We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Thon Hotel Tromso

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Thon Hotel Tromso
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

388 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 196: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

What appealed to me most about the Thon Hotel was its low price- virtually unbeatable in the Tromsø city center. What I didn't realize until arrival was how immaculately clean and cozy the rooms were! My husband and I found the beds and linens to be extremely soft and comfortable, and the bathroom was incredibly clean. The free breakfast spread...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hannahjaneris
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review

We thank you for your positive evaluation of your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Tromsø We are pleased to see you had an enjoyable stay and that you value our location, our infrastructure and especially the service which your received from our staff. We will definitely share your feedback with them. We hope to see you back again...

Sweden
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Hotel was fresh and nice. The beds was very comfortable and large. Really good reading spotlights. Read through a 600 page book there. Room a bit small. Breakfast was generous and of very high standard. Toaster broken though..... Completely silent room although we where there on the new years night. We got a 2 hour late checkout at no...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Swede_Sunlover
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review

First of all, I would like to thank you for having taken the time to fill out this satisfaction survey. It is a pleasure for me to read that you enjoyed your stay. Your positive comments about the staff and the breakfast for example will be share with the entire team. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel to stay in. Slight walk out of the centre but only talking minutes at the most. Slight problem on the second night with noises coming from down the hallway , i rang resection and they came and sorted the problem out straight away. Nice breakfast in the morning with plenty to chose from.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alinumber7
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review

First of all, I would like to thank you for having taken the time to fill out this satisfaction survey. It is a pleasure for me to read that you enjoyed our hotel. Your positive comments about the staff and the breakfast for example will be share with the entire team. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in...

Wemmel, Belgium
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First: kudos to the reception staff! Perfect, friendly service! When we arrived at 23.00h we were tired and we got like the smallest room (room 413) in the whole hotel (felt like it) right next to elevator.There was no space for luggage anywhere, only one open cabinet to hang some clothes (+/- 6 hangers). We were to stay here for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NataschaDerese
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review

First of all, I would like to thank you for having taken the time to fill out this satisfaction survey. It is a pleasure for me to read that you enjoyed your stay. Your positive comments about the staff and the breakfast for example will be share with the entire team. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in...

Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Thon on our first night in Tromso. Rooms are clean and well equipped. Breakfast is good as others have said and th free tea and coffee in reception is a nice touch. The hotels location just a blovK away from the Main Street is very convenient with plenty of bars and eateries nearby. A no nonsense hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom H
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review

First of all, I would like to thank you for having taken the time to fill out this satisfaction survey. It is a pleasure for me to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the Thon Hotel Tromsø during your next visit to Tromsø

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided to revisit Norway just over six months from our first trip - mainly so we could see how it was during the winter months. Thon hotel in Tromso was the starting point on the return and I can't say I was disappointed by anything it had to offer. Our room was a bit smallish, but perfectly OK. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew G
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review

We thank you for your positive evaluation of your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Tromsø. We are pleased to see you had an enjoyable stay and that you value our location, our infrastructure and especially the service which your received from our staff. We will definitely share your feedback with them. We hope to see you back again...

Charlevoix, Michigan
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Great location. Small rooms but they are very clean and comfortable. We were woken up twice at 6am due to a false fire alarm but other than that it's very quiet. Wifi is quite good. Breakfast is not so good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Upnorthtransplant1
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review

Dear guest, We appreciate you took the time to evaluate your stay with us. We hope to see you back again in the near future.

Bexhill-on-Sea
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Room was small (as reported by other Tripadvisors), minimal storage but clean with good ensuite facilities. Highlight is extensive breakfast choice, served Monday - Friday from 7 am and weekends from 8 am. These times did make it difficult to be comfortably ready for any trips which start from eg Radisson Blu Hotel - especially in winter months, where dressing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review

Dear guest, We appreciate you took the time to evaluate your stay with us. We hope to see you back again in the near future.

Norway
Reviewed 15 November 2016

The hotel is average, rooms are small but clean. A big flatscreen in the room, and minibar. Staff is profesional. The breakfast was good. Overall an ok place to stay if you are going to stay in Tromsø for a short period

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thevikingNorway
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review

We appreciate you took the time to evaluate your stay with us. We hope to see you back again in the near future. We are pleased to see you had an enjoyable stay and that you value our location, our infrastructure and especially the service which your received from our staff. We hope to see you back again in the...

Reviewed 14 November 2016

The whole experience at this hotel was great. Check-in was easy. The room was small but when you're in Tromso, you don't spend much time in your hotel room. It was difficult to have more than 1 piece of luggage in the room. The 2 major cons we had with our room was no in-room safe and locking the door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janelle M
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review

We thank you for your positive evaluation of your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Polar. We are pleased to see you had an enjoyable stay and that you value our location, our infrastructure. We hope to see you back again in the near future.

115 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 km away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.3 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 km away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#4 of 18 in Tromso
598 reviews
0.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.3 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Tromso

Address: Groennegata 50, Tromso 9008, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Price Range: $181 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Tromso 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Thon Hotel Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tromso
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thon Hotel Tromso staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Thon Hotel Tromso staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room on top floor (6) have balconies! Room 621 great :)”
 of 5 bubbles NataschaDerese, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms can be very warm, they do have windows but ask reception if the temperature can be adjusted.”
 of 5 bubbles 78andrewg, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Best views from upper floors on south side.”
 of 5 bubbles 18Stephen90, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The higher you are the quieter it is plus, we got a fantastic Northern lights show from our window on 6th floor.”
 of 5 bubbles NormaJames, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
“No coffee or hot water in room but available in lobby”
 of 5 bubbles 99derrickn, 15 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay