We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Post

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Post
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

440 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Post
See the most recent reviews
Showing 189: English reviews
Oak Forest
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Overall, this is actually a clean, basic hotel with good prices in a great location. I don't want to trash it because it had many good qualities. I would have given it another star or two but, unfortunately, we had a family room #603 and two of us slept on an uncomfortable fold out couch. (We were traveling with a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank S L
fraihs, Manager at Hotel Post, responded to this review

Dear S L, thank you very much for your comments. We are really sorry to read that, but to whom did you talk because of that, as I'm the manager but you definitaly didn't talk with me? As I don't know when you stayed with us, I also don't know if we were fully booked so no possibility to give... More 

Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Stayed here in December for 2 nights with my girlfriend. Very good location, in a fairly quiet street, close to the city centre and close to an underground station (Schwedenplatz). The staff were very helpful, receptionist could even speak fluent Hungarian, which my Hungarian girlfriend really appreciated. The rooms were quite basic, but no major problems. Breakfast was generous and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RyanParchie
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016

The Hotel Post is centrally located in the old part of the town, 1 minute from bus and tram stop and underground station from where you can reach every part of the town, the nearest train station in 2-minutes or the airport in less than half an hour. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The wi-fi is free and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Manuel_Porto
Chiavari, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Hi Hotel Post is a very good accomodation in Vienna. I sojourned 10 days and I’m very satisfied. Room is comfortable, bathroom functional. The building is nice. There aren’t architectural barriers and lift is comfortable. Hotel staff is very kind and efficient. Breakfast is rich and varied. Snacks and soups are available also during the day and in the evening... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank SilviaGaribaldi
Lier
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Conveniently situated in the old town near to the Schwedenplatz and no comments on cleanliness of the room. But that is about it. The staff at the reception are incredibly unfriendly, the rooms are outdated and could do with some TLC: stains on the walls, burning holes in the curtains, rough linnen that has seen better days,... Breakfast is really... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Melo_Belgium

Travellers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2016

The hotel is in a good location for seeing the sights around Vienna, and close to the underground station. We had a double room, which was a good size. It was at the front of the building and there were large windows, which let in plenty of light. It was two single beds pushed together, with separate bedding, rather than... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AmyCM6
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Stayed here for four nights and its proximity to the Schwedenplatz metro station and trams and 8 minute walk to the airport bus stop were definite positives. There is also a range of restaurants, shops and coffee shops nearby as well as a Spar supermarket at the end of the road. The staff were polite and helpful and we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank peter h
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for splashy style and specific 4-5 star luxury this hotel is probably not an appropriate choice. However, I knew what I was choosing when deciding on accommodation and I would like to share that besides the fact the location is really covenient and very good, the room and bathroom were clean and well kept. I did... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Etienne E
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

This place was such a let down to say the least. We have been travelling around Europe for the past two months and found the staff here to be the most rudest and unhelpful we have ever come across. The rooms are outdated and the bed sheets were dirty. Do yourselves a favor and spend a little bit more because... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fran H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

Do your self a favour and spend a little more for comfort, hotel is dated with no air conditioning or air ventilation system. It is in a great location which is a shame that the old hotel lets its self down. Staff are ok. The old design doesnt work you have to open your windows to breath, if your streetside... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank kcirtap911
fraihs, Manager at Hotel Post, responded to this review

Dear Mr, we are really sorry to read what you wrote, but we are a standard 3 star hotel, and not 4 star or higher. In all our discrptions you can read that we don't have any aircondition also many clients are happy about the possibility opening a window! Street side is NOT noisy, as there is nearly no trafic,... More 

106 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#184 of 366 in Vienna
298 reviews
Old University Quarter
Kaerntnerhof
Kaerntnerhof
#85 of 366 in Vienna
206 reviews
Old University Quarter
Alma Boutique-Hotel
Alma Boutique-Hotel
#125 of 366 in Vienna
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Pension City
Pension City
#87 of 366 in Vienna
166 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#23 of 366 in Vienna
1,096 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#20 of 366 in Vienna
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old University Quarter

Neighbourhood Profile
Old University Quarter
North of St. Stephen’s Cathedral, Vienna suddenly turns small, winding and medieval, opening up to legendary places such as the Basilisk sculpture at Schönlaterngasse, as well as glamorous baroque façades, courtyards and churches. Take 45 minutes for a casual stroll through Bäckerstrasse, Sonnenfelsgasse, Köllnerhofgasse, Grashofgasse, and Schönlaterngasse. This quarter is packed with stories and legends that will enrich your Vienna experience.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A central location with some nice tradition: Here was formerly the Gasthaus Zum white oxen, it was in later times known as Hotel Zur Stadt London. A house that counted personalities such as Mozart, Joseph Haydn, Friedrich Nietzsche, Richard Wagner, Frédéric Chopin and Leos Janacek to his regulars. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Post

Address: Fleischmarkt 24, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Old University Quarter , Innere Stadt
Price Range: $109 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Post 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel Vienna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Post staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Post staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not close to the street”
 of 5 bubbles GabyML1301, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“My room was a the front of the hotel, and Fleischmarkt is fairly quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles _ajnoble1964, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Aygun_Allahverdi, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Family room #603 has a fold out couch that is very uncomfortable... I would avoid it or use it for children only”
 of 5 bubbles 978KevinL, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No smocking rooms are available”
 of 5 bubbles SilviaGaribaldi, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay