We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Thief

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Thief
The Thief
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,340 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 859: English reviews
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
151 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here one night and it was among my top three hotel stays ever. The rooms are great with very comfortable beds. The service is very good, really got nothing to complain about. Awesome rooftop terrace in the summer months.

Helpful?
Thank Eivind S
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Fantastic hotel. Amazing sleeping comfort. Excellent breakfast and polite staff. Located in a fresh and urban area in Oslo, right by the water. Only negative thing; the bathroom sink was clogged. Should have been noticed by the staff before I checked in.... Expensive, but very nice.

Helpful?
Thank Anita R
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review

Greetings and many thanks for your review of our property . Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay . As you mentioned were located in a " fresh & urban " area called Tjuvholmen on the Oslo Fjord . Your comments concerning the staff and breakfast were particularly pleasing and I´ll be sharing your thoughts with my colleagues... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a weekend in September and definitely picked the most perfect weekend weather wise. We caught the train from the airport and decided to walk to the airport from the central station - took around 30 mins and was pretty straight forward. This then gave us an insight as to our surroundings and what Oslo had in offer... More 

Helpful?
Thank sarahtlawrence83
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay . Glad that you took the time to enjoy a walk through the city on route to The Thief . I highly recommend that our guest bring a good pair of walking shoes as Oslo is a city to discover... More 

Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent. The hotel is in a new architectural district by the sea and offers all. Tom Dixon here, B&B there, very tastefully arranged. Nice personnel very friendly from early morning to late night. It was a pleasure to stay there. Definitely best hotel by far. Mun

Helpful?
Thank mav234
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review

Greetings and many thanks for your short , precise review of The Thief . Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay . As you mentioned we´re located on the Oslo Fjord with all the benefits of a waterside property . I feel that the fact we´re on an island has a very calming effect on the hotel .... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights to celebrate my birthday. I couldn't recommend it more. From the moment we stepped in, the service was fantastic. The room was beautifully decorated with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was included and was a good reason to get up, so many options! The bar downstairs has some truly wonderful cocktails... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline D
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review

Greetings and many thank for your review of The Thief . Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay . As you mentioned we have very comfortable beds and i should add that every room has an identical bed in size and quality . Glad that you took the time to explore the Lobby Bar as we have some... More 

Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Thief Oct 20-23 2016. The hotel is very nice with an interesting lobby and great public spaces. Our room was excellent with a great bed but the bathroom was laid out for someone who is disabled which made it difficult or us to use effectively. No shelf space and a huge walk in shower ( obviously to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sayarborough
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review

Greetings and many thanks for your review of our property . I can gather from your review that you stay was far from optimal . I have to give you some feedback concerning our breakfast as we have a very professional and attentive staff . I can´t see why you would not receive the same , excellent service we are... More 

Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ordered a room with sea view, but my room had an office building view. Room service did not pick up the phone when I called. Spa was OK but very small. To defend the price this hotel has to work a lot harder. Seems to be understaffed.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hobiewan
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . As i gather from your review your stay was not optimal and far from the standards we strive to achieve . I´ll be discussing some of your points with my colleagues and contacting your directly Wishing you a crisp Winter and looking forward to your return Dominic Guest Relations... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had read the hype about The Thief and worried it might be pompous or overtly trendy but it was a genuinely lovely place. Warm welcome at reception, modern, stylish yet individual decor, gorgeous room with a view, great cocktails and best ever hotel breakfast had in Norway. Ironically, only downer was sleep quality as the pillows were not very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank N K
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay . Glad that you found us to be genuine as our informality and attention to our guests needs is a major factor for myself and all my colleagues . To see that our breakfast was the " best , ever... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great Hotel Wonderful 4 day stay Extremely helpful staff Speak to Serena on reception if you really wish to enjoy Oslo Have a great massage in the Spa and enjoy the hotel in general Great location everything in walking distance

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ruttie70
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review

Greetings and many thanks for your short , precise review of The Thief . Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay . As you mentioned we have great therapist at The Spa and i highly recommend a few hours in their company . Glad that you got to know Serena as she is an exceptional young lady and... More 

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
90 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed there for 3 nights. As I am travelling quite often to Oslo, I can compare and it is probably one of the best hotels in the city! First of all, the rooms are super comfortable, especially the bed. The way they are designed makes it very easy to feel very good and at ease. The breakfast is also... More 

Helpful?
Thank FredK1412
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay . As you mentioned we have "super comfortable beds" and what is a hotel without a comfortable bed ? As Oslo Taxis #1 client we have a very efficient service from outside the hotel door . There is also public... More 

783 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (458)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (78)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from Room (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (87)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (204)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (248)
Viewed
Amenities (36)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (44)
Viewed
Dining (85)
Viewed
Superior Room (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (77)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Grand Hotel
#26 of 90 in Oslo
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 90 in Oslo
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stepping into THE THIEF is sure to rob you of something. Something familiar and shall we say, enslaving at times. And the thing is that the hotel is so good at it… that you might not notice until the end. You suddenly find yourself engaged in a world of new impressions: cutting-edge art, architecture and world-class gastronomy.And then it hits you, what’s been stolen from you…you haven’t had a single thought about your very long to-do list, the responsibilities at home, the everyday worries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Thief

Address: Landgangen 1, Oslo 0252, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Price Range: $431 - $635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Thief 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your The Thief reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Oslo
#1 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#4 Family Hotel in Oslo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Thief staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Thief staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“make sure you ask what type of room you're getting”
 of 5 bubbles sayarborough, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for view of the harbor facing the sailboats. It's magical!!!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles lindasF2975BT, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“High floor with a water view.”
 of 5 bubbles Boxer_Boston, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room overlooking the harbor was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles SarahM2011, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The higher rooms on the corner near the canal might give the best view, don't know about the view on the other side of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles travellingtaff4, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay