We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

955 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
See the most recent reviews
Showing 382: English reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Great hotel... a bit of a walk from the subway station, but worth it. We stayed here with my son, daughter, and her boyfriend, and there was a 6bed room that worked out perfect for us. They also offer bicycles, but they ran out that day, so we just had to go a couple blocks down to rent other ones.....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy G
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. I'm glad, that you had such a great time staying with us and liked our service! It would be nice to see you back again soon! Best wishes, Simon

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2016

Stayed for one night on our way to visit Prague and Krakow. Good location, away from the busy central area. We had a private room which was spacious, very clean and comfortable beds. Very impressive for a budget hotel and a short walk to the Freud museum which was very interesting. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Did some research for us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GJE83
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you very much for your lovely words! I'm happy we could help and we would help you any time. I would say, one day is far to short for Vienna. You can visit us any time and we'll tell you some more things you can do:) See you soon, Simon

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 7 February 2016

This hotel offers very good value for money if you stay in the dorm room. The dorms are modern, clean and spacious. The only downside to this hotel is it's location as it is not located in the center and you have to walk for about 10 minutes to the next subway station.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andreas H
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Dear Andreas, thank you for the great review! I'm glad, that oyu had such a great time here. See you back again soon! best wishes, Simon

Herning, Denmark
Reviewed 21 January 2016

The hotel was Grate, i stayed there in January 2016 with a group from my business and we visited the car fair. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was clean and well equipped. Not so good was an very loud group of children and a long time to chek-in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johan S
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Dear Johan S. thanks for the great review! I hope to welcome you back again soon! Greetings from Vienna, Simon

Gurgaon
Reviewed 14 January 2016

The hotel in located 2 train changes away from Vienna Hauptbahnhof followed by a 10 minutes walk. Since it includes a hostel as well as a hotel, its a fun, lively and fairly crowded place. The reception area is huge and has multiple activities to keep oneself busy. The staff at the front desk is extremely courteous and helpful. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prateek_Rungta
MEININGERHotels, reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, your MEININGER Team

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2016

Me and two other friends stayed in the Meininger hotel at the end of November for the Christmas markets for 3 nights. The hotel was very affordable and clean, the lady on reception was very helpful, always willing to help us out and give us directions and it is in a perfect location with a train station just a 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay_Tough
MEININGERHotels, reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, your MEININGER Team

Reviewed 26 December 2015 via mobile

Good hostel. It is quite cheap, but the equipment is really nice and everything is clean. The quality is more hotel-like. The lobby is good for gathering and breakfast is quite ok as well. The location is good, 5 minutes from underground station and few stops from the city centre. There is penny market just next door, but apart from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniela Z
MEININGERHotels, reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, your MEININGER Team

Chania Town, Greece
Reviewed 24 December 2015

Downtown Franz, is a very good option for those who are looking for a simple-clean-cheap room. Vienna is a pretty much expensive destination especially during Christmas period. This hotel provides high quality of services, in very good prices. It was only 5-8 minutes away from metro station and only 20' away (on foot) from Hofburg Palace and other points of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stunning-places
MEININGERHotels, reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, your MEININGER Team

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 23 December 2015 via mobile

This hostel has everything you need: bed, bathroom, and wifi. Everything is clean too. The only complaint I have is that the staff as a whole were unfriendly and intimidating in a way also. They advertise food - so I ordered pasta with one of the girls that worked there - then a delivery guy showed up and I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aja222
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Dear aja222, thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your feedback. I'm glad that you liked our hotel though you had some troubles with our services. I'm really sorry, that you had such an impression of our staff. I hope you've read from the other reviews, that this was not our best performance. I have talked to...

Humpolec, Czech Republic
Reviewed 21 December 2015

The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel reception also offer "Vienna Card". This hotel is in a quiet location. The rooms on the seventh floor are probably the quietest. Television programs are mainly Austrian, a few French and even Russian. No Czech, Slovak or Hungarian. Breakfast is standard and fresh. Hotel is close to the city center. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vana_karel
MEININGERHotels, reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We also have people working hear who speak czech and hungarian, maybe they were off that day, but nevertheless we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, your MEININGER Team

276 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (256)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Ottakring
A&O Wien Stadthalle
A&O Wien Stadthalle
#264 of 367 in Vienna
288 reviews
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#156 of 367 in Vienna
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#166 of 367 in Vienna
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Leopoldstadt

Neighbourhood Profile
Leopoldstadt
Welcome to one of Vienna’s trendiest quarters. The second district has witnessed a turbulent ride, from medieval swamp to vibrant Jewish quarter, from pleasure ground for the noble and humble to current hip residence and workplace of Vienna’s creative crowd. Cross the Danube Canal from the city centre and take in life on Taborstrasse with its mix of old townhouses, churches, theatres, discount shops and ethnic restaurants. Head for Augarten via Karmelitermarkt, Leopoldstadt’s trendy marketplace. Baroque Augarten itself hosts a bizarre mix of manicured hedges and flowerbeds in front of a colossal World War II defense tower, the publicly accessible 300-year-old Augarten porcelain manufactory, the palatial boarding school and funky concert hall of the Vienna Boys Choir, and the modern art museum TBA21. At its opposite corner, The Prater not only houses the Giant Ferris Wheel but blends a bustling amusement park with lush woodland, perfect for a bike tour. Further east is the old derby racing ground of Krieau.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz is in Vienna's second district of Leopoldstadt between Augarten and the Danube canal. The Karmeliter market with its many delicacies and Vienna's Old Town are just around the corner. The Franz hotel with its functional and modern design is ideal for city breaks that call for simplicity and precision. With services such as free WiFi, guest kitchen, bar and gaming area... holidaying with MEININGER is more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz

Address: Rembrandtstrasse 21, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Price Range: $52 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#127 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
Rowland Heights
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try their breakfast, it is great for good price.”
 of 5 bubbles 11katerinah, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“if you are a group of people, you can stay here”
 of 5 bubbles PrasantBhansaali, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the main street have the better views. Some even come with balconies.”
 of 5 bubbles Hewanorra, 25 May 2016 | Read review
“Do not come here”
 of 5 bubbles spanishreviewer, 23 May 2016 | Read review
“Stay on higher floors to avoid noise from lobby”
 of 5 bubbles unspoken_lullaby, 14 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5