We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Scandic Vulkan

Save
Share
Maridalsveien 13, Oslo 0178 Norway
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ScandicHotels.com
USD 172
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (252)
Room & Suite (263)
Dining (111)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#31 of 103 hotels in Oslo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This modern Oslo hotel has an attractive location in Oslo's Vulkan area, just 2 km from central Oslo. Hotel Scandic Vulkan opened in October 2011.The new Scandic Vulkan hotel has a great location in Vulkan, just north of central Oslo and by the Akerselva river. Vulkan is a part of Oslo that represents innovation, creativity and culture. The hotel is also close to Oslo's trendy Grunerlokka area with plenty of cosy cafés, bars and parks as well as several cultural institutions and creative colleges. Oslo's city centre and popular attractions are only a 2 km walk from hotel Scandic Vulkan.When you stay at hotel Scandic Vulkan, don't miss a visit to our popular restaurant V. Our restaurant serves great local food and is a relaxed and informal meeting place from morning till evening. You can also enjoy a drink in our hotel bar or arrange a conference or event with us. With solar cells, geothermal energy and other smart solutions with environmental focus, Scandic Vulkan is the first hotel in Norway with the Norwegian term 'Energy class A'.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Indoor play area for children
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Norwegian
1005Reviews9Q+A67Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 351
  • 420
  • 163
  • 43
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Escape172236 wrote a review Sept 2021
Sola, Norway4 contributions1 helpful vote
Our weekend stay at Scandic Vulkan was very nice. The surroundings are superb and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast didnt lack anything, it was great! The view from our room was not very nice though and I also would have appreciate a minibar in the room. All in all we were very satisfied with our stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Monica Egeberg, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan
Responded 26 Sept 2021
Thank you so much for this wonderful review! Hope to be seeing you soon again!
Read more
roadtripnow wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
No room service, overpriced rooms. Why have the option on scandic website to book extras like lunch delivered to the hotel room. Then when no food arrives, and you ask the reception the hotel at checkout why the service never came, they state the hotel does not have room service. Shouldnt be an option then should it.. Waiting for a service that never arrives is not nice. Also paid for a superior room, but friends stayed the same night at different rooms with cheaper bookings, and got bigger rooms. Pure ripoff.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Monica Egeberg, Daglig leder at Scandic Vulkan
Responded 3 Sept 2021
Thank you so much for your feedback after your stay at Vulkan. I am so sorry that we did not deliver on this one, but I wonder if you might have the wrong hotel as we never offer extra lunch at our website. You can book breakfast to pick up in reception, that is the only offer we have at the moment. We use a dynamic prize structure that means the earlier reservation the cheaper the prize. I understand that this might be frustrating.
Read more
nikisnoris wrote a review Aug 2021
Drammen, Norway1 contribution
We stayed two nights and enjoined our stay very much. Loved Mathallen with several restaurants and bars. Easy to walk to Grunerløkka and the city center, also easy access to public transport with bus stop right by. Very service minded person working at the desk, doing all she could for us to be happy with our stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Monica Egeberg, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan
Responded 8 Aug 2021
Thank you so much for this wonderful review! Hope to see you again soon!
Read more
hallgeiremail wrote a review July 2021
1 contribution
Clean, good and varied breakfast and very nice location. The staff was very nice. Free parking in July which was nice. The room we had was big, but we asked for a room in the upper regions which we didn't get, we would have liked them to inform us of this in advance. All in all very nice.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Monica Egeberg, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan
Responded 3 Aug 2021
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Oslo.
Read more
mlgnorge wrote a review July 2021
1 contribution
The hotellrom furniture was due for an overhaul and no rugs etc. gave it a cold feeling. The staff seemed out of practice, nice enough but kind of uninterested, maybe due to corona lockdown. The breakfast was bland and not worth the money. The location is great, but we regretted not choosing the other hotel nearby.( PS hotel is the name,think that might be better, but haven’t been there)Felt like a cheaper hotel than was the actual cost.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Monica Egeberg, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan
Responded 7 July 2021
I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectations when staying at our hotel. I hope that we will see you again so we can show you that we are better in every way. Best wishes for the summer!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 82 - USD 154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NorwayEastern NorwayOslo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
149
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Scandic Vulkan
Which popular attractions are close to Scandic Vulkan?
Nearby attractions include Mathallen Oslo (0.05 km), Damstredet & Telthusbakken (0.3 km), and Vulkan Neighbourhood (0.04 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Scandic Vulkan?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Scandic Vulkan?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Scandic Vulkan?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Scandic Vulkan?
Conveniently located restaurants include Made in India by Aahar, Haralds Vaffel, and Chez Colin.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Scandic Vulkan?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Scandic Vulkan?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Scandic Vulkan?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Scandic Vulkan offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Scandic Vulkan?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Norwegian.