We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

955 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
See the most recent reviews
Showing 382: English reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

It was our second stay here. We booked it in November, then improved the date one day prior. Compared to last year, the prices went up significantly. The quality remains the same. My room (701) had problems with shower drain. I reported the problem. Two days later reported again. It was done afterwards. They said it was because of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kamo P
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Dear Kamo P, Thank you for taking the time and sharing your honest feedback with us. Though I am glad, that you give us the chance for improvement, I am very sorry to read about your and your colleagues disappointment with you last stay here. As you can tell from your stay before and from the other reviews, our team...

Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

Very friendly staff, good location, value for money, clean and safe. The parking in the hotel area is free on the weekend. Very nice walk to the city centre. Modern and useful design. Offers a good breskfast for a good price. I highly recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FrksFrkovski
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. I'm glad, that you had such a great time staying with us and it would be nice to see you back again soon! Best wishes, Simon

Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

This is absolutely one if the nicest low budget hotel I've ever been to. The rooms were spacious and beds well made. The staff were friendly and professional. However the only problem I had was the lack of variety of breakfast wish they had more choices.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eva N
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hello Eva, thank you very much for sharing yur great review with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed staying with us. Concerning the breakfast, we have a daily special and vary some other things also once a day. If you have any tipps, we're happy to hear them:) So I hope to welcome you back again at MEININGER! Best wishes,...

Burg Im Leimental
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

Want cheap accommodation, friendly and helpful staff, well organised, clean and with no frills then this is the place to stay. Beware we used it for international school competition accommodation so they may cater for groups.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beatricem695
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hey Beatrice, thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your feedback with us. I'm glad that you had such a great time staying with us during you competition. I hope you were succesful :) greetings from Vienna, Simon

Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewed 9 March 2016

This is the nicest hostel I have ever stayed in for such a low price.It is always clean, the stuff is very nice and helpful plus I cancel my last two nights and they gave me my money back. They have a kitchen which you can use to prepare some small meals and wifi excess in rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ana N
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hey Ana, thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. I'm glad, that you had such a great time staying with us and it would be nice to see you back again soon! Best wishes, Simon

Paris, France
Reviewed 6 March 2016

Safe location less than a 10 minute walk from the metro. The room was very nice with plenty of outlets and in terms of quality it was more a hotel than a hostel. The reception/lobby area is very nice with lots of travellers hanging around. This is the nicest hostel I've stayed at- I really enjoyed it and would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katherine H
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your MEININGER experience. I'm glad that you had an enjoyable stay here in Vienna and liked our ho(s)tel so much. It would be nice to have you back again one day! Best wishes, Simon

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 28 February 2016

It was an amazing experience. This is my third time staying in a dorm room. We first booked 3 beds in a 4-bed-room (mixed), but they gave us beds in a 6-bed room (female only) so it's a not a big deal. The plus points is that the room has its own bathroom and toilet. The room has lockers just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clarissa C
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hey Clarissa, thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your great experience with us. Reading your review wich doesn't let any questions open is so nice to read. I would be happy to welcome you back again one day! Best wishes, Simon

Gdynia, Poland
Reviewed 27 February 2016

This hotel is well located and has pretty nice rooms for a short stay in Vienna. You can buy breakfast there, although I think it's too expensive. It's also possible to park your car in a garage there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karolinaxoxo
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hey Karolina, thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your feedback with us! Hope to welcome you back again soon! greetings from Vienna, Simon

Reviewed 21 February 2016

We stayed again for one night at Meininger Downtown Franz on our way to the ski-resort in the Alps. Its still the best option for short Vienna overnight stays, with correct rooms, not perfectly perfectly clean, but with a good breakfast, underground parking etc

 Report
Helpful?
Thank burdy1973
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. I'm glad, that you had such a great time staying with us and liked our service! It would be nice to see you back again soon! Best wishes, Simon

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2016

Stayed as part of a college group for 2 nights in a group room. The hotel is more of a hostel however, this is only because of the facilities. The quality of the rooms, cleanliness and food served was all above par.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ollie J
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. I'm glad, that you had such a great time staying with us and liked our service! It would be nice to see you back again soon! Best wishes, Simon

276 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (256)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Ottakring
A&O Wien Stadthalle
A&O Wien Stadthalle
#264 of 367 in Vienna
289 reviews
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#157 of 367 in Vienna
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#167 of 367 in Vienna
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Leopoldstadt

Neighbourhood Profile
Leopoldstadt
Welcome to one of Vienna’s trendiest quarters. The second district has witnessed a turbulent ride, from medieval swamp to vibrant Jewish quarter, from pleasure ground for the noble and humble to current hip residence and workplace of Vienna’s creative crowd. Cross the Danube Canal from the city centre and take in life on Taborstrasse with its mix of old townhouses, churches, theatres, discount shops and ethnic restaurants. Head for Augarten via Karmelitermarkt, Leopoldstadt’s trendy marketplace. Baroque Augarten itself hosts a bizarre mix of manicured hedges and flowerbeds in front of a colossal World War II defense tower, the publicly accessible 300-year-old Augarten porcelain manufactory, the palatial boarding school and funky concert hall of the Vienna Boys Choir, and the modern art museum TBA21. At its opposite corner, The Prater not only houses the Giant Ferris Wheel but blends a bustling amusement park with lush woodland, perfect for a bike tour. Further east is the old derby racing ground of Krieau.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz is in Vienna's second district of Leopoldstadt between Augarten and the Danube canal. The Karmeliter market with its many delicacies and Vienna's Old Town are just around the corner. The Franz hotel with its functional and modern design is ideal for city breaks that call for simplicity and precision. With services such as free WiFi, guest kitchen, bar and gaming area... holidaying with MEININGER is more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz

Address: Rembrandtstrasse 21, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Price Range: $52 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#127 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
Rowland Heights
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try their breakfast, it is great for good price.”
 of 5 bubbles 11katerinah, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“if you are a group of people, you can stay here”
 of 5 bubbles PrasantBhansaali, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the main street have the better views. Some even come with balconies.”
 of 5 bubbles Hewanorra, 25 May 2016 | Read review
“Do not come here”
 of 5 bubbles spanishreviewer, 23 May 2016 | Read review
“Stay on higher floors to avoid noise from lobby”
 of 5 bubbles unspoken_lullaby, 14 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5