We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Scandic Byparken

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Scandic Byparken
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

775 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 416: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a decent room, not very big, with little place for storage, facing an internal wall, but the bed was very good, the location in Bergen excellent, and the breakfast almost sublime! This, of course, is an european style breakfast, with the norwegian touch: a buffet, with a lot of cold plates. Sure, there is the eggs and bacon,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michel L
Management response:

Dear Michel L Thank you so much for this great review and rating of our hotel, we all appreciate it very much. Hope to see you here again! Kind regards Lene Mjeldheim Act. General Manager More 

Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good location with an easy, friendly check in. The room was clean and comfortable but the stand out was definitely the buffet breakfast. There were so many options to choose from and the smoothie shots were fantastic although would have been more enjoyable with some ice. Overall a great stay

Helpful?
1 Thank J-Europe
Management response:

Dear J-Europe Thank you so much for the nice review, I really appreciate it! Hope to see you here again. Best regards Lene Mjeldheim Act. General Manager More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Perfect location...close to all main tourist places to visit, within walking distance and breakfast is very good for a small hotel like that. Small but clean and very organized ...nice ambiance for day or night.

Helpful?
1 Thank mabel r
Management response:

Dear mabel r Thank you for the nice review of the hotel - we really appreciate it! Hope to see you here again. Best regards Lene Mjeldheim Act. General Manager More 

London, UK
Level Contributor
144 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Whilst the family room we had was an odd shape, in that it was long and thin, and even though there was very little storage space in the room I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this hotel. Its not the best, and not the most spacious, space is limited in the reception area too, however, the location is great in that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RocknRollStar
Management response:

Dear RocknRollStar I really appreciate this nice review, and hope to see you here again. Thank you! Kind regards Lene Mjeldheim Act. General Manager More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice room although a bit small for 2 people. Excellent breakfast, staff very helpful and friendly. Good location for the airport bus and for site-seeing in Bergen. Only 10 minutes walk from the Hurtigruten cruise ship. Reasonably priced for Norway, we would certainly use it again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen S
Management response:

Dear Stephen S Thank you for the nice review! Try one of our Superior rooms next time, those rooms are spacious and comfortable. Hope to see you here again! Vennlig hilsen Lene Mjeldheim Act. General Manager More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

The staff here are all friendly and helpful and if you go expecting a really great hostel/ cabin style room rather than a palatial hotel room then you'll be very happy. I can't say enough about the amazing breakfast! Bad points- our room overlooked some half built apartments and a very noisy generator hummed outside all night which made it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Seaside100115
Management response:

Dear Seaside100115 Thank you for the review, we really appreciate it! I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, but apologize for the noise outside your room. Hope to see you here again! Regards Lene Mjeldheim Act. General Manager More 

Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2016

PROS: Breakfast, Great location. CONS: SMALL SMALL rooms (they don't look like the rooms in the photo), Room functionality (Phone didn't really work), Cleanliness (We had a towel which wasn't very clean), no safe in room. Bottom line: I wouldn't return, and in my opinion this hotel even with the good location, isn't worth the price.

Helpful?
1 Thank Edokon
Management response:

Dear Edokon Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am glad that you were satisfied with the location of the hotel and our breakfast. I will talk to our Technical Manager and Housekeeping Manager regarding the phone that didn't work and the towel that was not clean, and I apologize that this was not according to... More 

Travellers are raving about these Bergen hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
318 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016

On first appearance the hotel wasn't much, other than a good location to town and the Greighallen where I was attending in business. Reception service was quick and friendly and directed me towards a lift around the back of reception to get to room. On entering the room, I first thought I had a day bed, but then as I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Polo_and_Marco
Management response:

Dear Polo_and_Marco Thank you so much for the good review. I'm very happy to read that you had a nice stay and hope to see you here again! All the best, Lene Mjeldheim Act. General Manager More 

195 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (173)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#11 of 44 in Bergen
974 reviews
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 44 in Bergen
379 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Clarion Hotel Admiral
#6 of 44 in Bergen
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 44 in Bergen
492 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Sentrum
Clarion Collection Hotel Oleana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Scandic Byparken (formerly Rica Hotel Bergen) is centrally located in the heart of charming Bergen, near to the bus station, railway station and city sights. Our hotel restaurant serves a generous breakfast, as well as lunch and dinner on request. We also have a nice lobby bar which is a great place to relax and have a freshly brewed cup of coffee. If you're planning a meeting, conference or event, we can provide flexible facilities for up to 80 participants. Parking is available close by for guests arriving by car. Free WiFi is available in all our rooms and public areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scandic Byparken

Address: Christiesgate 5-7, Bergen 5808, Norway (Formerly Rica Travel Hotel Bergen)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Sentrum
Price Range: $142 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Byparken 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Scandic Byparken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Travel Bergen
Bergen Rica Travel Hotel
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Bergen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scandic Byparken staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Scandic Byparken staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upgrade to the bigger rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles Edokon, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid lower floors - street noise can be disturbing.”
 of 5 bubbles TinaAthens, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room not facing the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles Tai_CW, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“outside rooms seem larger but will be noisy, inside rooms are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles michaeljY8855PL, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“rooms at the rear ,away from the road must be better”
 of 5 bubbles timthebluebus, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay