We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thon Hotel Astoria

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thon Hotel Astoria
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

960 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 444: English reviews
Start your review of Thon Hotel Astoria
 Click to rate
London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very basic room, essentials only. Cheap enough for the location which is very good, very central and right next to Oslo train station. The bed was pretty small (single bed for one person occupancy, not uncommon in Europe). Breakfast was great though, very generous. Hotel staff were nice and spoke English perfectly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Premsy
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is situated conveniently near Oslo's central train station and is simply a small lobby door between shops and restaurants. There's a strip bar just down the street if you like that sort of thing, and it's a short walk to the 'ladies of the evening' patrolling the bottom of Karl Johan's Gate. The rooms are very small, no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Myles D
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel is right next to the city centre, with multiple restaurants and sights within walking distance. The room was good for the price we paid, however the bathroom door was semi-seethrough and for a group of four lads was unsettling to say the least... The breakfast buffet was very good, great balance of a lot of decent grub.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tajwar S
Versailles, France
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I came in from the airport and Central Station around midnight. I got my key at the desk in less than5 min. The rooms and the corridors need a lot of refurbishing. The hotel offer small rooms with a single bed at a very good rate. Fine if you travel on your own.

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
 Report
Helpful?
Thank crapichon
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is conveniently situated. However it was a real shock after staying at the Thon Hotel in Kirkenes. We were expecting the same level of hotel so it was a big disappointment to discover it is a budget hotel that is undergoing some renovation. The reception was very friendly and the breakfast was good. The room was tiny, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frandb17
Cathrine B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to write us your review. I am sorry to hear that we have failed to meet your expectations during your stay at Thon Hotel Astoria. We appreciate for taking the time to give us this feedback. This is the only way we can improve ourselves,...

Stavanger, Norway
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very near to central station. Good breakfast. Possible to get early breakfast pack if you are leaving early morning which is really nice gesture. Rooms are clean, staffs are friendly. Recommended for leisure or business.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_Galaxy
Cathrine B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your review and for sharing your experience. I am glad to see that our location was perfect for you, and that the staff took good care of you under your stay with us. Welcome back for your next stay! Best Regards Cathrine Bergan General Manager

Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here last march'15. The location is good due to a nearby train station, walkable to most of the tourist attractions, the room was quite congested and a small sized bathroom. Five stars for the tidiness and soundproofing. Breakfast was good and a youth friendly, welcoming reception team ~

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David Albert D
Cathrine B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear David Albert, Thank you so much for your review and for sharing your experience. Thank you for your nice comment regarding our breakfast and our receptionist team. We put great effort in our breakfast, so it is a true pleasure to hear that you enjoyed it. We warmly welcome you back to us for your next stay! Best Regards...

Corralejo, Spain
Reviewed 14 March 2017

A great room.Would have liked more light in the TV room.The heated floor in the bath room was great..The breakfast was plentyfull,and they have glutenfree. The staff was wonderfull. And the location is perfect.

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mali580322
Cathrine B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your review and for sharing your experience. I am glad to see that our location was perfect for you. Thank you for your nice comment regarding our breakfast and staff. We put great effort in our breakfast, so it is a true pleasure to hear that you enjoyed it so much. We warmly...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Upon entering the lobby, it was apparent this was a very budget hotel. A door held together with gaffa tape and seedy feel made me feel depressed about what awaited me upstairs. The rooms were better than expected - nice comfortable bed, modern clean (but tiny) bathroom. Curtains were torn, wifi worked at night but not in the morning. No...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KittyCar245
Cathrine B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking your time to write your review. I am sorry to hear that we have failed to meet your expectations upon your check in due to our renovation. I am although glad you had a good experience with us. Welcome back at Thon Hotels! Best regards Cathrine Bergan General Manager

Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

A great place for a short or long vacation,convenient location. Delicious and a great choice of food.Neat hotel room, a small disadvantage, because there is no place cached hygiene supplies. The friendly and helful staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amberrg
Cathrine B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your review and for sharing your experience. I am glad to see that our location was perfect for you. Thank you for your nice comment regarding our breakfast. We put great effort in our breakfast, so it is a true pleasure to hear that you enjoyed it so much. We warmly welcome you...

165 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (155)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Scandic Oslo City
Scandic Oslo City
#35 of 100 in Oslo
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#19 of 100 in Oslo
805 reviews
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#23 of 100 in Oslo
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Thon Hotel Astoria is a functional Budget Hotel located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel provides compact and clean rooms, friendly service, free WIFI and a great buffet type breakfast. Enjoy your breakfast daily until 11 AM. On a sunny day in the hotels backyard. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Astoria

Address: Dronningens gate 21, Oslo 0154, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Price Range: $158 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Oslo
Thon Hotel Oslo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thon Hotel Astoria staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
Westerville, Ohio

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Thon Hotel Astoria staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room beside the WiFi router and you may just get a working signal. Otherwise make sure you have 4G roaming”
979mylesd, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“7th floor rooms under the roof are quite , bigger and comfortable”
crapichon, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Just don't stay here!”
kerstinr644, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Like in most city hotels: Choose a room as high up as possible.”
sigmundm, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“(no indication of differences)”
JulieStoneybrook, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5