We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Basic Hotel Bergen

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Basic Hotel Bergen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 185: English reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A small, but clean hotel. The staff was professional and very helpful. Great location only a short walk from inner city of Bergen. Lift and secure hotel. Missing breakfast, but a good café only 100meters from the hotel. All in all, a good hotel with low prices.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olav A
Basic Hotel B, Receptionist at Basic Hotel Bergen, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this full score review, we really appreciate it! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your Christmas trip and that you had a nice stay at Basic Hotel Bergen. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel, and wish you a happy Christmas. Kindly regards Susanne and the staff at Basic Hotel Bergen

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

I enjoyed my time in Bergen, and I stayed at Basic Hotel. The rooms were clean, the staff professional, friendly and helpful. And the prices were cheap! I liked the way my room was laid out, and it was very convenient for my exploration of beautiful Bergen . Highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia L
Basic Hotel B, Receptionist at Basic Hotel Bergen, responded to this review

Dear Julia L, Thank so much for this full score review, it is highly appreciated! We are delighted to hear that you had a great time in Bergen and a pleasant stay at our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed everything from the room to the staff, and we wish you all the best. Kindly regards Susanne and the staff...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

What a lovely hotel fantastic manager Quinn who just happened to be Aussie Arrived after reception closed and specific instructions given to access hotel and get key. The room was a double lovely and roomy with a great bathroom heated floor. Tv chair table etc. lovely fluffy pillows great heating. Lift and secure hotel. Very close to the center only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank noelle n
Basic Hotel B, Manager at Basic Hotel Bergen, responded to this review

Hi Noelle, Thanks for taking the time out of your extensive travels to write about us, it's much appreciated. I'm glad you enjoyed Bergen, and your stay with us. It's always a pleasure to have a bit of a chit-chat with fellow Aussies, you certainly picked up on the accent really fast! We hope you can come and visit us...

Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

Prices were great for a hotel in Bergen. Name says it all. It's a basic hotel, but with designer decor. Rooms were pretty clean, my floor could have used another sweeping, but was otherwise great. Staff was helpful and friendly. Reception has limited hours (as most hotels in Bergen do) for winter. Great location only a short walk from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan L
Basic Hotel B, Receptionist at Basic Hotel Bergen, responded to this review

Dear Megan L, Thank you for this full score review, we really appreciate it! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the concept of Basic Hotel Bergen, that you found the location convenient, and especially that you were pleased with our staff. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Best regards Susanne and the staff at Basic...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Near to most attractions, many eateries and supermarkets nearby. Walking to bus and train station takes about 15 mins. Room is quite spacious. Love the big pillows, good sleep. Though stay at 2nd floor, not noisy as most review mentioned. Maybe did not stay on weekends

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dtay2016
Basic Hotel B, Receptionist at Basic Hotel Bergen, responded to this review

Dear dtay2016, It is lovely to hear about your positive experience at Basic Hotel Bergen, and we thank you for this nice review. We are delighted to hear that you found the room specious, the location convenient, and that you loved the big pillows. We hope to offer you a pleasant stay again, thank you! Kindly regards Susanne and the...

Reviewed 6 November 2016

We stayed here for one night and we checked in at late hours (21:00) because of train delay from Oslo. The lock provided in the box was not working and we had to call to security guard services. They assisted us in providing another room over the call. Overall it was a pleasant location near to Airport Shuttle bus stop....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chanukya k
Basic Hotel B, Receptionist at Basic Hotel Bergen, responded to this review

Dear chanukya k, We appreciate your feedback, and thank you for this review. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay. We do however apologize for the lock box, and we are glad everything worked out in the end. We wish you the best, and hope to welcome you back to Basic Hotel Bergen

Stavanger, Norway
Reviewed 6 November 2016

A nice hotel with friendly staff. The room was spaceous and clean. A little bit strange to have to walk to a cafe for breakfast, but once there it was å fine cafe and the breakfast deal from the hotel was good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank guest476
Basic Hotel B, Receptionist at Basic Hotel Bergen, responded to this review

Dear guest476, we kindly thank you for this nice review, your feedback is highly appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, and that you though our staff was friendly. We are also glad that you liked the bakery-deal we offer. We hope to offer you a pleasant stay again in the future. Kindly regards Susanne and...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 5 November 2016

Great location just a short walk and I was in the middle of Bergen. Loved the easy check-in and check-out. Everything I needed was there, they even provided free earplugs on the night table since there is a cool bar nearby which plays some music at night on the weekends. Great price and comfy accommodations.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jana M
Basic Hotel B, Receptionist at Basic Hotel Bergen, responded to this review

Dear Jana M, Thank you for this nice review. It warms our hearts to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and fond Basic Hotel Bergen to be everything you needed. We hope to welcome you back again for a low-price, comfy stay. Kindly regards Susanne and everyone at Basic Hotel Bergen

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 5 November 2016

Too noisy outside at night, even in 4 Floor, music until 3, screaming until 5 at night, in the middle of the week. Never more! The bed was ok. Smoke comes in through the ventilation? Ok bed. Too expensive for the standard.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kfolvi_128758
Basic Hotel B, Receptionist at Basic Hotel Bergen, responded to this review

Dear kfolvi_128758, Thank you for taking your time writing a review, your opinion is highly appreciated. We sincerely apologize for not being able to provide you with a pleasant stay, and you have our deepest sympathies for being bothered by the nearby locations. We will work even harder to improve. We wish you the best in future travels. Best regards...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 5 November 2016

We stayed two nights in Bergen while on vacation. We arrived late at night, so the reception was not staffed (only daytime). We got thorough information on how to get inside by SMS and mail, though, and were happy to see the quality of the room on the 5th floor. Although the floor in the room was not very clean,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jansen795
Basic Hotel B, Receptionist at Basic Hotel Bergen, responded to this review

Dear Jansen795, We really appreciate this great review, and kindly thank you for the feedback. It warms our hearts to hear that the were pleased with the room in 5th floor, and the room facilities. We are glad to hear that you would recommend our hotel for both shorter and longer stays. We will work further to improve, especially on...

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#16 of 45 in Bergen
786 reviews
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#14 of 45 in Bergen
638 reviews
Vågen
Klosterhagen Hotel
Klosterhagen Hotel
#11 of 45 in Bergen
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 45 in Bergen
497 reviews
Magic Hotel
#35 of 45 in Bergen
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Basic Hotel Bergen is located in the city center of Bergen. We try to keep our solutions as simple as possible, in order to provide a good alternative when you are looking for smart, affordable accommodation. Basic Hotels are suitable for guests who want a comfortable stay in a casual setting, but have no need for extra hotel luxuries and services. Nevertheless, our hotels boast modern design and perfect functionality. All our rooms come with a private bathroom, free Wi-Fi, an electric kettle, TV, refrigerator, hairdryer, a convenient desk and a wardrobe. The rooms have oak parquet flooring. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Basic Hotel Bergen

Address: Haakonsgaten 27, Bergen 5015, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Price Range: $94 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basic Hotel Bergen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Basic Hotel Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Basic Hotel Bergen staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Basic Hotel Bergen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room that does not face the street.”
 of 5 bubbles emilyv321, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you're a light sleeper - ask to be as high up as possible away from the bar and street.”
 of 5 bubbles newlueh_la, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room facing away from the street. There is nothing to see there anyway, and it can be quite noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles davidlG4637CE, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“safe and clean. ”
 of 5 bubbles 462myran, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask about the shower doors.”
 of 5 bubbles wavyhorses, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay