We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

469 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 221: English reviews
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Location is a real estate cliche for a reason. We visited several cities on our most recent Europe trip, and we stayed in Vienna for 5 days. The location was less than 100 meters from the U-ban which was extremely convenient. And even better was the price less than $300 for four people for five nights total. The beds were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charles m
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear Charles, thank you for taking time and sharing your feedback. We are sorry that you don't got a better impression overall. We set a high value on cleanliness in our house, we apologize if this was not the case. Please feel free to talk to our reception team about any problem, so we can fix it immediately. We hope...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The dorm was really nice and clean, the staff is super friendly and helpful, I really enjoyed my stay there! It's also very cheap, which is amazing in Vienna for travellers on a budget. Only downside: it's a bit far from the city center (about 40 min walk to the Ring), altough the subway is right at the corner

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for the great review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to welcome you gain. Your Meininger Team from Vienna

Reviewed 21 October 2016

I was pleasantly surprised by my stay at Meininger. It was walking distance from the central station (~10 minutes), a block away from a metro station to get to downtown (which was about a 10 min metro ride), and a block away from a large shopping strip with a lot of food options. The only downside was there was no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you very much for your rating and the nice feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again for your next trip to Vienna. Kind regards, the Meininger Team

Reviewed 17 October 2016

This is a no frills kind of place that offers clean rooms at a reasonable price. The all of the staff members I encountered here are very friendly and go out of their way to be of assistance. Keep in mind that it mainly caters to the youth demographic--this is not really a place for families. The breakfast was fine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank N. D
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you very much for your rating! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again for your next trip to Vienna. Kind regards, the Meininger Team

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

The hostel has great en suite dorm rooms, very comfy and spacious, and felt very clean and safe. It is really out the way from the city centre and so you have to catch the metro, and I found it wasn't the best for socialising. Make sure you bring your own padlocks for the lockers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarmiteBoosh
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are glad that all in all you had a good stay with us. If you dont like to take the metro it`s only a 30 minutes walk trough the nice and aspiring 10th and 4th district, with all it's nice parks and restaurants/cafes. We hope to welcome you again in this or...

Reviewed 8 September 2016

Meininger properties are all about the location and this one was no different at barely 100 metres from the U-Bahn station Keplerplatz. Suffice it to say it's an absolute stroll to arrive at this hostel using public transport from wherever you are. We'd booked for 3 nights and had to cancel on the 3rd night entirely due to a change...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jkysharma
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for the gret review. We are happy that you enjoyed your time here at Meininger Central Sttion and looking forward to see you again soon. Cheers! Your Meininger Tem from Vienna

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 31 August 2016

This is a budget hotel that caters to a youth demographic, not couples or people seeking simple accommodations during their vacations. The upside of this hotel is that the staff are very helpful, but the downside is that you will have to put up with young people who yell and act rather immaturely in the hobby or wherever loitering is...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank OutMosquitoMe
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for the feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to see you again soon. As you mentioned it we are a mixture of a hotel and hostel. And the surrounding area is pretty international. Rough is not the right word. Your Meininger Team from Vienn

Reviewed 31 August 2016

Unfortunately I'm leaving a negative review because after staying at this hostel I have small bug bites all over my hands and body. Another individual in my dorm also shared that his body was itching all over due to bed bugs. Our dorm also had issues with our sink and shower draining, which it didn't. Thus we'd be in the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Martin B
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear Martin Thank you for your review. We checked both rooms you stayed in and we can't find single bug. The MEININGER Hotels are working together with the best pest control companies in Vienna as we take every possible occurence of insects very serious. We know bed bugs are getting a bigger problem in europe and we invest a lot...

Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Comfy, clean and friendly. Seema like a hotel, as you can have one card as the keys and you also have air conditioner in all rooms. The best thing about the hostel are two things: 1) the bathroom, single one, with hot water and 2) the bar downstairs. The location is good as well, once is right in front the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank victoralexandrino
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for the recommendation. We are very happy that you had a great stay here at Meininger Central Station and looking forward to see you again soon. As you mentioned it we do not have an AC in our rooms but we provide fans at the reception. Your Meininger Team from Vienna

Ramnicu Valcea, Romania
Reviewed 23 August 2016

good hotel, close to metro breakfast ok, underground parking, value for money, large rooms, cleanliness, recommended hotel for visiting Vienna, no air conditioning which can be a problem in summer months

 Report
Helpful?
Thank edwardsU8467LJ
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for rating us. We are happy that you enjoyed your time in Vienna and looking forward to the next time. As you mentioned it we do not have an AC but you can rent a fan at the reception. Your Meininger Team from Vienna

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Hotel Schani Wien
#40 of 366 in Vienna
547 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof
#27 of 196 in Vienna
412 reviews
Wieden
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 196 in Vienna
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The MEININGER Hotel Vienna Central Station is situated in the heart of Vienna, directly by Hauptbahnhof station, Vienna's former South Station. The baroque palace Belvedere and the Karlsplatz are only round the corner. It's just a 10-minute train ride to the city centre. In addition to modern rooms, the hotel also offers free WiFi throughout the hotel, a bar and a gamesroom. ... more   less 

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof

Address: Columbusgasse 16, Vienna 1100, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Price Range: $46 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel And Hotel Vienna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Rawang, Malaysia
8 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a private room.”
 of 5 bubbles 608nd, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“They have the card system wherein your card gives access to both your floor and room so anyone going out needs to have the card on them.”
 of 5 bubbles jkysharma, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay on one of the lower floors. Slow elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles OutMosquitoMe, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the court yard.”
 of 5 bubbles Gastronome19, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“Just find a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Orli-Hidai, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay