those that fell below your expectations. I will personally look into those matters with my team for immediate improvement. Rest assured that your next visit will be a truly... More 

Travellers are raving about these Tanjung Bungah hotels

Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel is very old. Bed sheets have holes and dirts which are unacceptable. When having bath, they do not a proper screen and water spills out of the bath tube area. Air conditioner is not cool neither. But luckily, the staff helped us to change the room.

Helpful?
Thank Elise T
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for your detailed feedback. We regret to hear that your stay didn’t turn out to be a pleasant one. Your comments are very important to us and we will seriously work towards a better service in the future. We hope to have you back in Flamingo Hotel by the Beach,... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Iron only available at level 14 and 6 Shower quite slow. Meal only for 1 pax and bed not comfortable as they put extra bed instead of replace normal which it's movable while you sleeping and your head level will be higher than your feet. Wifi is good and room is quite big.

Helpful?
Thank zed z
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for your review. We take your feedback very seriously and will work towards improvements of what was lacking immediately. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again in Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang. Thank you Best regards Ong Hai Leong General... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2016

First time here last week. Check in very late at about 1am on the 5th already as we were on the last flight from Singapore. Order Nasi Goreng Special from our room. The food was good and filing. Breakfast was ok as they have a selection of choice Malay, Chinese, Indian and Western breakfast. Thru out the 3 days we... More 

Helpful?
Thank IsmailRahman
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Knowing that you have enjoyed your stay is the best rewards for my team. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again. Thank you Best regards Ong Hai Leong General Manager Flamingo Hotel by the beach... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

I went to the hotel with my family as we were looking for a hotel that is accessible to the beach and have swimming pool. The rate was quite cheap considering that was school holiday period. So here's the full review: Breakfast - not much to expect. I went down at 8am and left with empty trays. Need to wait... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aziela R
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for your detailed feedback. We regret to hear that your stay didn’t turn out to be a pleasant one. Your comments are very important to us and we will seriously work towards a better service in the future. We hope to have you back in Flamingo Hotel by the Beach,... More 

Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We visited Flamingo Hotel by the beach and had 2 deluxe Seaview rooms side by side. Unfortunately the hotel needs a lot of minor maintenance work. The first room we were on was on level 15. The safe and telephone didn't work and the remote was missing parts. When the lift decided to stop working we were unsure of where... More 

Helpful?
Thank rpracy87
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for your valued review. We are glad to know that some aspects have met your expectations. However, we sincerely apologize for those that fell below your expectations. I will personally look into those matters with my team for immediate improvement. Rest assured that your next visit will be a truly... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Checked in to this hotel unaware until we arrived that it was Malaysia School Holidays. Kids everywhere...and I mean everywhere. The hotel itself could do with a good spruce up. Room was fine, beautiful view and good balcony but was old and tired. Good value for money however did not use the pool as there were too many kids in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Monique B
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for your valued review. We are glad to know that some aspects have met your expectations. However, we sincerely apologize for those that fell below your expectations. I will personally look into those matters with my team for immediate improvement. Rest assured that your next visit will be a truly... More 

Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Second time stayed here, this is the worst experience. It was school break and the reception was very busy. With minimum staffs at the reception counter (only opened up for 2 ques) and check in process took around 10 mins per person and I was the 5th person! Imagine how long do we need to wait for our turn? Furthermore... More 

Helpful?
Thank MizzE_77
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for your detailed feedback. We regret to hear that your stay didn’t turn out to be a pleasant one. Your comments are very important to us and we will seriously work towards a better service in the future. We hope to have you back in Flamingo Hotel by the Beach,... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

This was my second visit to Flamingo and I must say the renovations has totally transformed the beautiful hotel to a very corporate and concrete place. The services has gone down, breakfast menu is very limited and the rooms are not kept that well like before. Sad to see a good hotel's service detoriating like this.

Helpful?
1 Thank SaiyeraEkram11
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for your review. We take your feedback very seriously and will work towards improvements of what was lacking immediately. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again in Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang. Thank you Best regards Ong Hai Leong General... More 

1,013 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (519)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (84)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
View from Room (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (126)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (122)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (479)
Viewed
2-Bedroom Suite (88)
Viewed
3-Bedroom Suite (132)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (43)
Viewed
Pool (35)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Bungah
0.4 km away
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
#4 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
677 reviews
3.2 km away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
1,556 reviews
1.5 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
724 reviews
4.8 km away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
5.2 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
3,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang

Address: Jalan Tanjung Bungah, Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Tanjung Bungah
Price Range: $68 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo By The Beach Hotel Tanjung Bungah
Flamingo Hotel By The Beach, Penang Tanjung Bungah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose any other hotel's room :P”
 of 5 bubbles cj_shiju, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Best view is to face the sea.”
 of 5 bubbles IsmailRahman, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“11th floor ocean view was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles MoniqueB427, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“you will love the corner suites”
 of 5 bubbles shelinagoh77, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms on the car park side (Right Hand Side as you face the hotel) they are noisy. The aircon throughout is noisy”
 of 5 bubbles phildN7852RI, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay