We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mercure Salzburg City

Bayerhamerstrasse 14/A, Salzburg 5020 Austria
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (382)
Room & Suite (178)
Dining (28)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#35 of 127 hotels in Salzburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Thanks to its convenient central position in the city of Mozart, Hotel Mercure Salzburg City is the perfect choice for your stay, be it business or pleasure. You can easily reach the hotel using either public transportation or your car, for which a spatial car park is at your disposal. Beside paying a visit to the most famous attractions, namely Fortress Hohensalzburg and the Salzburg Festival, there is also a great array of themed museums, a lovely zoo and the nearby charming Hellbrunn Palace, where you can spend quality time enjoying and exploring the local gems. After a day full of sightseeing, you are invited to try culinary delights of the regional cuisine at our restaurant Le sel, which offers plenty of seats both indoors and outdoors. Our team is looking forward to welcoming you soon.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Public wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, German
1507Reviews25Q+A78Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 390
  • 674
  • 306
  • 86
  • 51
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
MabdRosa wrote a review Dec 2023
67 contributions54 helpful votes
Not a good hotel, two single beds in my room and they were tiny..! I think that they were beds for children. The bathroom was dated and badly laid out The furniture in the room was poor quality, the walls were all marked and in need of painting. The quality of the toilet paper was terrible. Tea coffee making facilities. The food at dinner and breakfast was nice
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
mr_alok wrote a review Dec 2023
Singapore, Singapore140 contributions19 helpful votes
Our two-night stay at Mercure Salzburg was awesome. The cozy room, though small, provided a comfortable setting for our couple’s retreat. The bathroom was equipped with a relaxing bathtub and all the expected amenities, enhancing our overall stay. The true standout was the breakfast spread. It was an extensive and diverse selection of delectable options, making each morning a delightful culinary experience. From fresh fruits to a variety of breads, cereals, dry fruits fresh milk, yogurt, tea and various selections of coffee. We also had a great time at the bar which provides a nice selection of drinks. The hotel is about 10 mins walk from the main station and the nearest bus stop about 300 meters. Hotel provides free umbrella, just in case you need one during the rains. Front desk staff is also very helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Pierre S wrote a review Dec 2023
Cambridge, United Kingdom513 contributions172 helpful votes
Qualification, hitherto happy and loyal Mercure/Accor Group member since 92, very fortunate global traveller, chose Salzburg for Christmas market experience (7th to 10th December) and history because there is an Accor Hotel here. Booked mid year, arrived with room given away, so down graded, but given free breakfast (these things happen), agreeable. Had to remind reception that Accor members entitled to free welcome drink, unusual. Asked for 2 extra pillows, upon 4th visit to reception, eventually secured 1, too tired to argue for another, disappointing. Had 2 encounters with gentleman on night duty Reception (including Pillow gate), call me old fashioned, but to me Reception responsibility is huge, you are the face and impression of the Hotel, if you want a beard, grow one or shave, if you are wearing a tie, it's done up, if you are wearing a shirt with a uniform, it's tucked in, when you are approached by guests you look up, smile, ask how you can help, everything this chap is clearly incapable of achieving, which we found so bad, we laughed. These silly negative experiences were a real shame because the room was clean, warm, comfortable and had everything we needed, our encounters with Housekeeping, Breakfast and Bar Team and the daytime Reception Team and Trainees could not have been more delightful. Salzburg was our favourite Christmas experience, stunning city, fascinating history (do a walking tour) and this Hotel is nicely located a 10 minute walk to the river, quiet, safe and really very nice, but someone needs some training or re-training at being on night Reception!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Choose where you want o eat of an evening and book well in advance, try Johanneskeller, great...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
karen r wrote a review Dec 2023
Hastings, United Kingdom426 contributions170 helpful votes
Staff are great- really helpful. Location was a quiet street, so no noise. However 20 minute to beginning of old town- longer than what others saying as you have to take into account walking on sheets of ice. This meant as night we weren’t inclined to go back out to town for dinner (minus 12) and therefore you are very limited for food near the hotel. Breakfast lovely although worth noting they cater for their german guests, so boiled eggs soft, pork mixed in with bake beans etc Would recommend although like other reviews didn’t feel this was four star
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Tony Halim wrote a review Dec 2023
Singapore, Singapore262 contributions43 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here for 2 nights in 29nov to 1dec, it is about 10mins slow walk from the Salzburg HBF train station. Not difficult to find. Free upgrade to a larger room with a balcony. The young man whom welcomed us is kind and polite. Issued with welcome drink and he brought us our welcome platter (chocolates and stuff). Breakfast is good selection, love the fresh butter concept. The only 2 issues that I thought they could have done better: 1. For welcome drink selection, we are supposed to pick from the fridge next to the check in counter. I chose on 29 Nov evening and the staff told me that for beer i can choose 2, while wine or brut only 1 bottle (0.2l).i am entitled to welcome drink to 2 pax. I have no issue with redeeming two glasses of wine at Mercure Berlin Wittenbergplatz, but here is a no no. I wrote to the hotel that evening seeking clarification and confirmation if that is the practice, yet to here from them even now (3 Dec). 2. The 2 bottles of drinking water is provided only for Per Stay, won't be refilled during room service. Should have made known on website, no major issue as we could drink from the tap. It will take about 15mins to walk to the Old Town area and another 10mins to Residenzplatz. Overall, the room is clean but the above two points are just some concerns. Hope this helps you if you are considering.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Drink water is provided on a per stay basis. You can walk from the Salzburg HBF to this hotel...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ghost_busters2000 wrote a review Nov 2023
New Delhi, India83 contributions9 helpful votes
The hotel is located in a very quiet location. The rooms are comfortable with a friendly staff taking care of the guest. The front desk team guided us and gave the map for walking to the destination. At dinner time, the restaurant staff helpfully guided us to the food we are looking for and same thing at the time of breakfast, which is a good spread. Overall good experience
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sam wrote a review Nov 2023
Singapore, Singapore22 contributions6 helpful votes
Service was definitely nowhere near the level of a 4-star hotel. On the first day, housekeeping did not fill up the bottle of shower gel that was near empty. Next morning, I specifically called the reception to ask them to get housekeeping to refill the shower gel, and when we got back that night it was still empty. When I called reception again, the manager on duty (guy wearing a suit jacket) told me I had to go down to the front desk to pick the shower gel up. What??? This is the first hotel I’ve stayed in where you’re asked to pick essentials up from the front desk instead of having them brought to the room. When I went down, the same manager was on his mobile phone. Honestly shocking attitude. To be clear, this low rating does not apply to the general front desk staff who were all perfectly pleasant and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
billielondon2017 wrote a review Sept 2023
London, United Kingdom22 contributions6 helpful votes
The room was clean and pleasant but the room service wasn't great. Unfortunately I came down with flu during my stay and had to take a couple of days off work and get better in my room. The room service menu was very expensive and the soup I ordered for 15 euros (plus an extra room service charge) tasted like tinned soup with very mushy ingredients, and the bread roll was quite stale. The location is very convenient though, so if you go out to eat elsewhere then you'll have a pleasant stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marcus Siess, General Manager at Mercure Salzburg City
Responded 27 Oct 2023
Dear Billielondon2017, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that the room service did not meet your expectations and that you were unwell during your stay. We hope that you have fully recovered by now. We appreciate your feedback regarding the soup and bread roll. We will take this into consideration as we continue to improve our room service menu. We are glad to hear that you found our location convenient and that you had a pleasant stay overall. We hope that you’ll consider staying with us again in the future, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely Mustafic Enam | Night Audit @ Mercure Salzburg City
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jpvin wrote a review Aug 2023
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom564 contributions221 helpful votes
I like this Mercury hotel: a simple but well maintained and solid offering from Accor. It’s a fairly no frills affair on the edge of the central district of Salzburg- quiet and orderly. No fitness centre, which was a bit disappointing. Breakfast selection was ok - nothing special. But it had a lovely dining room, opening out onto a pleasant terrace, which is lovely in summer. And the best part was a lovely team of waiting staff - it was a pleasure to be amongst this friendly and polite group for the three mornings of my stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marcus Siess, General Manager at Mercure Salzburg City
Responded 31 Aug 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time writing this review. We are really happy that you were satisfied with your stay and we will forward you kind words to the restaurant department. We are looking forward to see you again! Best regards, Laszlo Mark Toth Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michelle T wrote a review Aug 2023
5 contributions2 helpful votes
We booked two standard rooms. The rooms are new, spacious, clean and modern. Around 15 minutes walk from train station. Reception was very friendly and gave us two drinks for free. We had a pleasant stay in the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marcus Siess, General Manager at Mercure Salzburg City
Responded 31 Aug 2023
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review! We are glad that you were satisfied with the room and our staff and hope we could make your stay special. We are looking forward to see you again! Best regards, Laszlo Mark Toth Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Salzburg area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$151 - AU$195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mercure salzburg city hotel salzburg, accor salzburg city
LOCATION
AustriaAustrian AlpsSalzburg RegionSalzburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
121
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MERCURE SALZBURG CITY (AU$151): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Austria) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Salzburg City
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Salzburg City?
Nearby attractions include Exit The Room - Salzburg (0.2 km), Stolpersteine (0.3 km), and GEA - Waldviertler Werkstätten (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Salzburg City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Mercure Salzburg City?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Salzburg City?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Salzburg City?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Salzburg City?
Conveniently located restaurants include Indian Restaurant Taj Mahal, Zaffran Indian Cuisine, and S'Kloane Brauhaus.
Are pets allowed at Mercure Salzburg City?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Mercure Salzburg City offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mercure Salzburg City?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Salzburg City?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Salzburger Altstadt (1.2 km), St. Peter's Abbey (Stift St. Peter) (1.5 km), and Franziskanerkirche (1.3 km).