We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus

Show Prices
#97 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
See the most recent reviews
Showing 496: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff was very helpful with dinner reservations and the woman in the breakfast room was extremely kind. Breakfast was large and varied. Our room was quiet and the beds had several down pillows and were very comfortable! The only negative aspect is the 4.70€ I paid for a double espresso in the lobby bar which I thought was excessive.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stemadsen
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this review

Dear Stemadsen, thank you for your comments. Our teammembers are really Vienna-experts, they know such a lot of secret tipps. Regards Elisabeth

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived here and got given the option for €60 to upgrade our room. I am so glad we did!! We were on the very top floor, had a great view of the city and all of the old buildings. The room itself was amazing, I was so impressed. The staff at the front desk are also so helpful. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darth-Reviewer
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this review

Dear Darth-Reviewer, thank for your comments. We are happy, that you enjoyed your stay in our Privilege Rooms. They are really fantastic with the impressions to the most famous Austrian painter Gustav Klimt in the 19th century. The aircondition is not working in winter, when the heating period is. But from the middle of march we can Change. Regards Elisabeth

Stuttgart
Reviewed 19 February 2017

The hotel is located very conveniently for both pleasure and business trips (close to the Rathaus metro stop). The room was well-kept, clean and warm. My night's sleep was very good. The Internet connection was sufficient and the staff were very friendly.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeNor
josefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this review

Dear PeNor, thank you for your comments. We are very happy, that you had a pleasant stay. hope to welcome you again Elisabeth Neubauer

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel, in city center, great location! in a quiet street. Next to the train station & tram. We had a room in Mercure privilege area and it was just perfect. The room was nice, and spacious, with all necessary amenities. The Hotel staff members will give you a great service! It was wonderful experience !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaayanLior
MercureJosefshof, General Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this review

Dear MaayanLior, we thank you for your comments and praises. We are very happy about it. Regards Elisabeth Neubauer

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 13 February 2017

The lobby area just needs an uplift and breakfast needs more variety. Otherwise, the room is all good! Clean and comfortable. The staff were super helpful, making the process of checking in and checking out smooth and easy. The room is a little small for two people though. And a kettle and iron in the room would be nice!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank qistina2017
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this review

Dear Qistina2017, thank you for your comments. We are happy for the praise of our staff. If you want a kettle you can order it anytime at the reception and we have an iron-room for our Clients. Regards from Vienna Elisabeth

Bonn, Germany
Reviewed 12 February 2017

It's a very central Hotel, very friendly staff. The expensive parking Garage (22€ a day) is not so good. The rooms are clean and modern. Nearby are supermarkets and small, nice restaurants. You have a underground station and a bus stop in 5 minutes to go.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hossboss75
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this review

Dear Hossboss75, thank you for your comments. Fine, that you liked the small Restaurants of the locals in Vienna.

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 11 February 2017

My room was tiny, but perhaps it was just my room and they have bigger ones, so remember to check your room size, if that matters to you. Otherwise the location was great and the crew friendly and helpful. Breakfast served until noon! Corridors were crazy long and also had many steps, so if you have problems with your legs,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nunu-Mervi
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this review

Dear Nunu-Mervi, thank you for your Rating. For your next stay please let us know, that you want to get a room next to the elivator. Regards Elisabeth

North Carolina
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Great stay here. Love the classic Austrian decoration with great exterior building architecture. Easy access and get around Wien. Took a cab from Wien airport is around EURO 36. Friendly reception and great hospitality.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Comets55
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your Rating. We are happy about it. Hope to see you soon Elisabeth

Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

This hotel is clean and the staff is friendly and willing to help with any problem you have: sights, general information and schedule pick up to the airport at a good price: 36 EUR 2 people + 2 luggage. The location of this hotel is 5 minutes away from the Rathaus, away from Mariahilfer Straße 10-15 minutes. Double room is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ValiMV
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this review

Dear ValiMV, thank you for your comments. Some of our rooms get renovated in summer 2017. Best Regards Elisabeth

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 11 February 2017

The hotel is just around the corner from the Rathaus metro station and is a quick walk to the Ringstrasse, Inner Stadt, other tourist sites, and nice neighborhood restaurants. The rooms are small, but clean, comfortable, and stylish. The staff is friendly and the spread for breakfast is generous and delicious.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NadiaSA84
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this review

Dear NadiaSA84, thank you for your comments. The teammembers are happy about the praise. Regards Elisabeth

396 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (330)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (56)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (117)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (110)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
The Levante Parliament
The Levante Parliament
#135 of 367 in Vienna
814 reviews
Josefstadt
Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Wien-City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#63 of 367 in Vienna
381 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#74 of 367 in Vienna
441 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Mercure Wien Zentrum
#119 of 367 in Vienna
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Josefstadt

Neighbourhood Profile
Josefstadt
The eighth district is an older generation’s Vienna at its finest: and this is what makes it popular with locals of all ages. Josefstadt has theatre, small independent shops, romantic passageways, neighbourhood cafés with regular clientele, church squares, town palaces and shady communal gardens. Trendy hangouts have conquered distinctive places such as the Old General Hospital (Altes AKH) and the vaults of overground U6. Theater in der Josefstadt on Josefstädter Strasse is the district’s cultural epicentre. Even if your German isn’t good enough to watch a play, you can marvel at the typical Biedermeier building and take a glimpse into the foyer. Lange Gasse houses an iconic local restaurant at its corner, as well as a legendary sweet shop and a bustling neighbourhood market every Saturday. For small palace atmosphere and a different view on Vienna’s history, make your way to Schönborn garden palace (Palais Schönborn), which houses the Museum of Folk and Folk Art (Volkskundemuseum). Maria-Treu-Platz, with its summer outdoor cafés facing baroque church Maria Treu, and the historic passageway of Lerchenfelder Strasse 13 hide top spots for insiders.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautifully renovated hotel in the centre of Vienna, very close to Ringstrasse. The hotel offers 121 rooms, including 111 non smoking rooms, a breakfast room, garden terrace, bar and meeting rooms.The hotel is located in a small lane in the historic citycentre and most of the rooms face the quiet, leafy courtyard. Not far from Rathausplatz and Stephansplatz Squares, Parliament, museums, Museumsquartier cultural complex, Hofburg Castle and Mariahilferstrasse. Daily breakfast buffet served until 12 noon ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus

Address: Josefsgasse 4-6, Vienna 1080, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Price Range: $117 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Josefshof Wien Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Josefshof Wien
Mercure Hotel Vienna
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Vienna
#71 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#93 Family Hotel in Vienna
#96 Business Hotel in Vienna
#105 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Thorold, Canada

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“comfy ... well appointed ... no tea/coffee facilities ... wifi good /vgood.. TV limited for non-German speakers ... few Italian/French channels ”
 of 5 bubbles D8987EKannam, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“terrible room and Staff indifferent about the concerns”
 of 5 bubbles guiandretta, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“the rooms are all around a small corner, the entrances aren't near the elevator so the rooms are very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Stemadsen, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room was amazing, floor 6 privelege suite”
 of 5 bubbles davejanes2016, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Do not plan to have dinner or lunch at the hotel. This is more of a B&B than a hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Skogsgurra, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5