We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Citybox Bergen

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Citybox Bergen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

305 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Citybox Bergen
See the most recent reviews
Showing 155: English reviews
Michigan
Reviewed 9 November 2014

My single room was clean, comfortable, spacious, and reasonably priced. However, the rooms are not cleaned during your stay unless you request it. Check-in is at a kiosk machine that I had no problem using and looking up my reservation. Check-out with the machine was easy as well. Wifi was free but at the time of my stay was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allison D
San Cristobal de las Casas
Reviewed 23 October 2014

The rooms are comfortable, the reception is friendly, the common space is comfortable. We put a note in our reservation that we were on honeymoon. In response, they upgraded us to a room with bathroom and put a small 'happy wedding' card and chocolates on the desk. With us, they went above and beyond. I would definitely stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bakermarathoner
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewed 20 October 2014

Budget accommodations but successfully covers basic needs: quiet and safe neighborhood, clean room with comfortable bed, adequate work space with two chairs and good light, clean bathroom with good hot shower and heated floors, and an abundance of electrical outlets. Electric kettle and microwave available in the large common room and a self-service laundry with free detergent. Friendly and helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank molly1548
Italy and LA
Reviewed 14 October 2014

My husband and I stayed at the CityBox hotel in Bergen and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was very clean, the rooms were spacious and overall the entire structure was very well maintained. The hotel Manager, Anne Marie made our stay in Bergen a true pleasure, she is highly professional and helped us with all of our questions, concerns and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KarlotaItalyandLA
Toulouse, France
Reviewed 10 October 2014

City box is located few hundred meters from the train station and you can easily go walking in bergen center! Rooms are old without any decoration could be noisy cause it is located in a corner street. Floor carpets are not perfectly clean... The main thickness of city boxthere is no breakfast proposed, however you can find food shop at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Max F
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Reviewed 10 October 2014

Great Location, we stayed in a family room, which was very big, and spacious, only thing it lacked was a TV in the room, theres a supermarket around the corner and just a few minutes walk from bars and restaurants, good security, wifi was touch and go, would stay here again no problem Ps. its right close to one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie_Lambo
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Reviewed 9 October 2014

Citybox is walking distance to pretty much everything you would want to do in Bergen and just a few blocks from Central Station! Our room was very spacious (it actually had a desk and couch). We booked a room with a shared bathroom and I was pleasantly surprised that we only had to share with one other room. However, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank egott25
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2014

We stayed here for three nights in September. Yes it's basic but it's clean and comfortable. All the staff we met were lovely. Bergen is very expensive and City box offers very good value. The on site cafe was not open but the lady in reception told us about a coffee shop close by which was lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elaine G
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 28 September 2014

This is more like a hostel. It's very basic and a bit rough around the edges at places. However the room was clean and the bed comfortable. We upgraded to a room with a bathroom. The bathroom was clean and look pretty new. Shower was nice with good water pressure and hot water. Close to the train station and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer-of-SF
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 27 September 2014

If you ever visit Bergen, I suggest you NOT to stay at the Citybox Hotel. Unfortunately I had a very reasonable experience during the last two days I stayed there (September 2014). 1. Internet: without any previous information after I made my reservation, I was not told that the Internet had connection problems in the rooms. This information was given...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liebrecht
Rose-Marie H, Front Office Manager at Citybox Bergen, responded to this review

Dear Liebrecht thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts about Citybox Bergen. 1. I can see that you stayed with us from the 24th until the 26th of September, and it is true that we had internet troubles on the day of your arrival. This was due to problems with our internet provider, and it was our...

113 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Basic Hotel Bergen
#22 of 45 in Bergen
348 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 45 in Bergen
1,016 reviews
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 45 in Bergen
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#16 of 45 in Bergen
786 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Clarion Hotel Admiral
#6 of 45 in Bergen
933 reviews
Vågen
Klosterhagen Hotel
Klosterhagen Hotel
#11 of 45 in Bergen
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Citybox is a modern economy hotel with low prices.Our rooms are cheap because we keep our overheads down while still offering our guests what they really need: a simple and stylish room with a comfortable bed, a good chair, a desk and a place to hang your clothes. Wireless broadband is available free of charge throughout the hotel.Citybox combines simplicity with comfort and low prices. The hotel is located in the centre of Bergen.If you want to spend your money on something other than a minibar and room service, then Citybox is the place for you. Bergen is full of bars. Why do you need one in your hotel room? ... more   less 

Additional Information about Citybox Bergen

Address: Nygaardsgaten 31, Bergen 5015, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Price Range: $127 - $549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Citybox Bergen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Citybox Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citybox Hotel Bergen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Citybox Bergen staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Citybox Bergen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper floors, away from street to avoid any noise”
 of 5 bubbles davcru2015, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher up.”
 of 5 bubbles darrellhilton, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you have a room facing the street if you are visiting in late 2016 to avoid construction noise.”
 of 5 bubbles davep44, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ask for a quiet room”
  • Room
 of 5 bubbles Carla_MV, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Option for 4 person in Single Room”
 of 5 bubbles nilesh1610, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay