We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

NH Collection Salzburg City

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (52)
360
Panoramas (6)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!GET EXTRA BENEFITS!
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#29 of 125 hotels in Salzburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
NH Collection Salzburg City offers guests an ideal location in the heart of the celebrated city of Salzburg, providing modern comfort and top-quality service in an elegant environment as the recognized hallmarks of this distinguished hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, German
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock up to D$150 extra!

Location

Franz-Josef-Straße 26 Altstadt, Salzburg 5020 Austria
Name/address in local language
NH Collection Salzburg City
159Reviews2Q+A13Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 97
  • 35
  • 11
  • 11
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Kristine P wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
This was our 1st trip to Salzburg. The NH was clean, safe, ideally located & extremely accommodating. The front desk workers were very friendly & helpful.Astrid, from guest relations, helped us set up day trips and provided an early morning, pre-airport snack for my husband who is diabetic . Astrid even mailed a postcard to my Grandmother for me as the post office closed before we left! The room was clean & comfortable. We could not have asked for a better hotel in Salzburg!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Be ready to walk a lot of stairs as the best views are elevated! Buy the Salzburg card! It’s...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Svenja Ahlert, Guest Services / Front Office at NH Collection Salzburg City
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Kristine P, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at NH Collection Salzburg City! To receive such a high rating is amazing. The entire team strives to provide the best experience possible and I am pleased to see that this reflects in your rating. Thank you for your kind words about our staff. The compliment of your rating will be shared with the team. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future! Kind regards from Salzburg,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jo wrote a review Mar 2024
Birmingham, United Kingdom203 contributions111 helpful votes
The location was great. Room was a little dark. Bed was very hard and uncomfortable. We booked a king but had 2 singles which kept moving apart, which was annoying. I'd put this as a 3 star, not a 4. Probably wouldn't stay again. Advertised that they do lazy Sunday checkout, but said no when asking.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Svenja Ahlert, Guest Services / Front Office at NH Collection Salzburg City
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear groovyjo, Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at NH Collection Salzburg City. I regret to see that the bed type in your room did not match your expectations. If no specific bed type is booked in advance we cannot guarantee that the request can be fulfilled. It depends on the availability at the time of the arrival but we are always trying to do our utmost to satisfy our guests request. We would like to apologize that you could not take advantage of the lazy Sunday that we offer according to availability. I do want to offer you my apologies for the inconvenience caused. I am pleased to read that you were able to enjoy the location of our hotel and hope that you had a wonderful time in Salzburg. Kind regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sean W wrote a review Mar 2024
South Devon, United Kingdom7 contributions4 helpful votes
Modern hotel within walking distance of anything you want to see in central Salzburg. Helpful staff, parking very limited but there is a very large municipal underground car park less than 5 minutes walk away should you need it. Late check out of 12 pm. Breakfast a little pricey but there are plenty of other places you could eat should you not choose that option.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Svenja Ahlert, Guest Services / Front Office at NH Collection Salzburg City
Responded 3 Mar 2024
Dear Sean W, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at NH Collection Salzburg City! To receive such a high rating is amazing. The entire team strives to provide the best experience possible and I am pleased to see that this reflects in your rating. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the location of our hotel. Thank you also for your kind words about our helpful staff and I will certainly share your compliment with the entire team. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future! Kind regards from Salzburg,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ZestyChic wrote a review Mar 2024
Austin, Texas55 contributions10 helpful votes
Such a lovely boutique hotel. Excellent amenities, breakfast, and service. The staff was great - very professional, kind, helpful and friendly. The area is walkable to everything and we enjoyed the area immensely. the hotel was very comfortable, had a lovely sauna.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Svenja Ahlert, Guest Services / Front Office at NH Collection Salzburg City
Responded 2 Mar 2024
Dear ZestyChic, Thank you for your incredible review of your recent stay at NH Collection Salzburg City, I am honored by your positive comments! Our aim is to achieve the extraordinary and I am pleased to read that we have been able to provide you with a memorable stay. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and the breakfast, that we offer. Furthermore, I want to thank you for your kind words about our staff and we will certainly share your compliment with the team. I speak on behalf of the entire team when I say; it would be a pleasure to welcome you back again. Kind regards from Salzburg,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
RHT wrote a review Mar 2024
United Kingdom48 contributions11 helpful votes
Hotel is a little bit out of the centre. At first glance, it seems ok. It’s not. There were several issues with our room concerning its cleanliness - rogue hairs in the shower and wrapped around the shower hose, eyelashes or eyebrow hair on the stand containing the face cloths, and a stain if something just in front of the basin. The first receptionist to whom we spoke asked us if we were sure it wasn’t us! As the offending hair could not possibly have come from us, we answered no, although this did eeem like an odd question to ask of a guest advising of cleanliness. This was all sorted by Astrid the following day. She went out of her way to make amends. However, that’s where the positive comments end. There was one female staff member on reception on the night of 29/2. She seemed to spend quite a bit of time on her phone and wasn’t especially friendly but, in addition, we’d make the following assertion. The hotel claims to have a sauna which is through the hotels garage if you use the lift. They don’t tell you that you cannot access it with your room key without advising reception that you want to use it. We’d used the sauna earlier in the week and had gone through this procedure. We thought that the room key issue had been sorted then but apparently not. We used it again on the night of 29/2 and had yet again had to go to reception to get our key authorised by this staff member so she was clearly aware that we intended to use the sauna. When we got down to the sauna, it was switched completely off so we had to co tact reception yet again. This lady came down and asked us if we’d let anyone know we wanted to use it because they need 20 minutes notice to turn it on. We resisted the temptation to ask if the fact that we’d already asked her to authorise our room key for sauna sending alert her to the fact that we might possibly have wanted to use it. The gentleman who worked the reception in the morning of 1/3 told us that the only ATM available was across the river. It’s not. It’s just past the Spar shop so much closer. We agree with the other comments about the beds. They are really uncomfortable. The room is hot and the air con is not really effective. Windows in the rooms are tiny and the decor is quite mismatched - not really an issue but worth mentioning. Plates aren’t cleared away very quickly in the restaurant at breakfast. Breakfast is ok but not special. All in all, I wouldn’t recommend this place unless it seriously got its act together and employed staff who actually want to provide a service.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you do stay here, try the Alter Fuchs just out of the hotel to the right and right at the top...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Astrid Reiter, General Manager at NH Collection Salzburg City
Responded 4 Mar 2024
Dear RHT, thank you for taking the time and effort to inform us about your experience with us. Our aim is to create an excellent experience for each and every one of our guests. To read that we were unable to meet your expectations is regretful. We have discussed your points with the corresponding departments and sensitize and train our employees to prevent such unfortunate circumstances in the future. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations and for the inconvenience you have experienced. We truly do hope that we may welcome you back in the future so that we can provide you with the services and facilities you may expect from us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
m4ttys wrote a review Feb 2024
London, United Kingdom63 contributions33 helpful votes
I booked a trip to Salzburg with my Mum to visit the Christmas Markets in November 2023. The NH Collection Salzburg City is a fantastic hotel in a great location. It was easy to walk to all the main sights and is close to some fantastic restaurants. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful - especially the reception team. Our room was clean, modern and spacious. I had a little problem with the security safe in the room, but this was resolved within minutes thanks to the lovely team down at reception. I would definitely book another stay here and would recommend it to those who are looking for a good base to explore Salzburg.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Astrid Reiter, General Manager at NH Collection Salzburg City
Responded 26 Feb 2024
Dear m4ttys, thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your stay with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us during the Advent season, close to the historical old town and the Advent markets and the fantastic restaurants. Thank you for the appreciative words about our staff and our hotel. We would like to thank you for your kindness and for staying with us. We truly hope to welcome you again as our guest on your next visit to Salzburg.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nathaniel Froud wrote a review Feb 2024
Bowral, Australia7 contributions2 helpful votes
This hotel was really nice, enjoyed the amenities as well as the friendliness from the staff, room service was delicious when we ordered it. Staff were very helpful on check in also which meant it was an easy and pleasant process to undergo, and check out was the same! Really impressed with this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Svenja Ahlert, Guest Services / Front Office at NH Collection Salzburg City
Responded 23 Feb 2024
Dear NathanielFroud, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at NH Collection Salzburg City! To receive such a high rating is amazing. The entire team strives to provide the best experience possible and I am pleased to see that this reflects in your rating. The compliment of your rating will be shared with the team. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future! Kind regards from Salzburg,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
globusat wrote a review Feb 2024
Vienna, Austria348 contributions377 helpful votes
As the quality of an hotel is mainly measured by the quality of sleep you can get I have to rate this property very low. The beds are terrible - super hard mattresses, pillows made of plastic, blankets made of plastic - all cheap and easy to handle but a nightmare for sleeping. Further the A/C was very noisy in blowing lukewarm air into the room but at least it predominated the street noise. Only reason for the second point is the excellent breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Astrid Reiter, General Manager at NH Collection Salzburg City
Responded 26 Feb 2024
Dear globusat, thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your stay with us. Since quality and service are very important to us, it is very regrettable that you did not find the restful sleep that we would like to offer our guests. We are sorry that our mattresses did not meet your preferences and also our pillows and blankets, which are suitable for allergy sufferers and of course not made of plastic. We would like to thank you very much for your praise of our excellent breakfast. We hope you were still able to enjoy the wonderful city and wish you all the best.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sasha122156 wrote a review Feb 2024
Rockville, Maryland1036 contributions144 helpful votes
Very nice, conveniently located hotel. Very clean and quiet. Staff is helpful. Kiera at the reception desk was particularly nice to us. Standard rooms could be larger. Cleaning crew was swift. Cannot say anything about breakfast, booked room only.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Upgrade to family room if you need more space
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Astrid Reiter, General Manager at NH Collection Salzburg City
Responded 5 Feb 2024
Dear Sasha122156, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted that our very nice, conveniently located hotel and our helpful staff made your stay in Salzburg so wonderful. It is pleasing that our efforts to exceed expectations were successful and the we were able to make every moment in our hotel a memorable one. We would be honored to welcome you again during your next visit to Salzburg. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Marie32 wrote a review Feb 2024
Wichita, Kansas20 contributions12 helpful votes
We have stayed at several different properties in Salzburg, and this one was superior in terms of service. I booked a group of young adult athletes for a local event, and the hotel could not have been more accommodating. The property itself is lovely! It has been updated, but retains charm. It has a wonderful large bar in the center, as well as beverages and small snacks in the reception area. The breakfast was one of the best we have experienced in Europe. The hotel also arranged dinners for the athletes; they worked with us on menu and pricing, and the food was very well received! The property is well located on the edge of the city center, within easy walking distance to both "new town" and "Old Town", the fortress, Mirabell Gardens, and many other sites. It is also one of the few properties within walking walking distance of those areas that is able to accommodate bus drop-off. We will definitely stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Astrid Reiter, General Manager at NH Collection Salzburg City
Responded 5 Feb 2024
Dear Marie32, what a wonderful rating! Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your wonderful rating such as this is truly a compliment for our hotel and for our staff. Our aim is to achieve the extraordinary and we are pleased that we have been able to provide you with a memorable stay. We want to thank you for your kind words about the very good breakfast and our service. Your kind words will certainly be shared with the team. It is a great honor for us to welcome you again on your next visit to Salzburg. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Salzburg area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$231 - AU$343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
nh salzburg city hotel salzburg, nh hotel salzburg, nh hotels salzburg
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
NH Salzburg City
LOCATION
AustriaAustrian AlpsSalzburg RegionSalzburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
140
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NH COLLECTION SALZBURG CITY (AU$232): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Austria) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about NH Collection Salzburg City
Which popular attractions are close to NH Collection Salzburg City?
Nearby attractions include Kapuzinerberg (0.4 km), Friedhof Sankt Sebastian (0.2 km), and Linzergasse (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at NH Collection Salzburg City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at NH Collection Salzburg City?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at NH Collection Salzburg City?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to NH Collection Salzburg City?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lazarte Latin American Food, Bistro de Marquez, and Indian Restaurant Taj Mahal.
Are there opportunities to exercise at NH Collection Salzburg City?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is NH Collection Salzburg City located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Salzburg.
Are any cleaning services offered at NH Collection Salzburg City?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at NH Collection Salzburg City?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does NH Collection Salzburg City offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at NH Collection Salzburg City?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.