We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Scandic Sjolyst

Hotels.comUSD 140*
View Deal
#36 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
GreenLeadersBronze level
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Scandic Sjolyst
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

408 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 268: English reviews
Start your review of Scandic Sjolyst
 Click to rate
Turin, Italy
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The price is very high, likely because of the position in a businness district. Rooms are very basic. I believe it is not worthy the price, better to stay closer to the city centre as the zone is then easily accessible by public transportation.

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 883s
Bergen, Norway
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is quite old. The rooms are acceptable, but could use some refurbishing. I would recommend going to breakfast early in the weekends, and late during weekdays. I spend two minutes standing in line waiting to cut some bread. I later found a note in the elevator which showed the recommended time to eat breakfast based on average number...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank erlendmoland
Theodor v, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review

Dear erlendmoland Many thanks for your review. We do have grand plans for renovation and we are really excited to offer a product in a new suit hopefully sometime during 2018. Especially during weekends, sometimes there might be some delays due to a large number of guests having breakfast at the same time. I do hope you still had time...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Everything was as the title says. Friendly smiling staff, modern and clean room, and very easy to get to (10 minutes from Oslo Central Station on the train). One small issue was that our "Queen-size" bed was two single beds pushed together with a large sheet. We didn't really mind it though so did not, say to staff. It may...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ewan B
Theodor v, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review

Dear Ewan B Thank you so much for a wonderful review. I am delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. In regards to the beds, in Scandinavia at least, most King and Queen rooms uses this way to configure the beds. The beds are strapped together and we use a one piece top mattress which also...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on business. If I had booked this hotel with family or friends I would have been extremely disappointed. Pictures online show it to be modern and spacious, but the room I was in was dingy, and basic. Really dated. Staff friendly and breakfast each day was nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller1211
Theodor v, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review

Dear happytraveller1211 Thank you so much for your feedback after your recent stay with us. Also thank you for the appraisal of my colleagues and I am very happy to read that you enjoyed our breakfast. So sorry to hear that you felt disappointed. We do have rooms which has undergone renovation in different stages so therefore some of our...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed there for the weekend visiting family. Friendly and helpful staff as always, this is the third time we stayed at this hotel. There are a small variety of shops close to the hotel and even Starbucks! But if you want to visit Oslo center you can either walk or you can take the bus, subway or tram which...

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank miriamh532
Theodor v, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review

Dear miriamh532 Many thanks for taking the time to write us a few words after your last stay with us. Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the location practical for your needs. We look forward to your next visit to our hotel. Have a great day and see you soon I hope. Warmest regards Theodor von...

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

OK, it was a long journey from the Far East but the lowest point was walking into this hotel. Its got no competition locally and there are a number of large companies housed the other side of the railway lines... as a result they feel they just don't have to bother. Corridors dirty, marks in the bathroom and holes the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin D
Theodor v, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review

Dear Colin D Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a few words. Obviously, very disappointed and sad to read your reflections and the experience you had staying with us. No need for me to argue against your experience, as a hole in your bed sheet and blameworthy cleanliness is far from good enough from our...

Tromsoe, Norway
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ok hotel outside City centre, easy access by car. Rooms not perfect, temperature control should be better, and some areas should be better cleaned. Best was service, value and location. Overall nice stay.

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oyvind E
Theodor v, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review

Dear Oyvind E We do appreciate you taking the time to write is a few words after your recent stay with us. Thank you for that. Sorry to hear about the few obstacles you had but delighted to read the appraisal of my colleagues. Welcome back Warmest regards Theodor von Porat General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room looked great, though it was quite hot and I found no way if cooling it down when simply opening the window didn't help. The receptionist when I arrived was welcoming and humourous, I felt welcome from the second I arrived. He also did a good job with a woman who felt awkward for loosing her glasses possibly underneath...

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank r0nnyj2017
Theodor v, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review

Dear r0nnyj2017 Thank you so much for such a substantial feedback. The temperature fluctuations has been quite substantial over the last couple of weeks, therefore we had some challenges in cooling/warming the hotel fast enough. I do apologies if this made you stay less comfortable. Great to hear about the warm welcome, but I am obviously disappointed to learn that...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was clean and pleasant. There was a huge balcony that added to its ambience. The workplace could be better, with more business-oriented features, like sockets for pc's and mobile, a bigger screen and cables to connect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DagfinnAMork
Theodor v, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review

Dear DagfinnAMork Thank you so much for a great review. I appreciate the constructive feedback you left here and will definitely look into the possibilities for the things you point out. Thanks for that. Great to hear that you liked the room despite the missing features. Welcome back. Best regards Theodor von Porat General Manager

Europe
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are a couple who was there for a weekend stay. We had been there before and knew what to expect. The rooms are very practical, the breakfast is very nice, the location was perfect for us (we had an appointment nearby), all at a reasonable price by Oslo standards. In addition the staff was very friendly, flexible and accommodating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank knergaar
Theodor v, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review

Dear knergaar Lovely review. Thank you so much. Delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope to see you back with us. Have a great day. Warmest regards Theodor von Porat Hotelldirektør

132 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Scandic Solli
#32 of 100 in Oslo
843 reviews
Gamle Oslo
Scandic Helsfyr
Scandic Helsfyr
#47 of 100 in Oslo
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Hotel 33
#44 of 100 in Oslo
411 reviews
Scandic Vulkan
#17 of 100 in Oslo
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Scandic Sjolyst is located in a trendy area in Skoyen with cafes, shops and restaurants. Popular attractions such as the museums at Bygdoy and the park Vigelandsparken are only a 15 minute walk from our hotel. The hotel is perfectly located for outdoor activities such as running and biking as well as the popular beaches at Bygdoy. Public transport to the city centre is very convinient and it only takes 4 minutes by train. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scandic Sjolyst

Address: Sjoelyst Plass 5, Oslo 0278, Norway (Formerly Scandic Oslo Sjolyst)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Price Range: $118 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Sjolyst 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Scandic Hotels, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Sjolyst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Oslo Sjolyst Hotel Oslo
Scandic Hotel Oslo
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Oslo
#29 Business Hotel in Oslo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scandic Sjolyst staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Scandic Sjolyst staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for newly renovated rooms if possible.”
erlendmoland, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Good business hotel, would go to another hotel for tourism”
hasselmc, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a room on the upper floors.”
Engodmonsen, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Gym is available.”
avishri2016, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Quiet hotel - no noise at all but don't expect views though. My room looked on to an office block.”
149cathl, 23 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 140* /night
View Deal
CancelonUSD 157
Expedia.comUSD 140
TravelocityUSD 140
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates