We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

arthotel Blaue Gans

Getreidegasse 41-43, Salzburg 5020 Austria
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (361)
Room & Suite (203)
Dining (29)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#17 of 127 hotels in Salzburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Blaue Gans, whose tradition dates back 660 years, is the oldest inn in the city of salzburg. It boasts a prime location opposite the festival hall and in the heart of the historic centre, which has been declared a world cultural heritage site, and is only a short walk from mozart's birthplace.We have carefully combined the historic walls of this inn, which is steeped in tradition, with a modern design and contemporary art. The result is a place that exudes a natural feel, a venue for people who like to pursue their own way. we are pleased to accompany you along a part of this way.artHOTEL: more than just a Designhotel, synonymous with the personal freedom for an individual lifestyle.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Babysitting
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, French, German

Location

Getreidegasse 41-43, Salzburg 5020 Austria
Name/address in local language
arthotel Blaue Gans
743Reviews21Q+A94Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 460
  • 203
  • 52
  • 16
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
travellingbuzz wrote a review 4 Feb
Auckland Central, New Zealand882 contributions201 helpful votes
We arrived by taxi and had a very pleasant checkin. We went up to our room and entered. We liked the look of the room; but then we switched on the air conditioning. It sounded like a train! We rang reception and he said he would speak to housekeeping about it. We thought further and realised that speaking to housekeeping as not going to solve the problem. The room was impossible to be in. I went down to reception. I then had to wait while other customers were being checked in. After much discussion it as clear that the hotel was pretty full. We were sent to have a drink at the bar as the manager was in a meeting. We took to checking booking sites for alternatives as there was no way we could stay in the room we had been allocated. After much waiting , I returned to reception and the manager and receptionist were together. We were sthen hown to an alternative room which was smaller than the one that was booked - but - it was cool and quiet. We were offered a discount on our breakfast charged which was a nice compensation. However we had lost over 2 hours oof a very short stay in Salzburg. Then...the wifi kept cutting out. It seems that with the stone walls many repeaters are needed and if you are unlucky (as we were) none are available. We slept well; the rooms are well styled and breakfast was nice. When we checked out; the charges were incorrect. Drinks which were meant to have been free (while we were waiting for a room change) were billed so more adjustments had to be made. Sadly - the hotel which had so much promise failed to deliver on that promise. We won't be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
PNWShutterbug wrote a review Dec 2023
Bainbridge Island, Washington48 contributions12 helpful votes
Beginning with the excellent communication prior to our arrival to the heartfelt good wishes at our departure, we were given excellent care by the staff. The hotel itself, it beautiful. We reserved a large room and had a lovely inward facing room. (At first, I was a bit disappoint to not have a street view, but realized that that would have been rather noisy - very pleased with the quiet privacy!) Don't skip the breakfast - it is beautifully done and well worth the price. Fresh egg dishes prepared to order and espresso perfectly enhance the beautiful and varied buffet-style breakfast. Fresh honeycomb was a surprising treat and fresh pastry and bakery items were delicious. Service was attentive but not at all intrusive. In all, a delightful way to start our busy days. I have nothing but praise for the hotel - the location is perfect, the staff is courteous and professional, the room and public areas are clean and well-appointed. (I loved all of the various nooks and sitting rooms - perfect for some cozy reading or planning during our rainy visit.)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The #10 bus from the airport is so easy - it drops off right in front of the hotel!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kallang wrote a review Dec 2023
Singapore369 contributions192 helpful votes
Pros (1) Booked cityflat which had big living room and small equipped kitchen (2) Great location. 2 entrances. One entrance opens to a nice shopping street (3) Room quiet even though facing traffic. There are double windows. (4) Hotel can help to book restaurants. (5) Wardrobe and drawer space is good (6) Breakfast including the bread was excellent (7) late check out at 2pm only costs 25 euros Cons (1) List of restaurants recommended by hotel could be better (2) No hair conditioner in bathroom (3) Some of the smaller rooms look tiny
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ian_Frampton wrote a review Dec 2023
Bristol, United Kingdom41 contributions65 helpful votes
This hotel is incredible. The character and age is fantastic. The location is perfect. Every member of the reception team absolutely wonderful, friendly and knowledgeable. So unfortunately I was extremely disappointed at the size of our room. The website did say it was small but it was tiny. I actually felt quite anxious in there. ☹️No tea/coffee facility either which would have been so important to us when wanting to relax. I would definitely not visit again. Very very expensive.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniela Schessl, Marketing at arthotel Blaue Gans
Responded 21 Dec 2023
Dear Ian_Frampton, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at our Arthotel. We are happy that you felt so well looked after by our reception team. However, it is a pity that the room did not meet your expectations. As my colleague at the reception already told you, a move to a larger room would even have been possible. However, we understand that changing rooms during your time with us did not appeal to you. There is a small tea bar on the first floor of our hotel. All guests have the opportunity to take high-quality teas free of charge at any time. We are also happy to bring coffee to the room. I'm very sorry you didn't know that. We will once again remind our colleagues at the reception to pass on this information to all guests at check-in. Nevertheless, we hope to welcome you again in the future and wish you a wonderful Christmas and a Happy New Year! Sincerely, Daniela Schessl Management Assistant
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bryan C wrote a review Dec 2023
