We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang

0.4 km from Tanjung Bungah centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Jalan Tanjung Bungah, Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

751 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 669: English reviews
Start your review of Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Hardly as one faces looking up at your hotel...at front entrance...one would ask WHY ? Is the management forgot to ask to repaint the walls...check it out! The reception received was cold...esp.by bellman on duty.Must a check in guest waits for service...not in sight.... Amenities of hotel ...ok...spacious....hanging ceiling fans...beautiful scenery .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank safwanlim
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for your valued review. We are glad to know that some aspects have met your expectations. However, we sincerely apologize for those that fell below your expectations. I will personally look into those matters with my team for immediate improvement. Rest assured that your next visit will be a truly...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is our second visit to this hotel. Staffs at reception was not friendly. Rooms look dull and old. Furnitures worn out. Aircond vent was dirty. Quite hot during the night. Bathrooms was not clean. This hotel desperately needs an upgrade!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShankShama
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for your detailed feedback. We regret to hear that your stay didn’t turn out to be a pleasant one. Your comments are very important to us and we will seriously work towards a better service in the future. We hope to have you back in Flamingo Hotel by the Beach,...

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are big but definately need makeover. Bed was too soft. Staff was helpful but not well versed. Had to check 3 times before he could give me proper information about late check-outs. Breakfast was totally disappointing. Food does not look appetizing. Spa was a disappointment. They would not even do an additional 5 minutes pass their closing time....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lovejeep
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for your detailed feedback. We regret to hear that your stay didn’t turn out to be a pleasant one. Your comments are very important to us and we will seriously work towards a better service in the future. We hope to have you back in Flamingo Hotel by the Beach,...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Having just travelled through most ofMalaysia, our group of workmates were looking forward to relaxing on a deck chair by the beach and thankfully that is exactly what we got. Sadly I wouldn't risk my health swimming in the sea water (but I wouldn't pin this on the hotel), however to compensate, the hotel facilities were great (pool + gym)....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JeffandPolly
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Knowing that you have enjoyed your stay is the best rewards for my team. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again. Thank you Best regards Ong Hai Leong General Manager Flamingo Hotel by the beach...

Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Reviewed 17 January 2017

The staff provided very good service, very professional and helpful from the moment we arrived. As for the rooms the furniture in the rooms needed an update. Curtains were looking dirty. Bathroom was a bit dirty, we could see the mould on the tiles. Wi-Fi connection was terrible, we were having a lot of difficulty connecting to WIFI in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SIanchong
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for your valued review. We are glad to know that some aspects have met your expectations. However, we sincerely apologize for those that fell below your expectations. I will personally look into those matters with my team for immediate improvement. Rest assured that your next visit will be a truly...

Reviewed 9 January 2017

Spend 2 nights here for my family trip. Room size is big, even 3 persons stay in the room still have space for you to walk around. My room is facing the sea which add additional mark. In the bathroom, they have to repair or refurbish as some of the items is not function/broken or not presentable. Breakfast provide variety...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iyrischin W
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for your detailed feedback. We regret to hear that your stay didn’t turn out to be a pleasant one. Your comments are very important to us and we will seriously work towards a better service in the future. We hope to have you back in Flamingo Hotel by the Beach,...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 9 January 2017

It was my first time staying at Flamingo and we really enjoyed our time, front office team very friendly and attentive same goes to all of them except housekeeping, not fluent in English and very bad behavior when we asked for one extra shampoo and they started to talking to each other for so long that we eventually gave up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PanizAmani
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for your valued review. We are glad to know that some aspects have met your expectations. However, we sincerely apologize for those that fell below your expectations. I will personally look into those matters with my team for immediate improvement. Rest assured that your next visit will be a truly...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Thought it was a while since I stayed here, so I booked my family in this hotel. Upon arrival at about 10pm, I went to check-in. Goshhh.........what a welcome! No smiles or whatsoever, but, I guess the girl who checked us in must be tired. Never mind.. We went to our room, which is a 2 bedroom suite, well, they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jademoon
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for your detailed feedback. We regret to hear that your stay didn’t turn out to be a pleasant one. Your comments are very important to us and we will seriously work towards a better service in the future. We hope to have you back in Flamingo Hotel by the Beach,...

Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Shocking reception behaviour! Poor service! Poor breakfast buffet! dirty room in a 4 star hotel! We booked and confirmed prior to arrival. Check in was not good at all! No welcome! No greetings! The first thing we were welcomed with was: do you have a reservation?!!!!! Then they wanted to share us more than what we expected! Nothing is done...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mohatravels
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for your detailed feedback. We regret to hear that your stay didn’t turn out to be a pleasant one. Your comments are very important to us and we will seriously work towards a better service in the future. We hope to have you back in Flamingo Hotel by the Beach,...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We were happy on arrival when the lovely lady at the front desk upgrades us to a king bed on a higher floor (15th) so we had a better view. The pool is lovely and bed and pillows are very comfortable. Room is clean and bathroom and room are huge in size. Highly recommended hotel however it is not close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ccampxx
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Knowing that you have enjoyed your stay is the best rewards for my team. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again. Thank you Best regards Ong Hai Leong General Manager Flamingo Hotel by the beach...

1,014 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (520)
Viewed
Bathroom (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (85)
Viewed
View from Room (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (122)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (128)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (479)
Viewed
2-Bedroom Suite (88)
Viewed
3-Bedroom Suite (132)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (43)
Viewed
Pool (35)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Bungah
3.2 km away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
1,610 reviews
0.4 km away
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
#5 of 7 in Tanjung Bungah
710 reviews
1.5 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 7 in Tanjung Bungah
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
#2 of 7 in Tanjung Bungah
751 reviews
3.8 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
2,037 reviews
5.2 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
3,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang

Address: Jalan Tanjung Bungah, Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Tanjung Bungah
Price Range: $56 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo By The Beach Hotel Tanjung Bungah
Flamingo Hotel By The Beach, Penang Tanjung Bungah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for seaview rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Lovejeep, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request for rooms on the high floors and directly facing the sea (full view) if not you will get partial view or slightly obstructed view.”
 of 5 bubbles SIanchong, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“near the beach”
 of 5 bubbles PanizAmani, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do Not waste your holidays and your money here!”
 of 5 bubbles mohatravels, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go for sea view room Hill view rooms are near to busy road.”
 of 5 bubbles car0lc0chrane, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5