63 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
We were blown away by the spaciousness of the masionette! There are also many little nooks around the hotel to sit and chill with a book. I loved the bluetooth speaker in the room, as it allowed us to play Christmas music. The hotel's restaurant also serves very delicious food, and has a little outdoor area with heaters where we could sit as a family enjoying hot chocolate and gluhwein as it snowed.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Theodore Q Duck wrote a review Oct 2023
Ottawa, Canada76 contributions25 helpful votes
The room was very comfortable, quite large, and the temperature managed to stay perfect the whole time. Very well located in the heart of the tourist area, everything we needed was in easy walking distance. Staff were always ready with local advice. And they left us a rubber duck!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Celeste wrote a review Oct 2023
Boston, Massachusetts4 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful hotel. The location was incredible, everything was clean and charming, and the staff were very kind. Our room was huge, great for accommodating 2 young children. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
coast-to-coast7 wrote a review Oct 2023
California3 contributions1 helpful vote
A very special and unique hotel that we discovered during a magical visit to Salzburg for 2 nights. As a frequent business and leisure traveler, I've stayed at a range of accommodations and this hotel deserves my first TripAdvisor review. arthotel Blaue Gans was an integral part of our experience in Salzburg and we subsequently found ourselves comparing this hotel to the others during our trip (the others fell far short and for that reason prompted my first review). Fantastic customer service beginning with check-in including accommodating our request to stay an extra night, as well as, personal recommendations on where to eat in the area (in fact we went to one of the restaurants twice). I've found that concierge or front desk recommendations can sometimes be hit or miss and based more on the relationship between establishments rather than first-hand experience. In this instance, however, Julie shared her personal recommendations of where she likes to dine and they were spot on. The hotel has so much character and feels like you're in a modern museum. Likewise, the rooms themselves are quite unique -- we stayed in two different rooms and they were both special in different ways. The hotel couldn't be more centrally located in old town and walking distance to historic sites, dining and shopping options, and public transportation. We took advantage of all of it and would love to return for another stay during the Salzburg Festival one day!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
short4cj wrote a review June 2023
Oakland, Michigan231 contributions65 helpful votes
+1
A perfect location while visiting Salzburg! We stayed in this hotel 2 nights/3 days. When you step outside the hotel you are in the heart of old Salzburg. Our room was clean, enough space for the bed, desk, and our luggage. Our room faced the Main Street which is busy during the day but very quiet at night- no worries of noise at night while sleeping. Breakfast each morning was wonderful. All staff we dealt with was very kind and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniela Schessl, Marketing at arthotel Blaue Gans
Responded 7 July 2023
Hello, thank you so much for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay that much and would love to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Daniela and the team of Blaue Gans
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Eric H wrote a review June 2023
24 contributions11 helpful votes
My wife & I spent 2 nights here in early June. Very nice hotel & room, with an excellent front desk staff. On a walking street. We drove in to Salzburg in our rental car from Vienna. As we experienced several times on this trip where we have stayed in multiple Old Town city centers, finding the hotel, unloading your luggage, then finding the nearest paid parking seems to always be an adventure. No different here in Salzburg, although I must say that once I got to the front desk, they were very helpful with the directions to the paid parking. Excellent nearby Bavarian restaurants. We went on a fantastic guided 4 hr bus tour of nearby Berchtesgaden & The Eagles Nest, with great scenery. We were lucky to have good weather at the top of the Mtn/Eagles Nest. Nice lunch in a Berchtesgaden beer garden restaurant. Our guide Thomas was very good, the tour was well worth the 90 euro fee, in my opinion. Our room AC was very loud & was minimally useful. The staff tried unsuccessfully to fix it. The front desk offered us another room, but we were already unpacked, so we declined.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniela Schessl, Marketing at arthotel Blaue Gans
Responded 7 July 2023
Hello, thank you for taking the time to send us such a lovely feedback. However, I apologise for the air conditioning which did not work properly. Of course we have already had it repaired and would be very happy to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Daniela and the team of Blaue Gans
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Salzburg area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$368 - AU$474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
arthotel blaue gans salzburg, arthotel blaue gans hotel salzburg
LOCATION
AustriaAustrian AlpsSalzburg RegionSalzburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ARTHOTEL BLAUE GANS: 2024 Prices & Reviews (Salzburg, Austria) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about arthotel Blaue Gans
Which popular attractions are close to arthotel Blaue Gans?
Nearby attractions include Untersberg (0.5 km), Salzburg Marionette Theater (0.4 km), and Petersfriedhof (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at arthotel Blaue Gans?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at arthotel Blaue Gans?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at arthotel Blaue Gans?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at arthotel Blaue Gans?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to arthotel Blaue Gans?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Wasserfall, Schatz Konditorei, and Johanneskeller.
Is arthotel Blaue Gans located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Salzburg.
Are any cleaning services offered at arthotel Blaue Gans?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at arthotel Blaue Gans?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to arthotel Blaue Gans?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Salzburger Altstadt (0.7 km), St. Peter's Abbey (Stift St. Peter) (0.5 km), and Franziskanerkirche (0.3 km).